We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too big for us but nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too big for us but nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our trip was Dec 22-29 which we booked on the resorts website three months in advance - we are not time share owners although my wife is a manager at a resort in Cabo San Lucas where we live (for now). We got a seven night special - Studio (just two of us) for $ 1,062 including tax. Whether it was that my wife called the manager to say we wanted a nice room or not, we ended up in the building in front of the pool, on the third floor facing the pool, palm trees and ocean.

I'll say that the check in for those who are not time share owners is terrible. It is a large, ugly desk that seems to have been placed against a far wall as an after thought. I suspect it is only part of the game to make you want to become an owner where they have a beautiful alcove and several attendants ready to fawn all over you ( at least that is how it looked from afar) - at the time we wanted to check-in, the line was long and it takes 20 -30 minutes per, there were only two people working the desk and it certainly could have been better organized to make us feel more welcome. I will say this however that when we reached our spot, the check-in folks were very polite and answered all our questions.

As for our room, it was clean and fresh and for us who planned to eat out all meals except a light breakfast which we had in the room, the kitchen has fine and had all that we needed. IF we had planned to cook, I may had requested some additional hardware but still, for a room intended for two people it was more than adequate. Our maid keep it up nicely, even though it may had been around 5 pm each day before she arrived to do her work (not enough staff she told us). Once she left us only one bath towel but a call to housekeeping and within 10 minutes, three more arrived. I guess it is standard that all hotel mattresses are firm to hard - same here. Pillows were over stuffed as well. We had as I said a third floor room, in the building to the right of the main one, facing the adult pool and ocean. As someone else had noted, unless you get up high, the palm trees are right in your face. We can't complain about noise for by the time we left our room around 830 it was quiet and again about 10 pm the restaurant was closed so we could leave our porch doors open all night with no disturbance.

As we were there to meet family for a reunion (they were staying elsewhere) we only ate one meal at the resort which I thought might be a good idea for the Christmas buffet as the menu board looked inviting - $50 us per adult, 25 under 11. Only water, punch and egg nog were included (didn't notice that on the advertisement) later we discovered which we were not too happy about. The offerings were diverse and as good as one might expect for a buffet line where children run wild. We would not do that again. I will however highly recommend the following places for dinner - La Laguna (went twice it was so very good), Ernesto's are our two favorite picks. Both are very near the resort.

We are not pool people, and as you would expect, the chairs are all covered with towels long before the sun comes up which management claims is not allowed. When you walk by the 'family pool' it is like being in a Chucky Cheese - children screaming and way, way too many people crammed around it. On the beach, there must had been two hundred palapas or more, all packed. What was disturbing was all the trash that the vacationers left lying in the sand. I will say this, the beaches are wide, clean and hard so running and walking are easy. The water however is not so nice as it is shallow and the surf stirs up the sand and it has a muddy appearance.

All in all, our stay was fine, we had no problems with our room, only had one meal on property and really only were there to sleep, shower and change so the room was all we really needed. We would not however go back. It's one of those mega resorts which is just way too big to offer any type of a romantic experience or to enjoy any feeling of privacy since every deck overlooks the ones next to it. I guess if you have a brood of children, maybe this might be OK for you.

I did like the location though, NV is beautiful, tropical, clean and safe. We walked all over and never once felt threatened. The grocery store nearby was well supplied, though somewhat expense for large purchase, but the bus stopped right there that would take you downtown for 13 pesos to PV or the Walmart parking lot. The buses are fine as long as you look on your return trip for it to say Neuvo Vallarta on the window, just because it says 'hotel' does not mean it may be going to the one you want and the drivers usually respond "si" to anything you ask.

