We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% OFF + $1800 CREDIT
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hard Rock rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Hard Rock Vallarta and what an awesome experience. Everything from accommodations to food to entertainment especially sexy Ricky Ricuardo from the entertainment staff. Thanks Ivan for keeping us well hydrated and fed. The wood burning oven used for the individual pizza's was a special treat at lunch also. Loved the fact you didn't need reservations for the a la carte's. We used the free $1500.00 credits and enjoyed massages as well as the awesome special Romantic Steak & Lobster supper. Thanks for all the smiles and Hola's we received from the start of our vacation to the very end. Loved every bit and will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Tom-marlene R,

Yikes! Thank you much for sharing your Rock Star experience in this important forum and for selecting our stage to enjoy only as Rock Legends do.

It seems you really felt your spirit soar as you experienced the lifestyle of a Rock n’ Roll Star. We are very satisfied that everything was almost perfect during your entire vacation. Thanks as well for spotlighting our coworkers especially Ricky and Ivan; actually we have an incentive program for our coworkers that our guests kindly mention in their reviews, they will be very happy of the impression they left on you.

Not to mention our exquisite brick-oven style pizzas, unique Surf & Turf romantic dinner and advantageous Resort Credits promotion.

We are recharging batteries and rehearsing to pamper you as you deserve in the upcoming visit. The entire Crew will be for you with open arms.

Indulge your inner rocker!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    414
    122
    55
    35
See reviews for
566
720
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just came from 1 week at the Hard Rock Vallarta. My husband, myself and our 2 children (ages 3 and 5) The resort was not super busy and it was very relaxing. The pools are amazing and what's even more amazing is the staff! You do not feel pressure to tip, and they are all so very pleasant and accommodating. After a few days of getting to know us, one waiter (Mario) was bringing our 5 year old daughter chocolate covered strawberries for breakfast! The restaurants were amazing, especially the Italian and the Asian (Zen) and we never had to wait and our meals were served very quickly, especially the kids. There was a waterslide area for kids, and they have to be over 5 or over a certain height. Once we talked to them and showed them how well our 3 year old can do in the pool, he was able to go as well, but they are pretty strict with that area and constantly monitoring.

There is a small wading pool for kids as well, which is perfect for really litte ones (1-2 year olds)
Our only issues that we had were the beds - being 2 double beds in the room we had (Junior ocean view suite) because when one person moved, the other person can feel every movement. Our only change when we do come back to this resort is we will upgrade our room to include a King sized bed. The other issue was the Jacuzzi hot tubs outside were not hot. They were luke warm at best. I had read this in other reviews, so I was not shocked. It says no kids are allowed in the Jacuzzi tubs, but there were kids in them and nobody complained. The room we had was also a little small, but we got spoiled at our last resort because we had a double room so there was a lot more space for suitcases, etc. There was only room for clothes in 3 small drawers and the closet in the room, but if space is really important in your room, there are larger rooms available if you want to upgrade. For us, with small kids, we could have used more space, but the rooms were very nice, none-the-less.

The beach is very nice and people were going in the ocean a lot, despite signs to beware of jelly fish and sting-rays. There is a shopping mall 2 blocks away from the hotel and it has about 5 or 6 good souvenir shops in it. We went to the market in Bucerias and it was not worth our time! It was definitely "old" Mexico and very very dirty and smelly and the streets were wet with what appeared to be a mixture of water and urine. The streets had a lot of garbage and a lot of stray dogs running around. I would stick to the shopping mall, or if you want to venture farther away, cab it down to Puerto Vallarta.

There is a turtle plantation only a mere 5 minute walk down the beach where they do daily releases for kids to let the little hatchlings go into the water, but unfortunately when we went to do it, both days - there weren't any hatchlings so there was not a release.

The pool-side service was phoenominal, and the snack bar by the wading pool had hot dogs, quasadillas and a variety of salads and foods up top, including ice creams and all sorts of snacks. There was even a chef making fresh sushi to order every day and it was fantastic.

There is daily maid service and turn-down service, which is a huge bonus because you get your beds re-made and you get fresh towels. There are jacuzzi tubs in each hotel room and they are awesome!

You get $1500 in resort credits, which you can use for specific tours or you can use at the spa in the hotel. Just note: You have to pay 16% tax on all services, so it's not entirely free, but when you price things out, it's worth it. There was also no pressure to view the time share presentation. They asked us one time and we declined and they were not upset and did not ask us again.

There is a "ROCK SHOP" in the hotel with some great "HARD ROCK" stuff .. everything from T-shirts to shot glasses, to guitar picks, to trinkets. It's pricey, but that's to be expected. Also, they only take Peso's in the shop, or Credit Card. NO AMERICAN!

The gift shop takes all denominations, but don't count on buying too many goodies from there. The large bag of M & M's is $8!

To sum it up .. this is a FANTASTIC resort and the only resort we have ever been to that we said we would return to! We absolutely think it's great for all ages and whether you like Rock Music or not, it's such a great place to be. It's also very close to the Airport and was only a 10 minute cab ride.

