We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place but thematic restaurants disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% OFF + KIDS STAY FREE
Ranked #4 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place but thematic restaurants disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It’s a very nice hotel with a great structure and very cordial employees. Nice swimming pools and outstanding sightseen, the hotel is very clean and rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast and lunch served at “Market Place” restaurant is very good and have a great variety of regional and international food. Everything was great except the thematic restaurants. The Ipanema grill is a provocation to the Brazilian cuisine I was almost requesting to take away the Brazilian flag from that restaurant, the person responsible for the barbecue didn’t know how to prepare the meat and everything was raw. My group that was a mix of Mexican, Brazilians and Americans requested many time for grilled meat but in the end we gave up and leave the restaurant. Somebody responsible for the restaurant need to provide a better training to the cooker or considering change the restaurant theme that was a disaster

Room Tip: Run away from Ipanema Restaurant and you will have a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review Marcos_Basso. We appreciate you shared your thoughts about your stay and we are more than glad to hear that everything was as you expected from the service, facilities and grounds of our resort, we would have loved to make of your vacation a perfect one, that is why we appreciate your great feedback as it helps us to make a visit to our hotel a real rock star experience! We have shared your words with our Executive Chef and key people in our organization to keep on working to meet and exceed our rockers expectations in our thematic restaurants and we are confident that we will continue providing authentic rock star experiences in our Ipanema restaurant to all our of rockers and we hope you come back soon to indulge with the exquisite culinary experience our Chef has set for you. Thanks again and keep on rockin’!
-LOVE ALL SERVE ALL-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,034
    337
    106
    49
    27
See reviews for
473
598
12
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean property...rooms are nice but there are hallways outside the rooms where EVERYTHING echoes loudly...small kids in the early am feel like they are IN your room. Also, it doesn't appear there are no smoking room sections...I didn't ask/complain, but I could smell there were heavy smokers in the room next door.
Food is good, drinks are of good quality liquor. The only real complaint I had while we were there is that there was a 3day convention that took over the resort...tents on the beach blocked the view of the sunset and they overtook the pool in the early evening.
You would think that parents would have enough sense to keep small children out of the swim up bar area of the pool...and more importantly, out of the sun bar in the late evening...our kids were with us too....but they are adults...otherwise, very nice place....swim with the dolphins was pretty good trip.

Room Tip: Higher floor offer a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear 4us2013, thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that your vacations were a hit, though we are sharing your feedback in regards the kids at the bars with our management, we will reinforce our procedures to maintain the family environment and also the bars as adult areas late at night rockin’!
And about the kids Club, whether it's all day or all night, we provide entertainment for all ages. The fun is non-stop for our littlest rock stars with different activities by the pool, entertainment and amusing sports such as water polo, volleyball, beach soccer and games, they will make the most of this trip. There's plenty of fun for your older teens too. Teens will be anything but bored in our action-filled environment.
We hope we can welcome you again soon, open the limo, roll out the red carpet, and spoil you rotten.
Trow a rager and smash your guitar!
-ALL IS ONE-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Used our timeshare free week to visit Hard Rock Vallarta....Hotel is small. Can become loud with any event scheduled in /near open lobby area. Choices for restaurants is limited but food is good. Only one Bar/Lounge is open in the evening/night....Was filled with families, lots of kids playing pool. Premier/Legendary members really did not receive anything specail...a few bear areas, some lounge area at poolside...But nothing spectacular as at other Palace Hotels........

Room Tip: Ask for extra towels, shampoo, conditioner early in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Greetings Fina1954! thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us; we strive to provide the true rock n’ roll fantasy vacation to our valued members, you are our true rock stars and we are your fans, waiting for you to arrive and let us take good care of you and we feel sad we did not exceed your expectations this time. We urge our valued members that feel this way to bring their concerns to our Members Services or concierge teams so we can do our best to give you the royal treatment and blow your mind with our legendary excellent service and amenities. Nonetheless, we have passed your comments to the head of the Vacation Club for further review. We sincerely hope we can welcome you again soon and give you the VIP treatment you deserve and have come to expect from us at the Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta. Expect the unexpected!
-SAVE THE PLANET-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days here with another couple. The grounds are very nice and the service was great for the most part.

The main problem we all had, was that the food was horrible overall. Its remniscent of a $6 Vegas buffet where you really need to search to find something pallatable. After two days we had tried every restaurant and decided we were only going to get decent food by going outside of the resort. We ended up spending over $500 eating out, which we normally dont have to spend when we go all-inclusive. The beef and brocolli at Zen was probably one if the worst things i have ever tasted and i have eaten alot of cheap microwaved asian dinners. I was surprised that the staff was not the least bit surprised that none of the meals we ordered had only been sampled.

We were given $1500 towards activities, spa and tours. This worked out great as we enjoyed all of these amenities. The only problem we had was dealing with the activities desk personelle. They were a bit unfriendly and stand-offish.