Room Tip: If in any of the towers, request above the forth floor because of the palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    428
    151
    96
    84
See reviews for
524
346
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here December 23-January 1, all inclusive. This is the 4th resort in Mexico we have stayed. We had a good experience with some problems and want to give a fair and balanced review:

The hotel was very clean everywhere and the maid service was excellent (thank you Alma!). We had a two bedroom suite in the Coba building. This is not the main building and it is about 200-300M from the main building where the restaurants, pool and beach are located. The good part of this building is that it is a bit quieter and it is right in front of the gym/ spa. We thought this was worth it as we prefer a quieter building. Our unit also had a washer/ dryer which was a happy surprise. There is pay laundry in each building as well.

The buffet food was average and about the same as all the resorts we have been at, however, if you go to the regular restaurants, the food was very good. We are not very picky when we are on vacation so there was a good variety, but the buffet was alot of repeating dishes. Lots of choices makes it easy to feed children. The wait staff was excellent! Poolside, Sergio took great care of us.

The pool was great. Like all the resorts, alot of people put their towels on chairs to reserve them early in the morning. Tip your waiter well and they will save a chair for you each morning ;) The beach was also very clean. Water is too clouded to do snorkelling off the beach. The activities staff provides activities throughout the day if you are interested. We were disappointed in the "Kids Club" activities. The staff were very nice. The activities at the kids club consisted of drawing, XBox, arts & crafts, board games and face painting. We were disappointed that they did not do any outside activities as we experienced at other resorts. We only had the kids go one day and they were a bit bored.

Finally, our biggest problems were with the concierge and accounting. We requested if the concierge could arrange for transportation from the airport before our arrival. They arranged for Sr. Carlos Maldonado VIP service at the cost of $120 USD round trip. He met us at the airport and delivered us to the hotel. He took our return flight information and told us what time he would pick us up at the hotel. He never came to pick us up. We asked the concierge to call adn when hey did he said he was on his way. Then the bell person told us he called 2 minutes later and said he isnt coming. They put us in a 200 pesos cab and told us the hotel is paying for it. I emailed Mr. Maldonado without reply. I emailed the concierge and they arranged for Mr. Maldonado to return $60USD via western union, which was appreciated.

Two other issues witht he concierge. We asked for an offsite restaurant recommendation and they said they did not have any. Some other travellers we met recommended El Dinamite and we loved it and recommend it. If you are looking for a great restaurant close by. It is about 2 miles away (35 pesos by taxi).

On New Years Eve, the hotel had a NYE party for additional money as it was not included with the all inclusive. Since it didnt start until 8pm and we werent interested anyway, we asked the concierge what other dining options were available with our all includive for NYE. They told us to go to Il Pescatore which is on the property. After the $120USD bill came, we found that it was not included. The concierge & manager refused to adjust our bill when we discussed it with them.

We were also travelling with another family and often sat together for meals. When the bills were commbined, they could not figure out how to split a tip between the two rooms although they required each of us to sign the bill with the room number. This created quite a few headaches when we discovered this upon checkout. We had to settle this between the two families with cash as the accounting people couldnt figure out how to do this.

Overall it is a very good hotel, clean, good food, good service. Do not count on any assistance from the concierge staff for anything and hope you have no problems during your stay.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings at the resort. Two are located near the resaurants, pool, and beach but has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I took my family to Paradise Village December 27th - January 4th - 2013. We invested more than $1000 per day for a 2 bed superior suite and all inclusive. In general, the food that was provided was good and we had a range of service experiences...mostly good.

The room was fine and we had no complaints with the maid service.

Unfortunately, the check-in and check-out experience was awful and it exemplifies the fact that the accountants are running the resort and sacrificing small concessions that would greatly enhance the experience and create repeat customers. Their penny pinching and general unwillingness to create a great customer experience resulted in our family seeking a new resort the next time we travel to Nueva Vallarta.

At check-in we discovered that the advertised 9 restaurants in Paradise Village are not covered in the all inclusive package. It is only the 2 restaurants at the hotel, the hotel lobby bar and 2 beach side snack bars. The food was quality, but the selection was not what we were let to believe. Room service is not included in the all-inclusive package and they exclude their onsite ice cream stand. Really????

