We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation of all Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Residences & World Spa

Save Saved
You added Marival Residences & World Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marival Residences & World Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo de los Cocoteros no 53, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 40% + FREE Rewards
Ranked #3 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Vacation of all Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Bj and Toni from Indy

I first would like to say we traveled all over the world and with out a shadow of a thought this place far exceeded my expectations. From the execellent Staff to the great service there was nothing we wanted that was not meet or exceeded. Before we selected this establishment, I went on line for two months and conducted my due dillegence and reviewed every website avail to select this resorts. From the time we walked into the resort to the time we left the staff (Vicky, Carlos, Lil Peateako, Julio, Jorge and the rest of the staff treated us like family. The Room was breathtaking and the food was 5 stars, with the great locations

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    696
    105
    29
    9
    16
See reviews for
293
325
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I went for a quick trip to get away for a few days and boy was it worth it! We have traveled to the pacific before, but never to Puerto Vallarta. We booked a package on expedia for the pent house and all inclusive trip. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised that the actual place was nicer than in pictures. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, the food was great, although I do recommend that if you don't plant on eating most meals on site, then don't purchase the all inclusive. The grounds were beautiful. We loved the penthouse, when we booked I thought it was a little pricey, but afterwards I would book it again. The cleaning crew was great, they came in around afternoon to clean the room and later on in the day to prepare the bed for us to sleep in. Once during their cleaning they called security because we left our safe open and they are required to report this. We had our passports, jewelry and electronics in there and nothing went missing. Upon arrival I was a little disappointed that the beach was not on site and was on their sister resort. That was no problem at all and was actually nice because it made for a peaceful vacation and not crowded at all. The staff will take you to and from the beach any time and it only takes a few minutes, before you know it your there. The ride is actually really nice with all the gardens and palm trees around the streets. We loved it and will be returning again with our children.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, the top rooms have the best view of the ocean. The lower rooms have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first trip to the Marival Residences and it was AMAZING! We came with high expectations as some of our friends had been several times and talked this place up. EVERYTHING you hear about this place is true its is the BOMB! The service from the staff is excellent, the food was delicious. The shrimp corndogs are to die for and the morning outdoor breakfast buffet had a tortilla station where they hand rolled your tortillas right in front of you. Carlos and Reggie are top notch professionals who know how to handle any need that comes up. The Spa was also wonderful. The excursions were so fun. I cant give a high enough rating for this place and will definitley be coming back with more friends. I also want to give a shout out to the Lemmongrass bar staff, those guys kicked butt and served us and all of our huge groups needs in a prompt manner which isnt easy with such a large group. I cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: get a top floor suite with your own pool, AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences & World Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review on this web site. Your comments are highly appreciated, and we are certain other travelers will also benefit from them. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our first trip to the area and our first stay at Marival. The service was incredible, the rooms are beautiful, and the staff was extremely friendly. We came with a large group and we were able to participate in numerous activities. We definitely plan on returing to the Marival again...hopefull often.

