We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time at Marival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Marival Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver Island BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“3rd time at Marival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here with extended family ( 15 ) from December 26 to January 2. As this was our 3rd visit, we were very aware of the time share people and asked at check-in to receive our bracelets at the front desk and not from the time share people as is the usual way. Having experienced the time share pitch at Marival I would highly recommend avoiding it at all costs. It is extremely high pressure and uncomfortable.The front desk people were happy to oblige us and we had a quick and painless check in.

We have stayed in suites on all our visits and find them spacious and well appointed. They are on the quiet side of the resort close to the adult pool, and just a short walk to the beach. Some of our party have stayed in the regular rooms on previous visits and had mentioned that they can be quite noisy. Our rooms were cleaned and freshened everyday and water was also delivered to the room daily. On our last night one of our party wasn't feeling well and we had to have maid service come up to the room at midnight to change some bedding. This was done very efficiently and quickly and was a reminder of the quick and efficient service of the room cleaning staff.
Overall the resort is well laid out with many options for relaxing, playing and eating. Unlike most resorts in Nuevo there are defined and separate kids, activity and adult pool areas.There are lots of pool chairs and although many people get up early to reserve chairs, we were able to find chairs either on the beach or by the pools. The resort is very clean with the staff doing maintenance all the time to keep things looking in top shape. The activity pool has something going on from the late morning to the late afternoon, plus there is a water park, kids club and a teens club as well. The beach hut has boogie boards and kayaks for use at no charge, and there is a sailing boat available to rent. The adult pool is very quiet and close to the snack bar and the staff do their best to keep the kids away.
There are lots of options for food. In the morning the main buffet is open from 7 to 11 am, and the Mediterranean restaurant is open till noon. The buffet has a great selection as well as a made to order omelet bar. It is quite noisy so we preferred the Mediterranean restaurant for breakfast. Here you have a buffet of continental type breakfast selections, plus you can order off the menu as well. We did find service slow here most mornings though, so if you are in a hurry, best to go to the main buffet.
Lunch is served in the same 2 places, the main buffet and the Mediterranean restaurant, plus it is also available in the 2 snack bars. The snack bar by the adult pool has wood fired pizza ovens and is open from noon till 1 or 2 am each day. There is also a small buffet selection and burgers and hot dogs available here. The other snack bar is located by the kids water park and offers the same selections, but no wood burning pizza ovens. Dinner is either the buffet, or one of 3 Ala-cart restaurants. The ala-carte options are Italian, Mediterranean or Mexican. This trip were ate at the Italian and Mexican and enjoyed them both. You need reservations for the ala-carte's and those are done in the main lobby every morning. You can resterve up to one week in advance.
We traveled with Nollitours and learned while there that because of that we had extra privileges. With Nollitours we were able to receive unlimited ala-carte reservations, plus free WiFi in the lobby.
Over all the trip was enjoyable and without incident. Marival offers great value in all categories from food, drink, accommodations ad entertainment. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    697
    649
    280
    154
    118
See reviews for
626
394
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I went with my son for a week and for the most part enjoyed our stay. When we first arrived at the hotel we checked in and then sat down with a time share rep. We were warned about them ahead of time so we said we were not interested in the tour . The rep would not take no for an answer and kept saying why not. My son kept saying because we don't want too. The rep finally got very mad , stood up and said " your in a different country,think about it" It felt like a threat. Needless to say thins left a very sour taste in my mouth and I was quite upset for the rest of the day. I was a little parinoid for the reat of the trip thinking this guy might do something. Other than that we had a lot of fun.
The room had a nice view and was clean. it did have a musty smell to it. I guess just from the high humidity.
There were lots of fun activities and a good gym.
The food was good for the most part but I found it was cooked with a lot of salt.
The drinks were ok but were served in plastic cups. I understand its safer than glass but when cleaning they were just dunked in soapy water a few times and then rinsed. There was no actual scrubbing them that I saw.
The beach was amazing. it was flat with no rocks at all.
The staff were very friendly as well.
We met many very nice people here.
I choose to remember all the good things about our stay and would consider going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Excellent beach, pool. agree with previous reviewers re the beach staff. The small hobbie cat was available for no charge but it was usually too rough to take out. The large cat cost $8 per person. Internet charges were very high. Buffet food was disappointing and the house wine was undrinkable. The other restaurants were superb although we had to pay $20 to $30 for a bottle of decent wine

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Prairie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed the the Marival mid December and have to say it was one of the best holidays we have had. We have travelled to many all inclusives and did not have high expections going into the Marival based on age and reviews - but were extremely impressed and pleasantly surprised. The hotel is lovely and well kept from entrance to beach front.

