We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Reunion - Detailed Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari

Save Saved
You added Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo de los Cocoteros no 53, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 40% + Free Rewards
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun Family Reunion - Detailed Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had read through almost all of the reviews of the Residences but still didn't have a great feel for the place upon arrival so the purpose of this review is to give a bullet point outline of the key aspects of this resort. The reader should bear in mind I have 3 little kids (ages 6, 4, 3) and I also traveled with a group of 22 total for a family reunion. We traveled Nov 11-17th, 2012.

The Resort:
Very clean
Consists of 1 main pool, 1 kids pool with rooms surrounding this
4 main restaurants
Not huge but it felt reasonably empty even though they said they were at full capacity which was a plus for me
Nice points include free unlimited towels (no towel cards or anything like that)
Also almost everyone felt the pool water temp was just about perfect
Access to the sister resort

The Rooms:
As most have noted they are huge, we had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, tons of space
Rooms are very nice, we had 3 plasma TV's, AC, washer/dryer, etc
The beds are hard but with a bed topper (must request this) they are very nice
You likely need a 3rd floor or above room to have a decent view of the ocean from the room
All rooms are pretty centralized since the resort isn't huge

Food
I was a little disappointed in the food given the rave reviews, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars. I would say it was quite good for an all inclusive place, but not as good as most cruise lines which I would give 5 stars.
If I had to rank the restaurants I would go in this order:
Insu
Lemon Grass/Steak House
Omiaggo
You can get food from most restaurants even if you are at another restaurant if you ask for it
We loved eating outdoors (all but Omiaggo)
Portions are pretty small, especially the sides but that isn't necessarily bad since you can order as much as you want of anything
Favorite foods included the wings, rings, calamari, steak, churrios, fajitas, fish and chips
Food that was poor included the burgers (looked good but odd after taste) and salmon

Beach
Very nice
Super sandy and soft - no shells (sucks for collectors but great for walking on - tons of living sand dollars however which live an inch beneath the sand in the low water)
Very gentle slope, nice for kids/older adults
Medium roughness - even when calm you will get some waves but the gentle slope lets you determine what size waves you want to fight
Pretty empty
Very easy golf cart ride to the beach, never waited for more than 5 min even with a group of 10+ wanting to go at the same time
Ocean water temp was great, could stay in for an hour without shivering

Tipping
Tipping is expected
General trend is to not tip much when just getting drinks (you don't get a bill)
Tip when food comes (you get a bill with each meal)
I didn't tip American percentages as if I was at a restaurant (ie 20% at all meals), instead it was like $5-10 for breakfast and lunch and ~$20 at dinner and the staff seemed genuinely pleased with that, that amount would be lower than the 20%
You don't need to carry around cash, you can put your tip on the room for everything so you just say to somebody "put 3 USD on my room for this" and you are good to go.

Weather
This of course will vary but was great for us.
High 80's/low 90's for highs, 70's at night, never rained, not very windy
No bugs of any sort except a few bees at one outdoor restaurant next to the bar

Extras:
Spa was very nice, a bit pricey but high quality
Sea lion tour (included) was very good
Las Caletas (additional tour not included) good but a bit pricey
We went fishing - lots of people got sea sick, it gets pretty rough even if it seems calm from the shore.
The other resort is much bigger. If you have kids you'll definitely want to go to it as it has 5 pools for all ages including water slides, a little pool for those learning to swim, plus some big adult pools for games, etc. Food is just so-so at the other resort so if was just my wife and I we would have stayed at the Residences (except for going to the beach) but with kids and the whole family we spent a lot of time at the other resort
We lost our stroller and a swim bag and both were turned into the lost and found and then returned to us, very nice
Resort is a reasonably short bus/taxi ride from the airport, nice after a long day of travel

Problems:
If you travel with 22 people there will be some issues. These included:
One family's reservation got mixed up and they were sent to the sister resort, not the Residences. Initially we thought it was their fault but then looking at emails it was clear it was the fault of the travel agent or some other hotel rep, that was a big screw up. But do make sure to book the right place.
One room the AC didn't seem to work well
A free tour got cancelled at the last minute so only half of the group went
I wanted a DVD player for my kids to watch movies, took 5 separate requests and 48 hours to get.
In general it seemed like all of the staff, including upper management, was very friendly and helpful but it seemed like there was some management issues and certain areas didn't communicate well with other areas.
All staff was helpful but some had more troubles with understanding English than others so it was common to get the wrong drink or wrong appetizer, not a huge deal but worth mentioning.
Americans tend to chat for a while once they sit down and then they order, I would suggest ordering sooner rather than later since the wait time for food being served can be on the long side (especially if you have kids that are tired).

In general this was an excellent, beautiful resort and I would certainly go back. Puerto Vallarta and the surrounding areas were beautiful (scenery wise) and we stayed in the main areas and had no security/safety concerns whatsoever.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and above if you want to see the ocean (obviously facing the ocean as well).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    118
    32
    10
    17
See reviews for
339
349
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Apart from not being on the beach, this resort truly raises the bar.

We had never been to such an elegent resort. The staff truly go above and beyond when compared to other resorts we've been to.

Getting to the beach is very well set up. There is a large golf cart that is available 24 hours a day. The PRIVATE area on the beach is excellent. Menu service on the beach was amazing. What ever you wanted was yours.

We thought we would get tired of the resort food as we were there for 12 nights however the menu changes daily. We ate at the steak house at the sister property for a change. Looking back we found the food, selection, quality and service was above the sister property (which is where the beach is).

Take advantage of the excursions. The city/country tour to the Tequila factory was great. The way Tequila is made from the plants grown, to the specific geographic area was very interesting.
The staff at the "Quinta Fona Chelina" were super, they answered any and all questions, as well as explained in detail how tequila is made. We purchased two bottles of flavoured, very very good. Nice family run business.

