We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% OFF + $1800 CREDIT
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better than at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our third time at this property. (formerly Vallarta Palace)
In the 2 weeks we observed Management & Staff and guests!!!
Conclusion: All Staff Members (too many to list) were absolutely fantastic.!!!!
We took down many names of all the restaurants, spa & entertainment facilities, but we might have forgotten a couple of staff members, therefore our salute goes to everybody.
The service, the food, the lodging... was as usual outstanding. We signed up as LEGENDARY MEMBERS.
Noticing that several guests were out of line...we agreed that if they are unhappy at home they are also unhappy on holidays and they will write not so nice comments.
We are aware of the Hotel transition and we will be patiently awaiting the reopening of the Theater outside.
Kudos to all of you! We will be back. You rocked our world!!!!!!
Rock and Roll on
adios amigos hasta luego!!!
Edith Hagell & Robert Swift

Room Tip: our secret :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hola Edith & Robert

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your Rock experience with us and with future Rockers and for selecting this stage to spend your vacations as music celebrities do. We must say that we cannot stress enough our satisfaction about the terrific experience and fabulous time you mention to have spent in our resort.

What is more, we are absolutely blissful to learn you joined our family as a new Member; you will have the top notch service that a true Rock Star deserves as you are accustomed.

It is very encouraging to know that you found our entire Rock Crew to be genuinely polite and accommodating. All of us really love our jobs and we are very passionate for the service. Thank you for notice it. Not to mention the assorted cuisine we offer as well as our iconic rooms and facilities.

We are eager to open the limo, roll out the red carpet and rock your next vacation at your home in Nuevo Vallarta. All your Hard Rock family will be waiting for you with open arms. Hasta la próxima amigos.

Keep the good times rolling!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    378
    116
    53
    33
See reviews for
541
658
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are due to arrive at HRV on 1.26.13. So far it has not been a good experience and I am fearful of what we have gotten ourselves into. We are not new to Palace Resorts but this is our first since Hard Rock has taken over. 2 weeks prior to arrival I sent 2 separate e-mails (HRV posts their email address at the bottom of the home page on the HRV web site); the 1st was requesting information and the 2nd was regarding our room. One week passed and nothing. I sent a 3rd request. Nothing. 4 days later I called the "front desk" phone # and found I was reaching Miami and was told, "they could not help me with anything. I needed to talk to the resort directly." Puerta Vallarta web site - front desk #; what was I thinking!!!!
I was transfered to HRV and the operator sent me to the spa when I wanted tour info-the call was disconnected before I reached anyone. I called the "front desk" again and was reluctantly give the direct # to HRV before being transferred one more time. I made the long distance call and after 3-4 minutes of holding, my call was dropped.
Needless to say I am very frustrated at not being able to get the help I needed prior to arrival. I am very disappointed at the lack of customer care when HRV will most likely say they never received my emails; 1 maybe - but 3, I don't think so. Lastly, I am very afraid that our trip will disappoint. Based on earlier reviews and Mr Rojas responses, we decided to take a chance.
So far - not so good!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Michele H,

First and foremost please accept our heartfelt apologies for the delayed response to your review. I did not realize it was there or I do not know if it was posted immediately after you send it.

We sincerely regret to know that your experience during the reservation process was not at all what you expected. This is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our resort to our treasured Rock Stars; you may rest assured this was an unusual case because we always take care of our valued customers. Now we are taking special attention to the e-mail address you mentioned.

Please afford us an opportunity to listen to you and regain your confidence. I have sent you a private message with my e-mail address so you can reach us easily.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel for a week. We had such a great time. The staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. They had helped me plan a great surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend. Also, there are plenty of activities not only in the hotel but in the surrounding areas as well. We did swimming with the dolphins one day and a city tour the next day. The food is excellent and you can basically find anything you are in the mood to eat. Also, I highly recommend taking the wine tasting class they offer in the hotel. It is definitely worthwhile! We hope to be visiting Hard Rock hotel Vallarta soon again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Kasey,

Hurray! We are thrilled to hear from you. Thank you so much for sharing your Rock experience in this important forum.

We are absolutely blissful to learn you found our Rock Staff to be super friendly and willing to help. Even more that everything about the surprise for your boyfriend was in the right track. It seems you took advantage of a couple of tours of the several that we offer as well as the delicious wine tasting, just to mention something of the many possibilities that our treasured Rock Stars will find here.

Certainly we are ready to indulge your senses for your upcoming vacation to Nuevo Vallarta.

Expect the unexpected!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A wonderful vacation destination where the Hard Rock Hotel staff are excellent and very helpful with planning our days of golf and visits to the spa. The trip to San Sebastian Del Oeste was a cultural delight and most interesting. The Hard Rock Hotel has done a superior job on making our holiday special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hola john r,

Thank you for taking a moment for briefly share your experience at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta.
We are happy to know you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating and that you liked much the surrounding places in the area.

We will be pleased to pamper you again in your next trip to Nuevo Vallarta.