Our room was a two bedroom suite (not much more expensive than a regular room) It had a bedroom with king bed on the main level with its own bath , an upper loft level with a master suite that includes a king bed, full bath and private balcony, then an open kitchen/dining living area with a 3rd bath off the living area and an main balcony.... each room had a tv --- so three baths and three tv's (no fights ha) Felt like home and made for an great family vacation. The hotel is spread out over a large peice of property so most rooms are close to the beach and most have a partial ocean view at minimum.

We booked with Nolitours and were allowed to book a la carte for 7 nights if we wanted to . The reservation system is easy and accomodating. Book reservations for all the restaurants easily on the first day of our trip with and each one was fantastic. The Italian was a favorite but the Mexican was amazing as well. Great food and service, felt like we were 5 star dining ! From the reservation lady to the maitre d" everyone was very accomodating, we were even able to change times and add people to our reservation last minute. Just a tip being patient and pleasant here goes along way. Make sure to have the Mexican Coffee after dinner --- its quite a show when they make it at your table and light it on fire!

The beach is fantastic - likely one of the best locations along this strip of beach for sure ( we have stayed at many different resorts on the same beach in Nuevo Vallarta) Soft clean sand, great (flat) to run and walk on. Fun waves to play in. The resort offers kayaks, boogie board (all in great shape) and easy to arrange to take out. They even have surf boards (small rental fee) which was so handy to give actual surfing a bit of a try and not have to leave the resort to try it. Plenty of beach chairs and huts for shade - as long as we were up before 10 we had no trouble finding good ones. Never any trouble around the pools for space - especially the adult pool.

Entertainment staff did a great job of keeping everyone entertained. From encouraging volleyball participation to water games... or just reminding you to come to the show. They worked hard at getting to know the guests (much more than other resorts) especially Carlos, great job!! If you travel with kids that like to be involved.... this resort is great. Day activities that actually happened, kids always running around in crowns that they had just made or some activity going on. I have travelled with kids for 20 years lol - so I have seen resorts through the eyes of a parent at different stages..... I wish I would have discovered this one when my kids were younger. Many hotels talk of kids programs.... this one delivers! Even fantastic kids buffet at the main buffet - totally caters to them. My 20 something kids had lots of fun too haha --- pizza bar open till 3 am great pizza and beer! Disco where most of the young adults wander in too - allows them to meet others in their age group. They had a decent gym that they used often, ping pong, shuffleboard, golf ...... and on and on! Nolitours had a free tour from the hotel into Puerto Vallarta. 7 pm to 10 pm on Wed,,,,, check it out. We were dropped off by the Malacon and they had an event similar to Taste of Edmonton ( many local restaurants selling tickets to sample their food) and a fiesta --- Lots of fun and a Free opportunity to go into the city and check things out. Nolitour reps were very helpful - go see them and use them for advice and day trips.

Yes, the time share pressure sucks --- but I have to say that is my only complaint. To the hotel: less pressure at the start of the holiday and people would more likely purchase your units. Your hotel is one of the ones we would acutally consider, it sells itself but the pressure to attend a time share presentation that is suppose to be 90 min ,,, turns into 3 hours and makes people feel bad if they are not ready on the spot to purchase leaves a bad taste in your guests mouth!! Thats too bad - because your resort is worthy of people considering a purchase if that is truely watch a guest is considering.

Overall - this resort has a bit of it all and would suit lots of different travel types. We have probably travelled to over 30 different resorts, many of them very good but I think our stay at the Marival will put it up close to the top of our list - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruapan, Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Unprofessional staff, rude and an absolute robbery. My girlfriend made a reservation with her credit card. I arrived at 1:00 in the morning from a long trip. The security guard could not direct me
to the Club a section of the compound. after finally finding my way to my room I was summoned at 1:30 am to go to front desk to complete the reservation . Got there and was told i had to pay in cash $200 or leave the hotel This with an approved credit card as security. Further more was told I had to wear a bracelet. I asked them if this could have wait until the morning. The guard came over and told me I couldn't and to wear the bracelet or to leave the premises. Complete morons.
Total for a lousy mediocre room $400. In the morning discovered hundreds of package people who paid a fraction of my bill roaming noisily the premises. Absolutely to avoid at any cost!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for bringing to our attention your experience at Marival Resort & Suites. However, as you already know all our guests need to pay their stay before being assigned a room. In your case we had the information that you would pay, upon arrival, the difference between double and single occupancy. As all inclusive Resort from the arrival to departure, guests need to wear a bracelet all the time which identifies them as guests. Our rates can be different if you book in advance, otherwise at the hotel will be apply rack rates. As you know, New Years’ week is the highest season for the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed at the Marival twice and are heading back for a third. my 6 year old LOVES the place and it has a good balance for families! food is phenomenal, staff are friendly, personable and aim to please. we are all looking forward to our visit this winter