Needless to say, we were disappointed and frustrated after our interaction at the front desk and then became completely irritated when they checked us into a 2nd floor room looking at a driveway. For $1000 a day we expected an ocean view. They reconsidered and moved us to an "ocean view" room on the 3rd floor. Better described as a "palm tree" view room. They finally moved us a third time to a 6th floor room with a great ocean view room. We wasted 2 hours in the process and were thoroughly aggravated that they didn't check us in this room initially. Who were they saving it for???

We enjoyed our time in Nueva Vallarta and used the opportunity to enjoy massages at the spa by applying our $200 resort credit. The spa assured us this would be honored along with the 30% discount on the specials we reserved. At check-out we discovered this was all untrue and they would not honor the credit. Again, it was clear the accountants were running the place and neither profit center would budge.... So they chose to fight this to the bitter end and never gave us any of the resort credit, despite spending $9000 with the resort and more than $300 with the spa. Again...Really????

It's too bad....the experience could be great if they focused on creating satisfied profitable customers that would love to return. Instead their persistence in "nickeling and dimeing" you to satisfy the accountants, results in dissatisfied customers that have many choices of quality resorts to choose from up and down the beach.

Room Tip: High floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Way overcrowded! Bad, expensive food! Dirty pools! Terrible rooms! Bad service! Dire need of maintenance – the rooms ,the resort, everything! This is just a timeshare scam…and a bad one at that! People posting good things here are duped timeshare owners trying to salvage some of their investment…don’t believe them!

We stayed in a “modern tower” Uxmal…room 1102 (2 BR superior, ocean/pool facing). Ha! Ha! People posting good things here are duped timeshare owners trying to salvage some of their investment…don’t believe them!

I have nothing whatsoever nice to say! Well maybe the beach in front…read on.

Day 0:
Neither of the 2 TV remotes worked. Had to call 3 times…the repair man came each time but each remote kept “not working”. The TV is fuzzy and unfocused.


Day 1:
Dirty water came into one bathroom….apparently if too many folks take a shower at the same time the ground floor room leaks shower/sewer/dirty water….the old Superbowl myth of too many people flushing at the same time.
They took the most of the day to fix it.


Day 2:
Noticed a stink from under the refrigerator….told the maid and she pretended not to understand. Anyway, we took it as that is the way it is. The kitchen is very, very small and is not very usable.


Day 3:
First sighting of a big (daddy? mommy?) cockroach. We killed it.


Day 4:
Second sighting of two small (kiddos?) cockroaches. We killed them both.


Day 5:
The maid did not clean our room. On asking her why, she said and I quote” my key can’t open the door….the door is not working properly”. Huh? Your door! Your master key! Your property! Went with her to the concierge in Uxmal (the concierge spoke English/Spanish well) and the maid agreed to make the key work next time!

Note: it is true that we had to try the card key 3-4 times to make it work….but we just felt that this is the way it is (the tv, the kitchen, the bathroom etc….this is the standard here) and didn’t care much.


Day 6:
A little yellow house lizard (gecko) was potted in the kitchen. Chased it out.


Day 7:
We left…..best day of our vacation!

And just to give you an idea of the fellow travelers --- this place attracts a lot of “largish Americans” who smoke…and litter on the beach (you should have seen it to believe it). If you are part of this crowd this place is perfect for you.

Is there anything good?

The beach (ocean and sand) in front of the hotel and in the area are nice…..there way too many chairs and people though right in front of this hotel.


Again, we stayed in a “modern tower” Uxmal…room 1102 (2 BR superior, ocean/pool facing).Ha! Ha! People posting good things here are duped timeshare owners trying to salvage some of their investment…don’t believe them!

Room Tip: Avoid the place unless you are already stuck with a timeshare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the week before Christmas with our 3 year old and 14 month old. We were joined by our parents. We chose this resort because it had adjoining rooms with a huge terrace and kitchen, giving us tons of space for the kids. The room was exactly what we were hoping for, spacious and very clean.