We did the evening sail, swim with the dolphins, and catamaran trip.

You will be treated like royalty by the staff. Get the fresh salsa and quacamole, with taco chips. Nice snack for the pool.

The tapas bar at the top was breathtking, sunset was unbelievable.

And for us Canadians, they had TSN on the TV's,(including the lounge, just ask) you read it correctly TSN !!!! Jay and Dan in the morning.
I had never been to any resort anywhere, in Cuba, Bahamas, Dominican republic, or anywhere in the USA, that had TSN. Hats off to the resort for that. (TSN is the Canadian version of ESPN, not that I don't like basketball, bowling or tennis, but Hockey is nice to see)

You wll not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting such an extensive review of your vacation experience in our resort. Your insights are very much appreciated and will certainly benefit other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed seven nights in a one bedroom,two bath suite. It was wonderful. The service was out of this world. We were attended to for what ever we wanted.It was very relaxing here. The many choices of foods were a delight to have. All the kind staff ,servers, and workers work really excellent in caring for us.It was great being able to use the shuttle to go next door to the other sister resort beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you very much for posting a review of our resort on this web site. We value your insights and are certain that other travelers will benefit from them as well. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in a shared suite for three nights in September with our 2 year old and another couple with a 4 and 8 year old. Our friends had chosen this resort as this was their third visit. our first.
This place has everything-relaxed atmosphere, good facilities with multiple pools including a kids pool and three onsite restaurants which are excellent,a good beachfront, nice accommodation with plenty of room for everyone and high levels of service throughout. The only downside was an expensive internet charge which for the money should be included and occasionally our experience was somewhat marred by some of our fellow guest who seemed to be making the most of the all-inclusive drinks on offer judging by the volume levels generated. This place does come at a premium price in my opinion but they deliver so if you have the cash to splash I would wholeheartedly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The suites have a small kitchen which we found invaluable for heating/storing milk and the fridge wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for posting a review of your vacation experience. Your opinion is important to us, as we strive top maintain our high quality standards. It will be our pleasure to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first time at the Marival Residences & World Spa. We had a two bedroom residence and it was huge. Modern and beautiful.
All the staff helped make our stay a wonderful experience. Especially the servers. All the food was delicious. This resort is not on the beach but they do have a 24 hour shuttle service to the Marival Resort. It is also a nice walk. We will be returning again and again.

Room Tip: You need a room on the 4th floor or higher to have an ocean view. If not important, the hotel grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for sharing your insights on this web site. We appreciate your comments, as we aim at making every traveler's experience unique and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste-Claire, Qc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were there August 9th to 16th. Weather was absolutely spectacular and very hot! The hotel is incredibly luxurious with wide and spacious rooms, fancy restaurants, nice buffet, beautiful pools and spas, etc. People working there are very nice and they were kind and patient with our 2 children, so they made our trip much more easier. Food is like the rest, so tasty, diversified but moreover, it was high class meals like tartar etc.

Reagrding the wedding, everything went smootly with the help of the employees whom were pretty much attentive to our needs. We did have a nice ceremony and a beautiful setup for the evening and our diner.

In the end, all we can say is that we had a very good time and we'll keep good memories of our wedding at Marival Residence Wolrd and Spa.

Only two things were weird... We had to pay for the Internet (WTF in a luxury resort like this one) and there's no direct access to the beach, we have to take a suttle all the way to the other Marival resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Marival Management Staff remembers return visitors and treats us like family. They find ways to excel in services we couldn't have thought to ask for. The facility is top notch; the service is excellent and the personnel remain constant. It was a thrill to see familiar faces and to have them recognize you too!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room; all rooms have a beautiful kitchen and sitting area with two bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Traveler
Thank you for writing a review of our resort. We value your comments and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari

Address: Blvd Nuevo Vallarta y Paseo de los Cocoteros no 53, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico (Formerly Marival Residences & World Spa)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"There is nothing like the luxurious four diamond all inclusive Marival Residences & World Spa", WINNER OF THE 2012 TRAVELER'S CHOICE AWARDS #1 ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT! Unmatched accommodations, a food and beverage experience in a class by itself, a Free Tour and unlimited free golf at PGA courses are all included!Located in Riviera Nayarit's Nuevo Vallarta, this is the 1st all-inclusive resort to offer luxurious one to four bedroom Residences -- perfect for couples and families alike -- actual homes-away-from-home, spacious and inviting -- 1400 sq ft is the smallest! The all inclusive package is "seriously all inclusive" -- gourmet dining indoors and out, 24/7 room service, international wine bar, rooftop sky lounge and tapas restaurant, a Private full service VIP Beach Club, UNLIMITED rounds of golf at signature champoinship courses. Tour Time- Take One Free! Catamaran Sailing, Sea Lions, Zip Lining, Pueblos, Pub Crawl or City tours… PLUS, additional select tours like Dolphin Encounters from only $30..Romance is always in the air here, and free weddings and special honeymoon bonuses make it a perfect place to celebrate love. Families get the best of all worlds with separate bedrooms for the kids, a full activities program and even free nannies! Top all this off with the unique "world spa" featuring nine different therapy rooms and special treatments from around the world and it's easy to see why this resort is rated the #1 All Inclusive experience.Marival Residences & World Spa -- A world apart, in a class by itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marival Vallarta
Marival Club
Grand Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Nuevo Vallarta
Grand Marival Mexico
Nuevo Vallarta Marival
Marival Grand Club Suites Nuevo Vallarta
Marival Grand Hotel
Marival Vacation Club
Club Marival Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marival Residences Luxury Resort Nuevo Vallarta Riviera Nayari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.