Hope this review helps!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Jennifer A,

Yippee! It seems all of you had lots of fun during your visit to our resort; we want to thank you much for sharing your Hard Rock experience with us and with future travelers.

We are absolutely thrilled to know you had a terrific time and that you felt the Rock Star treatment from your arrival till your departure and that even the smallest ones experienced the celebrities lifestyle; as you mentioned we take very seriously the security of all our guests so we are happy to know that they enjoyed our water slide while being cared. Not to mention the top notch cuisine & snacks, efficient housekeeping service and overall wonderful service.
We have forwarded all your comments to our Management Team because we are always eager to listen to our Rock Stars suggestions and comments.

We hope too that future travelers find useful your sincere words in this review.

We are ready to roll out the red carpet and rock your upcoming vacation. The entire team will be waiting for you.

Let`s live it up!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our third time at this property. (formerly Vallarta Palace)
In the 2 weeks we observed Management & Staff and guests!!!
Conclusion: All Staff Members (too many to list) were absolutely fantastic.!!!!
We took down many names of all the restaurants, spa & entertainment facilities, but we might have forgotten a couple of staff members, therefore our salute goes to everybody.
The service, the food, the lodging... was as usual outstanding. We signed up as LEGENDARY MEMBERS.
Noticing that several guests were out of line...we agreed that if they are unhappy at home they are also unhappy on holidays and they will write not so nice comments.
We are aware of the Hotel transition and we will be patiently awaiting the reopening of the Theater outside.
Kudos to all of you! We will be back. You rocked our world!!!!!!
Rock and Roll on
adios amigos hasta luego!!!
Edith Hagell & Robert Swift

Room Tip: our secret :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hola Edith & Robert

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your Rock experience with us and with future Rockers and for selecting this stage to spend your vacations as music celebrities do. We must say that we cannot stress enough our satisfaction about the terrific experience and fabulous time you mention to have spent in our resort.

What is more, we are absolutely blissful to learn you joined our family as a new Member; you will have the top notch service that a true Rock Star deserves as you are accustomed.

It is very encouraging to know that you found our entire Rock Crew to be genuinely polite and accommodating. All of us really love our jobs and we are very passionate for the service. Thank you for notice it. Not to mention the assorted cuisine we offer as well as our iconic rooms and facilities.

We are eager to open the limo, roll out the red carpet and rock your next vacation at your home in Nuevo Vallarta. All your Hard Rock family will be waiting for you with open arms. Hasta la próxima amigos.

Keep the good times rolling!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are due to arrive at HRV on 1.26.13. So far it has not been a good experience and I am fearful of what we have gotten ourselves into. We are not new to Palace Resorts but this is our first since Hard Rock has taken over. 2 weeks prior to arrival I sent 2 separate e-mails (HRV posts their email address at the bottom of the home page on the HRV web site); the 1st was requesting information and the 2nd was regarding our room. One week passed and nothing. I sent a 3rd request. Nothing. 4 days later I called the "front desk" phone # and found I was reaching Miami and was told, "they could not help me with anything. I needed to talk to the resort directly." Puerta Vallarta web site - front desk #; what was I thinking!!!!
I was transfered to HRV and the operator sent me to the spa when I wanted tour info-the call was disconnected before I reached anyone. I called the "front desk" again and was reluctantly give the direct # to HRV before being transferred one more time. I made the long distance call and after 3-4 minutes of holding, my call was dropped.
Needless to say I am very frustrated at not being able to get the help I needed prior to arrival. I am very disappointed at the lack of customer care when HRV will most likely say they never received my emails; 1 maybe - but 3, I don't think so. Lastly, I am very afraid that our trip will disappoint. Based on earlier reviews and Mr Rojas responses, we decided to take a chance.
So far - not so good!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Michele H,

First and foremost please accept our heartfelt apologies for the delayed response to your review. I did not realize it was there or I do not know if it was posted immediately after you send it.

We sincerely regret to know that your experience during the reservation process was not at all what you expected. This is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our resort to our treasured Rock Stars; you may rest assured this was an unusual case because we always take care of our valued customers. Now we are taking special attention to the e-mail address you mentioned.

Please afford us an opportunity to listen to you and regain your confidence. I have sent you a private message with my e-mail address so you can reach us easily.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel for a week. We had such a great time. The staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. They had helped me plan a great surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend. Also, there are plenty of activities not only in the hotel but in the surrounding areas as well. We did swimming with the dolphins one day and a city tour the next day. The food is excellent and you can basically find anything you are in the mood to eat. Also, I highly recommend taking the wine tasting class they offer in the hotel. It is definitely worthwhile! We hope to be visiting Hard Rock hotel Vallarta soon again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Kasey,

Hurray! We are thrilled to hear from you. Thank you so much for sharing your Rock experience in this important forum.

We are absolutely blissful to learn you found our Rock Staff to be super friendly and willing to help. Even more that everything about the surprise for your boyfriend was in the right track. It seems you took advantage of a couple of tours of the several that we offer as well as the delicious wine tasting, just to mention something of the many possibilities that our treasured Rock Stars will find here.