The beach was incredible for little kids. Shallow with gentle waves and a lot of space for playing. Great waves for boogie boarding too. The pools were also great for the whole family. There is a kids pool that is warm with a big shallow end and two big water slides for big kids (aka us!). There is also an adult pool, but it has tons of kids in it. This is not the resort for a romantic getaway!

Our kids loved the 2 playgrounds, which were pretty basic.

Unfortunately there are some general problems with service. If you are going to an a la carte or lounging around the pool the service seemed ok. But if you are like us and on the move with the kids and doing the buffets it wasn't very good. We would sit forever before getting coffee at breakfast, finding an apple juice was almost impossible, and forget about a drink by the pool if you weren't able to sit for 30 minutes waiting. They seem to have some kind of rule that you can't order straight from the bar midday and only from a server cause I would stand there with my kids forever and they would avoid me like the plague.

The food was pretty good, didn't knock your socks off, other than the guacamole which was incredible!

The service was the only noteworthy problem. It was annoying but we would go back in a heartbeat for the beach!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We first stayed at the Samba Bonita and it was so scary we moved to the Paradise Village. This hotel has been fabulous for the price. Yes, there are better hotels but you pay a much higher price. Love the safe feeling you get with the guards in the front entrance. Love the little mall with the grocery store so close and love the fact there is a dr on site. My husband got really sick our first trip to Mexico and ended up in the hospital. He was very well cared for, A couple of years later I became sick and knew enough not to wait and went to the dr office for his "shot" and got over being sick in a couple of days. Everyone is so nice and accommodating. We feel at home and love the choice of pools and ocean. The only reason I give this only 4 stars is the pillows. We go to Costco and purchase pillows. The hotels are so hard and uncomfortable. The food is yummy everywhere on premises. We have never had a bad meal in the 8 years we have been going to Paradise Village. This hotel is very family friendly although we are older and can do without the children in the pool area. Everything is so very clean and if you have a problem they respond right away. Everything you need is on premises. You don't have to venture away from the hotel if you don't want to. We do go to PV town 1-2 times during our 2 week stay. We go every year and have no desire to go anywhere else. We love the animals too. We have stayed in every tower and in the back at the Marina. There is no bad room at all, at least what we can see. I saw no rooms anywhere that only had windows facing the inside. The views are the Marina, Ocean or Garden. All are lovely although we love the Marina the best.

Room Tip: We love to be on the highest floor for the view. The rooms facing the ocean gets really hot on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked through our time share exchange for a two week vacation and we were pleasantly surprised with our 1 bedroom condo with full kitchen and the Paradise Village resort. Only a 20 minute cab ride from Puerto Vallarta airport and before you reach the resort you go through two security gates. The property is right on the very large and beautiful beach and has 3 swimming pools, one for children and many palapas available on the beach. Three excellent restaurants along with a lobby bar and two palapas bars with snack food available. Every night there is a theme night ie: western theme, mexican theme, shrimp festival , fantastic brunch on Sundays at the beautiful golf course. A welcome night for new guests every sunday. From Airport to resort , the taxi was $25, but we were told later that we should have only paid $20. From the resort back to airport it was $15 . Brough my laptop and plugged into free wi-fi service.
There are free kyacks to use and lots of walkways throughout this large property. At the end of the property there is small mall including a pharmacy, grocery market and shopping......extremely handy!
We are planning our return trip.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny but only available to resort members as well as the full ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Paseo de los Cocoteros #1 | Bahia de Banderas, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your Paradise! Elegantly situated in the heart of Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit, located within its own peninsula all set against a spectacular tropical backdrop, Paradise Village Resort and Spa is an all inclusive and European plan all-suite designer accommodations beachfront hotel, is a five star development that offers a gorgeous beach! Just 15 minutes away from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Village Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Beach Hotel
Paradise Village Nuevo Vallarta
Paradise Village Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Village Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;