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I just returned from a trip to Marival Resorts and Suites with my family. I must say that there were many positives with this resort:
1. The beach is absolutely fantastic- miles long with beautiful sand
2. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job keeping the rooms clean each day
Some areas of concern:
1. Do not believe the hype about the teen center, because it was never open of all of the days I was there, my 15 year old was a bit disappointed with this.
2. The timeshare push was too demanding- they even had someone posted down on the road before the gate telling you that you could not go to presentations at other hotels. I told her that I was only going on a bike ride with my husband- this was extremely pushy!
I had planned to go on the presentation, and was even offered 5 zip lines to do it, but decided against it when an existing owner warned us against going on the presentation because it would actually take 4 hours instead of 1.5 as promised. Her brother had just taken the tour the day prior and had been called stupid when he did not buy. I was not interested in being treated this way, so called it off- not worth it for me.
3. We had to get up at 6:45 to "save" seats on the beach to accommodate 5 people in our
party. It really seemed crazy.
4. very unfriendly beach rental staff. Getting a boogie board was very difficult. There was always red flags only on our area of the beach because the security staff were too lazy to change the flags when lifeguards cleared the beach.
5. We were charged more for our all inclusive fee than others- especially locals. We were informed about this by our taxi driver as we were driving up- he frequents the hotel often.
6. Finally, the worst: My son and I both got food poisoning the second night of our stay, so we were very sick for two days.

My other son, husband and mom all had good food experiences, so I was happy for them, but over all it was a pretty bad trip for the two of us.

Unfortunately due to the reasons I listed, we may not return.

Room Tip: Away from adult pool bar- which is open until 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you so much for taking the time in expressing your thoughts and concerns about your stay. Please find below our comments.
*Teen Activities: we have activities for teens at our games room open from 10:00 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. We also offer water polo and aquatic basket ball at the activities pool. Rappel, soccer, bike tour and beach volleyball are other activities where teens can participate and enjoy during their stay.
*Club vacation staff: for security reasons there is a person on the main gate warning our guests not to attend other timeshare presentations to avoid them any inconvenience.
*Club Vacation presentation: we are shocked for this inappropriate behavior and what had happened was unacceptable as far as Marival Vacation Club standards go, if by any chance you know the name of the person please let us know at the email gsmanager@marival.com.mx, for your information these remarks were already forwarded to our Vacation Club Manager, who is reviewing and working on how our staff is approaching and treating our guests.
*Beach seats: we have more than 1,000 long chairs around the pool and beach; however some areas are in more demand than others.
*Red flag: we are sorry for the inconvenience you may have felt but we set up the flags by the advice given by harbor master, these measures are taken for the security of all our guests and to avoid any accident.
*Hotel rates: for your information we have different prices depending on the season and sometimes we have discounts on low season.
*Food poisoning: we are very surprised for this comment, as you know it is a very delicate situation and this implications must prove that a certain amount of guests suffered as well at the same time, but we do not have any other report from our guests.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future and have the chance to show you how much we care our guests. Rest assured that we will follow up your observations because feedback from our guests is very important and help us to improve our services and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book Something Different and enjoy Something Better! Enjoy our beachfront Sun ‘n Fun Resort with nonstop activities and a wide range of dining choices- 6 restaurants, 4 specialty, 7 bars including 2 swim-ups & Martini bar. Book a Resort room, or even one to three bedroom Suites featuring living rooms and independent dining areas, balconies, terraces and oceanfront locations to spread out and enjoy a villa style vacation. Something for every taste, every age!Special Room Sizes and Locations Provide a Variety of AccommodationsDeluxe Resort Rooms. One Bedroom Suites, including Oceanfront up to 760 sq ft. Two and Three Bedroom Villa Suites, Oceanfront up to 1260 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Resort And Suites
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.