Certainly we are ready to indulge your senses for your upcoming vacation to Nuevo Vallarta.

Expect the unexpected!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A wonderful vacation destination where the Hard Rock Hotel staff are excellent and very helpful with planning our days of golf and visits to the spa. The trip to San Sebastian Del Oeste was a cultural delight and most interesting. The Hard Rock Hotel has done a superior job on making our holiday special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hola john r,

Thank you for taking a moment for briefly share your experience at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta.
We are happy to know you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating and that you liked much the surrounding places in the area.

We will be pleased to pamper you again in your next trip to Nuevo Vallarta.

Live large!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We returned home from a wonderful family vacation at the Hard Rock Vallarta. We traveled from 1/5 -1/15/13. As a founding VIP member, we were very concerned about the split properties with Palace and Hard Rock. This was our first visit to PV and our first experience with Hard Rock. To our surprise, it exceeded our expectations. The staff was wonderful!!! Enrique welcomed us when we arrived, Issac at the front desk was very professional and greeted us daily, Oscar's daily smile I truly will miss, Elizabeth is such a great hostess, Ricardo and Mercedes kept me moving with morning aerobics, biking and all around fun! Israel the sushi chef is awesome, the best spicy tuna roll ever at poolside. Tito, Juan and Miguel our pool servers kept us hydrated and happy.

In past reviews, the Ipename restaurant was rated really low. In our experience, it was great. All the meats were tender and tasty. I would make a suggestion to possibly get rid of the salad bar and offer a menu of side dishes instead. Our servers Rudolfo and Mike were so nice and introduced us to our new favorite cocktail.. Caipirinha. Cheers!!

The Zen restaurant was equally yummy and our server Daniel took very good care of us! Best Mexican coffee and show !!

The Italian restaurant was so beautiful in that it sits right on the beach. Our meals here were hit and miss. One dinner was not really good, the meats and seafood were all over cooked, but on another night it was fine.

One evening they had a Mexican buffet and show. The Al Pastor was the best we have ever tasted!! but the Hawaiian night buffet, we thought was not very good.

As far as entertainment, our favorite was the evening they had a band play at poolside. They were great! also loved the popcorn.

When we were here, the noise factor was not a problem. We are concerned that if the resort was at full capacity the noise level for many of the rooms could be loud. We did speak with other guests that told us that the Hard Rock properties do need to make sure to keep the sound level comfortable for all guests.

There has been a lot of complaints about the bonus points. We do agree that paying the tax doesn't seem fair, especially for members. This is something new that we never had to pay for. We also feel that as members, we should be able to use more of the bonus money for the spa, especially if you are there 7-10 days and the resort is not at full capacity. It used to be that if you were a member there were things that members only received. For example, if you wanted the Concierge Level room, you had to become a member to book that, now you can use your bonus points to upgrade. We just feel that since we have paid a huge amount of money up front, that we should be treated a bit differently than someone who comes in on a travel deal. We do believe that Palace and Hard Rock need to re- evaluate member perks. Additionally, members were never contacted when the split happened.

With all that being said, we really do enjoy our vacations at the Palace/Hard Rock Resorts. Thank you to all the staff that made this such a memorable trip!

PS - Even though tips are not expected, please tip these wonderful people, they treat you so well and deserve it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi there Art B,

Glad to hear from you. Nothing rocks our world more than hearing a joyful Member. Thank you so much for sharing your most recent experience with us and future Hard Rockers.

It is thrilling to know that your concerns were beaten by the high-grade service provided. It seems you really experienced the lifestyle of a Rock n’ Roll Star.

Thanks as well for noticing the politeness and commitment of our Rock Staff, they are actually our brightest jewel, it is encouraging to know you learned their names because of their passion in their job; we will reward them for making your stay a very pleasant experience, they really appreciated your tips.

Not to mention you enjoyed a lot Ipanema and Zen. We will work very much to correct the areas where the service was not consistent. We appreciate your suggestions too; nonetheless we are very happy to know that you enjoyed yourselves.

With all due respect Mr. B, please allow me to inform you that the Resort Credit Promotion as any other promotion may be subject to change without notice, we are very sorry for any nuisance that the service fee may have caused you. You know very well that as a VIP member you will always receive a true Rock Star treatment as well as several other perks that regular members will not.

We are eager to receive you again, deck out the stage, open the curtain and rock your next vacation. The entire crew will be waiting for you and your family with open arms.

Keep the good times rolling!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta is a gorgeous, 348-room beachfront property ideally situated between mountains and the Pacific Ocean, featuring unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. One of only three AAA Four-Diamond hotels in the area, this stylish property boasts six restaurants offering tantalizing specialty cuisines, four bars and lounges with top shelf drinks, two large outdoor swimming pools, children’s pool, beach volleyball court, tennis court, Body Rock Fitness Center, unmatched music memorabilia, signature Rock Spa®, a Rock Shop and much more. The property additionally features 6,300 square feet of meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Palace Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Vallarta Palace Nuevo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.