Live large!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We returned home from a wonderful family vacation at the Hard Rock Vallarta. We traveled from 1/5 -1/15/13. As a founding VIP member, we were very concerned about the split properties with Palace and Hard Rock. This was our first visit to PV and our first experience with Hard Rock. To our surprise, it exceeded our expectations. The staff was wonderful!!! Enrique welcomed us when we arrived, Issac at the front desk was very professional and greeted us daily, Oscar's daily smile I truly will miss, Elizabeth is such a great hostess, Ricardo and Mercedes kept me moving with morning aerobics, biking and all around fun! Israel the sushi chef is awesome, the best spicy tuna roll ever at poolside. Tito, Juan and Miguel our pool servers kept us hydrated and happy.

In past reviews, the Ipename restaurant was rated really low. In our experience, it was great. All the meats were tender and tasty. I would make a suggestion to possibly get rid of the salad bar and offer a menu of side dishes instead. Our servers Rudolfo and Mike were so nice and introduced us to our new favorite cocktail.. Caipirinha. Cheers!!

The Zen restaurant was equally yummy and our server Daniel took very good care of us! Best Mexican coffee and show !!

The Italian restaurant was so beautiful in that it sits right on the beach. Our meals here were hit and miss. One dinner was not really good, the meats and seafood were all over cooked, but on another night it was fine.

One evening they had a Mexican buffet and show. The Al Pastor was the best we have ever tasted!! but the Hawaiian night buffet, we thought was not very good.

As far as entertainment, our favorite was the evening they had a band play at poolside. They were great! also loved the popcorn.

When we were here, the noise factor was not a problem. We are concerned that if the resort was at full capacity the noise level for many of the rooms could be loud. We did speak with other guests that told us that the Hard Rock properties do need to make sure to keep the sound level comfortable for all guests.

There has been a lot of complaints about the bonus points. We do agree that paying the tax doesn't seem fair, especially for members. This is something new that we never had to pay for. We also feel that as members, we should be able to use more of the bonus money for the spa, especially if you are there 7-10 days and the resort is not at full capacity. It used to be that if you were a member there were things that members only received. For example, if you wanted the Concierge Level room, you had to become a member to book that, now you can use your bonus points to upgrade. We just feel that since we have paid a huge amount of money up front, that we should be treated a bit differently than someone who comes in on a travel deal. We do believe that Palace and Hard Rock need to re- evaluate member perks. Additionally, members were never contacted when the split happened.

With all that being said, we really do enjoy our vacations at the Palace/Hard Rock Resorts. Thank you to all the staff that made this such a memorable trip!

PS - Even though tips are not expected, please tip these wonderful people, they treat you so well and deserve it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi there Art B,

Glad to hear from you. Nothing rocks our world more than hearing a joyful Member. Thank you so much for sharing your most recent experience with us and future Hard Rockers.

It is thrilling to know that your concerns were beaten by the high-grade service provided. It seems you really experienced the lifestyle of a Rock n’ Roll Star.

Thanks as well for noticing the politeness and commitment of our Rock Staff, they are actually our brightest jewel, it is encouraging to know you learned their names because of their passion in their job; we will reward them for making your stay a very pleasant experience, they really appreciated your tips.

Not to mention you enjoyed a lot Ipanema and Zen. We will work very much to correct the areas where the service was not consistent. We appreciate your suggestions too; nonetheless we are very happy to know that you enjoyed yourselves.

With all due respect Mr. B, please allow me to inform you that the Resort Credit Promotion as any other promotion may be subject to change without notice, we are very sorry for any nuisance that the service fee may have caused you. You know very well that as a VIP member you will always receive a true Rock Star treatment as well as several other perks that regular members will not.

We are eager to receive you again, deck out the stage, open the curtain and rock your next vacation. The entire crew will be waiting for you and your family with open arms.

Keep the good times rolling!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went to the Hard Rock for a family vacation Dec. 28th to Jan 4th. Our kids are a 15 year old girl and a 17 year old son. We couldn't have wanted for anything while we were there. The rooms were always stocked well and the waiting staff, room service, bartender, spa were great. We did find the desk staff not as helpful or pleasant.
Our biggest problem is that we feel that the $1500 in credit was very misrepresented. This was a part of the final decision in us picking this resort. Beings we had basically 4 adults to pay for when doing adventures we thought this sounded good. But once you get there they give you only certain adventures to pick from, only so much you can spend at spa (which basically most things were more expensive then what you could spend), upgrade of wine and lobster was on the list we were never offered this. Now they tell you also oh you have to pay 16% taxes on all. (For example: we went to the spa to use some spa credits so the bill at the spa was around $280.00 so when we left we had to pay $42:00 of taxes, if you wanted a lobster tail and to use your credits it was $50.00 for the credits but you had to pay $8.00 in taxes. It was such a joke we used $280.00 of the $1500.00. On the site it also said use at the Hard Rock store, oh we couldn't use it at this site. It was nice, but we have had better times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Pam B,

Thank you so much for choosing our heavenly resort to spend your Rock vacations and for sharing your experience with us and other future Hard Rockers.

