We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning our next trip before we even got home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari to your Saves list
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo de los Cocoteros no 53, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% Winter Saver
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Planning our next trip before we even got home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have never been treated so well while traveling! Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. Not 15 minutes went by without someone asking if we needed anything. The staff became more like friends by the end of the trip. The food was incredible! There is also full washer and dryer in each room. No need to pack so much. Just need swimsuits and a few changes of clothes.

Room Tip: While visiting other friends in their hotel rooms, I would say they we all the same, very nice, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    123
    32
    10
    17
See reviews for
354
356
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just got back from NPV from a 6 day stay at the Marival Residence Resort with my with and 16 year old teenager. This is a great hotel with pros and cons that are listed below.
Pros:
1. Outstanding service by the personnel.
2. Has 3 restaurant on site with excellent cuisine. If you are a discerning eater like I am and abhore the feed the cattle attitude of most All-inclusive resorts, then you will enjoy your stay here.
The food is the best part of this hotel in my opinion. You can in addition, opt to visit the suites part of the hotel and restaurants, but requires a reservation, in 6 days we did not feel the urge to try the additonal restaurants. There is a breakfast and lunch outdoor buffet from Thrusday through Sunday.
3. The Spa is second to none.
4. Rooms and Resort are extemely well kept and clean. I was expecting a large room but what were pleasantly surprise by the size of the rooms. In reality they are full apartments. We had what appeared to be a 2 bedroom condo, with a full balcony. Great accomodations.
Cons:
1. For a hotel of this class I was disappointed that it did not have a business center in the residence portion of the resort. Wi-Fi access is close to 15 dollars a day. I have been to places in India with a 1/3 of the infractructure of Mexico and they provide free WI-FI access at least on a limited basis in the lobby or business area. So, I find it disturbing in this day and age that this resort will not provide some limited access to the internet and find the prices they charge for access obcene.
If you need infrequent access to wi-fi, I recommend their Bistro (named "D") next to the hotel where you can spend the money on wine and gain access to their network for free, better yet find a Starbucks, they are all over in PV.
2. They try to get you on a sales tour (time shares) of their resort. I did not attend the presentation since I have been a victim of wasting my time on those in the past, but the continous request to attend gets annoying after a while. They do promise some goodies, that may appeal to some, I was not interested.
3. Ther is no direct beach access. To go to the beach area you need to catch a golf cart ride to the suites side of the resort where there is a VIP section for guest of the "residence" side of the resort. I must say that the food and service is exceptional as well in the VIP section.

In conclusion, the only reason I did not rate this hote a 5 whas for the con's listed above. Overall, I would return and recommend this hotel. Great service, great food and excellent location. It is as close to perfect as you can get, but it needs to address the issues above, for me to give it a full 5 rating.
Cheers!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Went for the MLK weekend with a few girlfriends, we got the two bedroom suite with ocean view, Large kitchen, living room and dining room, large balcony with unbeatable views of the sunset and sunrise, though I saw more sunsets than rises ;) Check in for some reason took a bit, we sat around, they gave the girls champagne, and finally we got to check into our beautiful room.

I was the only one in the group who doesnt drink, but i still had my share of virgin strawberry daiquiris and pina coladas... yummy! We ate a ton of food, we certainly took adavnatage of all inclusive :) The lamb chops were probably my fave. We ordered tons of breakfast for room service, though something with the order was always wrong, but we ordered so much, its a wonder we knew that something was wrong.

The beach was a quick golf cart ride to the sister report which wasnt as nice as the marival residence. Great pool, when we went it was relatively quiet and really nice, it probably wasnt at capacity, it felt a bit deserted, but that was perfect for us.

We went on a couple excursions, zip lining and went swimming with the dolphins. Had a blast! The night life is non existent when we went, and you are kind of far away from the downtown area to just head over, plus as four young ladies we thought it safer to stick around the resort :)

The wine bar was extra, but we didnt try it, every staff member we encountered were so nice, always so friendly and just pleasant to see around.

I miss the resort, we all vowed to come back.... I hope to keep that promise!

P.S. PASS on the airport pickup vouchers from the hotel, it was $25 PP fr our group of four each way, prepaid so we couldnt cancel the trip back to the airport, total rip off!

Room Tip: Ocean View from the top floors!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was so worth upgrading from Marival Grand Resort to this resort. The FOOD was excellent everywhere, at the SKY LOUNGE, the Lemongrass by the Pool, and the Italian sit down FINE DINING restaurant. Our Suite was SO GORGEOUS. So comfortable. The pool was amazing. I loved every moment and would definitely recommend anyone to go. It's more quiet than the Marival Grand Resort, which seems to be mostly like a Local Spot. We went Mid June. right before the rainy season.