Room Tip: higher floors in the main building have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences & World Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Traveler
We would like to thank you for publishing your comments on this web site. It really pleases us to know that you had such a wonderful time here, and we would certainly love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was my 3rd time at this specific resort and as always, a phenomenal time! The biggest thing that separates this resort from any other that I've been to is the staff. They are absolutely amazing at providing people with the "experience" you deserve. Not only is the food delicious, the rooms/accommodations are unbelievable! Oh, did I mention that it's an all inclusive resort including the excursions we all went on? Swimming with the dolphins/sea lions, playing at Jack Nicholas course, and even the sunset cruise! I plan on continuing the tradition of coming down here at least 1 a year for the rest of my life!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our second stay here in a year. This time for my 50th with 26 friends and relatives . Again the villas are exceptional - as are the suites. All of our guests were overwhelmed by the rooms, food , service and that the activities are included. The zip-lining was more adrenaline than last time !
All of the staff are great but special mention goes to Bea Barbera, Carlos ( concierge), Jorge ( driver), Christian ( bar waiter), Mary ( hostess), Jesus ( waiter), all of the pool and beach club waiters - what a treat that is to have comfortable beach chairs, huge towels, amazing menu ( ceviche and prawns are out of this world!) and gracious service by these fellows working their butts off for their guests. Greatly appreciated. Many of the unsung heroes are theexceptional cleaning staff and gardeners who always greet with a smile and make the grounds and pools amazing.
We did go over to the Italian 'fine dining' Amalfi at the sister property Marival Resort one night and it was cerainly good, but not as excellent as the Amagio at the Residences.
Again an amazing trip and I would recommend it most highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm happy to finally see some reviews that appear more truthful, especially if you are a couple traveling and not part of the many large groups they have at MR. We look for resorts that are smaller and cater to adults, more serene and peaceful..this place was definetly not that..it was both a convention hotel and a spring break place. That's fine, if that's what you advertise, but when you are supposedly an upscale affluent resort it's not what you expect. After reading a number of the glowing reviews we put this place in the category of Garza Blanca, Grand Velas, Estancia and San Angel, it is none of those, not even close.(really makes ne wonder who was writing those reviews, although if you were part of the groups or weddings, I'm sure you thought everything was wonderful)) The rooms are certainly a step above hotel rooms, but not as nice as the places I mentioned. The amenities are basic and not readily replaced by the maids, turn down was sporatic, as were towels..even the stocked refrig, you have to call to get replacements.
We found the food average, with the exception of some of the selections at Insu,(the roof top bar), but as mentioned by others, during our stay it was difficult to get in and even when you did service was spotty, the place was loud and filled with partying wedding attendees or conventioneers.
The restaurants tended to be full and again overrun by the large groups, most evenings we ended up in Omaggio, which basically is a glorifed cafeteria.We actually started going off property to restaurants that took care of their paying customers.
They also do a number of breakfast/lunches in the palapas at the pool, as convient as that sounds, all the smoke and smells certainly disrupt quiet quality pool time.
This hotel hosts large groups of golfers/wedding paticipants that for the most part know each other, this makes for loud conversations with large groups and again many tables being taken up at the restaurants. they also have numerous weddings going on with lots of young people drinking and partying everywhere. There was a battle of cd players around the "quiet "pool and again most restaurants were filled by their groups, not to mention the noise, I kept wondering where the security was.
As mentioned by others, the young kids were all over the place, even though the hot tub was adults only, and there was supposedly a quiet side to the pool, no one paid any attention, again I ask where was security.
To add insult to injury the hotel hosted the opening evening of the gourmet festival, paying hotel patrons were not invited,over 450 non hotel guests took over the place we were paying to be at. Even though this is an all-inclusive place we were relegated to eat at Insu with the other 200 paying hotel patrons or go the the sister hotel. If that were not ridiculous enough the event went on well past 1am, unreal, a total lack of respect and concern for their paying customers. We've never been treated so poorly by a hotel anywhere in the world.
I have to say I feel like a complete fool staying at this place, we have been traveling to the PV area for several years and usally stay in a resort for no more than 7 nights and then move on to another, this is the first time we stayed 10 nights and it had to be here, yikes..the truth is if we could have changed our airline reservations we would have left after the hotel the gourmet event, (it really was unacceptable) ..5 days early, that was how much we disliked the cavalier attitude of the management here.
We did find a number of staff that were very helpful and did everything in their limited power to make our stay more enjoyable, we did appreciate that. I just think this hotel need to say what it is in their ads, and that is a convention, large group place and not a place for couples seeking peace and rest and a quiet place to relax and read.
I did try to talk with the manager but she was never available, I have sent an email but again no one responded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences & World Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Traveler:
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us while at Marival Residences & World Spa. We believe that all observations from our clients are very important because they help us to improve the quality of our services and facilities as we strive for excellence. Thank you very much for being so patient.
We deeply regret that we were not what you expected, we know that Residences was very crowded during you stay and we were not able to cover all your needs.
The International Gourmet Festival is one of the most prestigious culinary events that take place every year in Puerto Vallarta. We were honored by the Nayarit Government to play host to the most important Chefs coming from all around the World and some of the most important personalities from the Government of Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Nayarit as well as restaurant and hotel owners. We apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused you; it was never our intention to make you feel bad or disrespected, you and your wife are very important to us as are all our guests, our most sincere respect.
We would like to share with you that we are not a convention or spring break destination; we are one of the most preferred Hotels in Riviera Nayarit due to our facilities, food & beverages, service and that we host all kinds of guest from all around during all the year. We do have several groups of golfers that always come during the high season to enjoy the destination; remember that Puerto Vallarta and Riviera Nayarit have 10 different professional golf courses in order to satisfy the needs of all players.
It is indeed a wedding destination as well; our lovely beaches and amazing sunsets have the charm that couples, honeymooners and people celebrating an Anniversary look for, that is another reason why we have groups of young people from all around during different seasons of the year.
We must apologize about the delays at the restaurants, this is not standard; but we are a little surprised with regard to your comments about our food and restaurants. From the opening of this property on, our food & beverage program has been considered one of the concepts of greatest satisfaction for all our clients, we have an excellent Five Diamond Chef in charge of supervising the kitchens in each of the different restaurants we have.
We hope all this information helps you to clarify any misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marival Residences & World Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences & World Spa

Also Known As:
Marival Resort
Marival Vallarta
Grand Marival
Marival Club
Marival Resort Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand & Club Suites
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Address: Blvd Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo de los Cocoteros no 53, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences & World Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There is nothing like the luxurious four diamond all inclusive Marival Residences & World Spa", WINNER OF THE 2012 TRAVELER'S CHOICE AWARDS #1 ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT! Unmatched accommodations, a food and beverage experience in a class by itself, a Free Tour and unlimited free golf at PGA courses are all included!Located in Riviera Nayarit's Nuevo Vallarta, this is the 1st all-inclusive resort to offer luxurious one to four bedroom Residences -- perfect for couples and families alike -- actual homes-away-from-home, spacious and inviting -- 1400 sq ft is the smallest! The all inclusive package is "seriously all inclusive" -- gourmet dining indoors and out, 24/7 room service, international wine bar, rooftop sky lounge and tapas restaurant, a Private full service VIP Beach Club, UNLIMITED rounds of golf at signature champoinship courses. Tour Time- Take One Free! Catamaran Sailing, Sea Lions, Zip Lining, Pueblos, Pub Crawl or City tours… PLUS, additional select tours like Dolphin Encounters from only $30..Romance is always in the air here, and free weddings and special honeymoon bonuses make it a perfect place to celebrate love. Families get the best of all worlds with separate bedrooms for the kids, a full activities program and even free nannies! Top all this off with the unique "world spa" featuring nine different therapy rooms and special treatments from around the world and it's easy to see why this resort is rated the #1 All Inclusive experience.Marival Residences & World Spa -- A world apart, in a class by itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Venere, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marival Residences & World Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Residences & World Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.