The bars were all staffed great and we had EXCELLENT service at all of the bars. There was a group from Jose Cuervo that came so all the bars were stocked with top-shelf liquor. This made our trip better but i think it was the exception and not a very common occurance.

If you are taking a vacation from your kids this is definately NOT the place to go. There were lots of children everywhere and even stayed in the Sun Bar playing pool until well after midnight. Very strange and not relaxing.

The front desk personelle were GREAT. Very friendly and accomodating.

Rooms were very nice as well as clean.

Overall i dont think i would return to this property unless the food was substantially changed.
We have stayed in a few all-inclusive resorts in the past in the same price range and the food was far superior.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Care Service at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi CnCLasVegas! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear that you liked the grounds and enjoyed the service of our compliant staff. We are sorry to hear that the culinary experience our Executive Chef has set up for our guests in our variety of restaurants, did not impress you, there is something for every taste, you can choose from our four fine dining restaurants and two casual dining restaurants offering delectable international cuisines, including Italian, Asian, Mexican and Brazilian. As part of the activities offered by our vacation planners to use your resort credits; we offer special dinners like the romantic dinner and the chef dinner and if you have cravings during the day, we offer a 24 hour service to the room. Nevertheless we are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations we hope you give us the opportunity to host you again and make your next visit an unforgettable one. I already sent you a personal message to give you the proper follow up.

-TAKE TIME TO BE KIND-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place to be, we went with my girlfriend and had a wonderfull time especially at the restaurant ZEN, its the best asian food we have tasted, besides the place is very nice, I want to thank Pablo and dimond from zen, they were great, always with a great smile, and the rest of the crew, Its one of my best vacations ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Omar R, thanks for the short and sweet review we are thrilled to hear the servic from our crew at Zen blew your mind! Come back soon again and let’s rock! Hang with the band!
ALL IS ONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My parents are time share owners with Palace Resorts, so we got the chance to stay with them at the Hard Rock Vallerta. Feelings on the resort were definitely mixed.

Pros
The Asian and Brazilian restaurants are both very good.
Rodrigo, the sommelier, was amazing and I cannot recommend his wine tasting highly enough.
The rooms are nice and kept very clean.
The zip lining excursion - although, I thought they wasted too much time trying to get us to buy the tequila and food at the restaurant (I'm sure Hard Rock was getting kick backs).
The mojitos and pool side sushi.

Cons
The CONSTANT stream of music - it seems like there's always some thumping techno going from 8am to 11pm and we could hear it in our rooms. It woke us up and there isn't a single location on the resort (save the spa) where you could get any peace and quiet. We could hear it at meals, all locations poolside, in our rooms, even on the beach. It would be nice to have one place on the resort where you could have a conversation without having to shout.

The Time Share people - Since my parents have a time share, one of the sales guys, Miguel, was very interested in upgrading them to a bigger package. When my parents didn't get a chance to meet with him the first two days of our trip, he called my room, waking me up at 8am both mornings asking where he was. He also got very aggressive with my parents when he learned he had visited a time share presentation with another resort. He also gave us conflicting information that nearly kept us from getting to go snorkeling on our trip.

Booking tours/spa packages - Now, don't get me wrong, the people working by the pool to book these things for us were very nice, but the process took SO long. It took over an hour for each room to book their spa and tour options (and we didn't book that many things).

The Chef's Dinner - DO NOT DO THIS. We thought we'd have an informative and quiet dinner, but it was a silly show with an MC who didn't know a thing about cooking making cheesy jokes and being WAY too loud in a room that already echoed. The chef himself didn't speak any English and we were too far away to ask any questions about the cooking process. It was a complete waste of the service fee and a waste of time (since we could use resort credit to pay for the majority fee). The food was okay, but after being promised that the food would be cooked in front of us, I was surprised that our actual dinner was brought out cold from the kitchens.

The City Tour - Pretty lame and an obvious opportunity for the hotel to get kick backs from the shop and tequila distillery we visited. We spent a half an hour "shopping" at this little mall where the prices were exorbitant and the owners wouldn't haggle. We then drove over an hour to a tequila distillery which, while good, still seemed a long way to go. We were then driven to a restaurant where our food was not included. We then spent 15 minutes in a church and 10 minutes on the boardwalk. This trip took about 5-6 hours and we saw so little of the city. Our guide was good, though, and educated us about Puerta Vallerta a lot during the LONG stretches of time we spent driving.

Frieda - This restaurant was so disorganized and the food was cold.

Ciao - Our table was stiflingly hot and while the food was okay, none of us could enjoy it because we were in such a rush to get outside to cooler temperatures.

Overall, it was just an okay trip, which doesn't seem worth it for the prices. I'm sad that this is no longer a Palace Resort, because I think the Palace standards are more in line with what I expect from a resort of this caliber.