Room Tip: Get a Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am rating the Marival Residences and World Spa here. There are two Marival properties: Marival Residences and World Spa and Marival Resort and Suites Hotel. The reason that Travelocity.ca is half price on this page, is that they are offering Marival Resort and Suites hotel instead of the much superior Marival residences and World Spa. The residences and World Spa Resort is not on the beach but a beautiful new property, fabulous food, nice pools and great rooftop area for cocktails and aps. The Marival Resort and Suites Hotel is quite old, on the beach. Well, just not somewhere classy. Be careful that you get what resort you think you are getting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

To celebrate my husband’s birthday this year we decided to go to Puerto Vallarta and the Marival Residences and World Spa. Although it is not a small place, it offers a much more boutique feel and the service was wonderful.

We were lucky enough to get nonstop flights from Chicago which made the trip all that much smoother. We had done our research and were well aware that this resort was not beachfront but we also knew it offered wonderful views of the ocean from most of their rooms and a great beach club at their related properties. Our 1 bedroom suite was on the 5th floor in the corner and had a beautiful view of the pools and the ocean. We spent each evening our on our balcony enjoying the views. We loved that the balconies are glass so they offer unobstructed views. The room itself was huge, especially for the two of us. We had 2 bathrooms which was a nice surprise. This property would be great to come back to with our son since there is so much room and it is truly decorated so nice. I’ll attach pictures but they don’t do it justice.


This really is a more upscale resort and the service from all of the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed the restaurant offerings. On Sunday morning they offered a great brunch at Omaggio. The brunch is set up in stations under covered areas outside and offers seating both inside and outside. It was quite classy. We also loved the Insu Sky Lounge at dinner (but they do an awesome breakfast buffet too—we didn’t know this until our last morning), with its tapas selections and phenomenal views.


During our 4 days, the weather could not have been better. We spent our days at the beach club, which was even better than we expected. We realized that this is what a vacation is all about. We never felt the need to go back to our room for anything although the shuttle was continuous. We also never needed to use the sister resorts (Marival Resort and Suites). They really didn’t compare to where we were staying and our beach club, but it was nice to know we could use the whole place (and the restaurants) if we wanted to. Perhaps if we had stayed a full week, we would have had time to enjoy the other restaurants but with our timeframe, we didn’t need too. We did grab some pizza as we were walking by from the outdoor restaurant at Marival Resort and it was good. It also seemed very crowded at the sister resorts on the weekends so we preferred to stay within the beach club and our “home” at the Marival Residences.


I really can’t say a bad thing about this resort. For those who only want to stay beachfront, this might seem at least one negative item, but strangely enough, it didn’t matter – which is NOT what I would think either. Now that I have been and experienced this fabulous place myself, I know this. If you choose this place, read up on all the reviews and information you can find. If you like what you read, go and enjoy. We did and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The villas are beautiful and spacious! Everyone is so friendly there. I highly recommend going over to the Italian restaurant on the other side for an excellent Italian meal. The lasagna was awesome! Many thanks to Jennifer at VIP Vacations for helping us find this excellent resort! The ocean was almost bath water warm in June and you could walk way out past the breakers without getting too deep (for an adult). There was almost no under tow while we were there. So awesome.

Room Tip: The residence side seems quieter than the other side. It is also smaller. There are 3 restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari

Address: Blvd Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo de los Cocoteros no 53, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There is nothing like the luxurious four diamond all inclusive Marival Residences & World Spa", WINNER OF THE 2012 TRAVELER'S CHOICE AWARDS #1 ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT! Unmatched accommodations, a food and beverage experience in a class by itself, a Free Tour and unlimited free golf at PGA courses are all included!Located in Riviera Nayarit's Nuevo Vallarta, this is the 1st all-inclusive resort to offer luxurious one to four bedroom Residences -- perfect for couples and families alike -- actual homes-away-from-home, spacious and inviting -- 1400 sq ft is the smallest! The all inclusive package is "seriously all inclusive" -- gourmet dining indoors and out, 24/7 room service, international wine bar, rooftop sky lounge and tapas restaurant, a Private full service VIP Beach Club, UNLIMITED rounds of golf at signature champoinship courses. Tour Time- Take One Free! Catamaran Sailing, Sea Lions, Zip Lining, Pueblos, Pub Crawl or City tours… PLUS, additional select tours like Dolphin Encounters from only $30..Romance is always in the air here, and free weddings and special honeymoon bonuses make it a perfect place to celebrate love. Families get the best of all worlds with separate bedrooms for the kids, a full activities program and even free nannies! Top all this off with the unique "world spa" featuring nine different therapy rooms and special treatments from around the world and it's easy to see why this resort is rated the #1 All Inclusive experience.Marival Residences & World Spa -- A world apart, in a class by itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.