We are satisfied to know you liked much our beautiful facilities and smashing service except for the desk staff, we will re train our desk teams before the performance.

We are very sorry to know that you perceived our Resort Credits Promotion as distorted. Very respectfully allow me to share with you some great features regarding this theme. Our resort is very proud to have such a Promotion, it is stated and advertised like a great bonus that you can get in addition to the All Inclusive Stuff, very briefly allow me to summarize some of the exclusive products and services where you are able to apply your resort credits; golfing, excursions, weddings, room upgrades, special diners, wine upgrades, rock shots, spa, beauty salon, and take away exclusive products.

Certainly it has some terms and conditions as any other promotion and it is necessary setting and controlling certain amounts and limits in order to not saturate any activity. The 16% that you’ve got to pay is a service fee that applies to the products and services acquired with this promotion only, which is a great deal compared with the full amount that you would pay for these spots. I would kindly invite you to surf on our official website or contact us for further information.

We really would like to change the bittersweet experience you had this time. We hope you will give us the opportunity to roll out the red carpet for you and show you our remarkable improvements.

Keep the good memories!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from the Hard Rock Puerta Vallarta. This property was previously known as the Vallarta Palace which I can accurately guess was not more than a 3 star hotel because even after renovations it still lacks plenty of what Hard Rock promises will be rock star fantasies. To begin with, on arriving there was one bell man, no vallet parking and no welcome towel or drinks common in most upscale resorts. The lobby, although large had one,maybe two small plants which in a tropical area made this resort seem bare and almost boring.

The room made me feel like I just checked into a budget inn when in the bathroom I saw the mirror had pieces around its edges missing. And I was not ammused with the window which is unlocked and allows people in your room to see you sit on the toilet!

I tried my best to make myself comfortable begining the next morning at the buffet. I'll describe the coffee as sub Subway when Subway has stale coffee. The display of foods made you feel that either food is scarce or the resort is under strict budget constraints. But as much as I tried to overlook the buffet I just couldn't when re-heated day old food showed up looking week old. Utensils were not available to take the foods you chose, I had to ask twice for utensils and then two were made available for five differernt foods.

What's good: The best part of the hotel is the front desk staff, concierge, bar staff (outside and inside) and the fabulous Oriental Restaurant. I tried the Oriental restaurant on my third day and that made up for almost everything else; the service, food and manger were outstanding!

What not to try: The buffet and Italian restaurants. My son commented that Stouffers fronzen is better and I felt the service was mediocre at best.

Shows: One very brief show daily, nothing to talk about

What's not so true: I was told the room credit we received was $500 per room. I paid for two rooms but could not combine the credits and even worse,discovered that I could only apply $100 towards the spa services, not as much as I wanted to. The tours are limted to a few which you can apply the credits to, the prices are souped-up and you need to pay a 16% fee for as much credit as you use.

Overall rating: I rate this an O.K. 3.5 Star resort and I have been to many resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoRoja, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear mrland1,

We thank you so much for sharing your opinion about your last visit to our resort. We strongly believe that communication is the best way to improve hence we spare no effort in ensuring that every voice is attended.

We are saddened to know you did not enjoy completely your visit this time. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay; this is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our resort to our valued Rock Stars. It is our obligation to make our customers feel as they deserve and this is why we regret that you did not feel our smashing service and our Rock Star treatment which is customary to our guests.

We actually urge all of our guests should they experience any inconvenience during their vacation to immediately bring this up to our attention in order to do the proper follow up.

We regret to learn that the food at some of our restaurants did not fulfill your expectations, please be informed that we are continuously revamping our menus and dishes of each of our different restaurants, snacks and in-room dining, as well we are proud to claim we use fresh and first quality products some of them with importation quality nevertheless your comments are being shared with our Executive Chef and our Food & Beverages Manager to take the necessary steps to enrich our gastronomic offer.

As a matter of fact and very respectfully allow me to clarify that the Resort Credits Promotion as any other promotion has some terms and conditions, and since the Rock Spa is one of the most popular spots, we need to set some limits on the amount per room. In addition to that the allowable amounts of Resort Credits for every activity depends on the number of nights and the rate under which you are traveling. We invite you to surf on our official website for further information.

Thank you for mentioning the areas that escaped, such as Zen’s, waiters in the bars, Front Desk & Concierge Teams. We will acknowledge their big effort.

We genuinely would like to change the perception you had this time and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance so we can arrange something very special for you and your family.

Take time to be kind!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros 19 - Villa 8 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#3 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta is a gorgeous, 348-room beachfront property ideally situated between mountains and the Pacific Ocean, featuring unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. One of only three AAA Four-Diamond hotels in the area, this stylish property boasts six restaurants offering tantalizing specialty cuisines, four bars and lounges with top shelf drinks, two large outdoor swimming pools, children’s pool, beach volleyball court, tennis court, Body Rock Fitness Center, unmatched music memorabilia, signature Rock Spa®, a Rock Shop and much more. The property additionally features 6,300 square feet of meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Palace Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Vallarta Palace Nuevo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.