It's also a LONG drive from the city, but it still feels like a very small resort. I'd recommend staying closer to town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello 711Erin, Thank you for the review. We are happy that you found the Asian and Brazilian restaurants to be your favorite and please us to know you loved your room and the zip lines tour were amazing, we are glad that you felt the rockstar service from Rodrigo, the sommelier. On the other hand, we are sorry for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We would like you to know that your comments have been shared as well with key Staff in our organization, most importantly our Management Team in order to take the corresponding corrective measures to ensure you get the VIP treatment you are accustomed to in our resorts. We hope you come back soon to let us give you the true rock n’ roll vacation of your dreams and turn you into our raving fan! Rock on!
LOVE ALL SERVE ALL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Hard Rock Puerto Vallarta is located about 20 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta Airport.

Upon arrival at the Hard Rock, we were warmly greeted with cold lemonade and did not even have to wait for our rooms, despite being there before check-in time. Our friends received the 1500 resort credit and they were helped by the front desk to explore their options. They chose to swim with dolphins and described it as a "once in a lifetime experience." The resort credit is a plus because it allows guests to do activities they may not have done otherwise!

Rooms: The rooms at the Hard Rock Vallarta are gorgeous. The basic level rooms are a bit small, but contain all of the amenities such as a double person Jacuzzi, king size bed, large shower, flat-screen television, and a mini bar containing liquor, beer, and a bottle of wine. If you are looking for more room to move around, I suggest upgrading to the Luxury Gold. Rooms also come with two fluffy bathrobes and plush slippers. All of the rooms contain 24 hour room service and contain a pretty extensive menu from appetizers to entrees.

Pools: There are three pools at the Hard Rock Vallarta. The main middle pool contains a swim up bar and a raised platform in the middle where guests can lay out. There are also small caves built in where children can play or guests can get shade. There is also a small waterslide for the children, which is supervised during the day. Another great feature of the pool bar is that guests can order pizzas, burgers, and nachos poolside. No need to drip dry and change clothes. The only thing I warn guests of is the fact that this is a family resort. There were plenty of kids hanging by the swim-up bar, so if this is going to cramp your style, I suggest choosing an adults only.

Restaurants: The Hard Rock has five restaurants. I really enjoyed my experience at Zen, the japanese restaurant. The waiters were absolutely hysterical and had excellent service. They had great recommendations and knew us by name by the end of the week.

Ipanema, the Brazilian restaurant is also FANTASTIC. Upon arrival, you receive a little card that you leave next to your plate and turn over when you are ready to be served. The waiters walk around with these huge skewers of meat, from bacon wrapped turkey to sirloin steak. The meat was cooked to PERFECTION and we literally were so full we could barely walk.

Nightlife: As this is the family friendly version of the resort, the nightlife is a bit lacking. The SUNBar is the main bar guests visit and there is usually a live band and a DJ. There were a ton of families there when I went, but if you are there with a large group, you can easily pack the bar and have an all out party. The staff is also great at recommending places in downtown Vallarta as well.

The bartenders at SunBar are pretty incredible. I have been to Vegas multiple times and these guys could beat Vegas bartenders hands down. I kept telling them to make me something interesting and every time they came up with something more interesting than the next. At one point they made Mexican Flag Shots for the group and lit them on fire. In my opinion, the best vacations contain interactive experiences, so the fact that the staff took the time to engage guests is really awesome. They also knew everyone by name!

Before I close, I want to give a shout out to the staff of the Hard Rock Vallarta. The standard of service is so high and the staff is so personable, that it is hard to find anything wrong with this resort. I would also like to mention, Oliver, who was on the party staff. He got many guests to participate in some of the "crazy" games, which made for hilarious stories in the days and weeks to come. He really cares about his job and we hope to come back and see him.

Overall, I suggest this resort for families with older children or larger groups of friends. If you are looking for something quiet and romantic, you may be put off by the amount of children. If you have a great group that is looking to be entertained, then this is it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Greetings from your friends at Vallarta! OreillySTL, Wow!, thank you very much for your amazing and detailed review.
We are overjoyed to hear that you felt the charming atmosphere of our resort and feel the exceptional service provided by our staff; we always try to provide a service that is at the height of the most famous Rock Stars.
We are so pleased reading your excellent comments about your room amenities, our restaurants, service at the bars, etc. and we appreciate you recommend us to all of our future rockers! We look forward to see you every year and be part of our family!! The Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta crew stands up and we say: for those about to rock, we salute you!!
Rock the show!!!
LOVE ALL SERVE ALL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta is a gorgeous, 348-room beachfront property ideally situated between mountains and the Pacific Ocean, featuring unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. One of only three AAA Four-Diamond hotels in the area, this stylish property boasts six restaurants offering tantalizing specialty cuisines, four bars and lounges with top shelf drinks, two large outdoor swimming pools, children’s pool, beach volleyball court, tennis court, Body Rock Fitness Center, unmatched music memorabilia, signature Rock Spa®, a Rock Shop and much more. The property additionally features 6,300 square feet of meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Palace Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Vallarta Palace Nuevo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.