We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantástico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Resort & Suites

Save Saved
You added Marival Resort & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marival Resort & Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantástico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a great place for a family holiday. We travelled in a group of 9 including 2 kids under 5. There is something for everyone to do. Amalfi is a great restaurant. Pools and outdoor activities are superb. We all had a memorable time. Entertainment was absolutely excellent. The Animation team were one of the highlights of our holiday. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review on this web site. Glad to have you an your family. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    697
    649
    280
    154
    118
See reviews for
626
394
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Paul , Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We returned this last week atfer staying at this not so lovely, clean place we remembered from 2006. THEN, our rooms were spotless, updated, 4 bottles of liquor stocked in room, ice cold drinks including Pacifico can beer in the ice cold refrigerator,nothing now but pop and water. This time we brought two friends with us and after boasting about the place, we were greatly dissappointed. First room had such a sharp black moldy stench, even the lampshade was covered in mold, we had to move.The next room was icey cold hich was a plus, but looked over the hickory smoked ovens.Got sickening to smell! Pool deck was full of mold and slime. Absolute and Smirnoff the only name brand liquors. Food was very good, and most were very pleasant. Shows a disspointment. travelled to PVR 8 times, I will stay somewhere elsenext time.

Room Tip: Do not ask for the Club rooms, they look at parking lot. Grand hotel rooms on upper floors are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Fabulous little resort with lots to offer. This resort offers six restaurants, all of which deserve merit. For an all-inclusive, you will rarely have such a selection of cuisine to choose from. Nightime features dancing in the piano lounge as well as many stage shows. Free bicycles are available for you to ride to the neighbouring Bucerias. We walked to Bucerias along the beach. Make sure to leave early and take water and a cover-up from the sun, but it was a great way to pass the time. When we got hot, we simply slipped into the ocean to cool off before carrying on.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are preferable to the ones in the towers. Towers would be preferable to som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review on this web site. Your insights are highly appreciated, and we would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It was evident to me that they spent a lot of money on the lobby and not much on the rooms. I agree with others that our room stank of mold. We had a nice view of the ocean but then a group of people with a radio station would congregate at about 5 in the morning outside our window. No sleep past 5 or 6 am on our holiday!! Brutal. They had the beach shut down most of the time due to jelly fish and high waves. That was mother nature not them but they did err on the side of over cautiousness. They wouldn't "loan" out a board when the flag was up but if you wanted to buy one then you could go out at your own risk. Needless to say, with two teenage boys, we had to purchase their crappy boards. Food was ok, bartenders spent most of the time talking to each other in Spanish, rarely smiling or engaging with customers, even after tipping. Would go to another resort next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review on this web site. We value your comments and they will be followed up on, as customer satisfaction is paramount to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The good:

Friendly staff. Many food options. Clean. Free boogie board rentals. Excellent spa.On a bus route to Puerto Vallarta. Excelent beach.
For kids - Awesome kids' pool right next to the beech and food! Every food area has a self service ice cream station - a big help for bribing kids!

The bad:
Nothing major, but saw a few roaches in the bathroom which is expected for that climate. One day there was a big group of school kids who came for the cheerleader competition. They drank a lot and were loud at night. Security helped to keep them in check.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for sharing your views with other travelers. Your insights are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Sept. 15-Sept 23. 2012..The staff was excellent. But you were harassed after you checked in the hotel by the time share people, every time you came down stairs. Then after that we moved rooms three times before we got a dissent room that didn"t smell like mold , to have only a bed ,dresser, sm. round table and chair (not like the pictures). Then there was the watered down drinks. No tour when you arrived, to know what they had. And the club smelled just like the rooms (mold).The staff didn't understand English. The food in the restaurant that you had to make a reservation was good, other than that no. I saw a black bird take a macaroni noodle out of the warming station.We couldn't wait to get home to tell others about or experience. But on a good note The river dance , and atv was the best. Also be carful of the taxi, the work with the hotel. $20.00 per ride. Octivia, and Carlos are the people to ask for they will help you.... The tv only had a couple English speaking channels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for writing a review on this web site. We value your feedback and take upon ourselves to follow up on it. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I will never stay here again. I and my finace are presently staying here now. Im so irratated that I couldn't wait until I got home to write this review.

When we arrived there was no one to greet us. We had to wait for someone to help us get our luggage up about 20 stairs. There were no ramps to pull luggage up.

When we finally found the front desk to check-in, the 3 repredentives were fighting over who would attend us for check-in. They seemed confused and sent us to another area to check-in.

Our room was suppose to be a ocean view room and when wee arrived to the room it was very disappointing. It was a small dated room over looking the swimming pools. We had to upgrade our room for an additional $500. We did get an ocean view suite however with the obnoxious, loud, pool announcer who yelled all day in his microphone totally ruined our stay. We were not able to sleep in or relax in the mid day because he was so stinking LOUD!

The quality of the food was gross! It was not worth the price we paid for all inclusive. Food was bland, watered down or has been sitting out for hours. Fine dining was just okay. Alcoholic beverages were weak and they used the cheapest alcohol they could find. We are not heavy drinkers either.

Overall I don't recommend this place to my worst enemy. There are several options in the area to settle for this place. I stayed at the RUI Palace in May. It was a beautiful place with excellent food and service. I was hoping to get the samething here. Don't get the Rui Palace mixed up with their other properties. They have 3. It's the RUI Palace in Nuevo Vallarta.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest,
We are so surprised to read your comments when we did not got any complaint from you during your stay, It is very important for us to be notified of any kind of discomfort or inconvenience while you are still at the hotel for us to be able to offer you different options and show you how much we care for our clients, because our commitment is do our best to make sure our clients enjoy their stay with us. Do not doubt to contact us at gsmanager@marival.com.mx to be able to talk to you about your experience and offer you something very special for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marival Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Resort & Suites

Address: Boulevard Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marival Resort & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book Something Different and enjoy Something Better! Enjoy our beachfront Sun ‘n Fun Resort with nonstop activities and a wide range of dining choices- 6 restaurants, 4 specialty, 7 bars including 2 swim-ups & Martini bar. Book a Resort room, or even one to three bedroom Suites featuring living rooms and independent dining areas, balconies, terraces and oceanfront locations to spread out and enjoy a villa style vacation. Something for every taste, every age!Special Room Sizes and Locations Provide a Variety of AccommodationsDeluxe Resort Rooms. One Bedroom Suites, including Oceanfront up to 760 sq ft. Two and Three Bedroom Villa Suites, Oceanfront up to 1260 sq ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marival Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Resort And Suites
Marival Hotel Nuevo Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.