We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I traveled alone to this resort and felt very safe there. This is a beautiful resort with very friendly and efficient staff. I felt a little pressured upon my arrival after traveling over 11 hours by someone who probably wanted to sell me a time share but that soon dissipated by hotel staff who informed me my room was ready. My only complaint is that the hotel room walls are very thin and I could hear everyone speaking, children crying and noisy people at all hours of the night. The rest of my stay was great!

Room Tip: I actually don't know how to choose - the rooms on my floor have very thin walls - very noisy pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    463
    163
    51
    45
See reviews for
403
603
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Great family vacation spot. Nice hotel. Pool, kids club, nightly entertainment were all great. Hotel is right on the beach. Beach is clean and ocean is swimmable. Large selection of quality food and great service (ask for Oscar Rodriguez for excellent service)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We arrived July 6 and stayed until July 13. We didn't know what to expect, it was our first all inclusive, and thank goodness we were pleasantly surprised. We're already thinking of going back in December. We loved it, the service, the beach, the bartenders in the lounges, to the servers on the beach, (Daniel is wonderful) even the environment convinced us we made a great choice choosing the Occidental Grand Nuevo, We were hesitant at first but they've converted us for sure.

Instead we won't hesitate at all, we can hardly wait to go back and visit again...really soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL MANAGER O, Gerente at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Traveller021961

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your review of your stay.

We are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations. We already share you comment with Daniel, thank you.

Looking forward to welcoming you in December.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at the occidental from July 12th-19th. We were very pleased with the size of the resort. It took no longer than two minutes to get anywhere on the resort from our room. Our room was on ground level with a small patio just off the theater. It was loud from 9 till 10 with the shows every night but after about 10:30 things got quiet. The room itself was nice and clean with no musty smell. Air conditioning worked too well to my liking so I was glad to be able to open the patio door. Maid service was great and the room was always cleaned before lunch. Pools are nice especially the adult pool. The beach was beautiful, big and clean with lots of lounge chairs and huts for shade.The ocean was warm like a bath tub. The food was the usual all inclusive resort food. The Mexican restaurant was quite disappointing. I cannot comment on the Italian as we cancelled our reservation to go off the resort to a great restaurant we discover a short distance away. There are lots of daily activities if one wants to participate. They have a "spa" but hopefully it will be moved into a better spot. I must say I had one of the best massages ever there though. The staff are all very nice and hard working and take time to chat. We had great service at the beach bar from Daniel Ramirez and Xavier from the buffet. There was some renos going on while we were there and I'd like to go back next year to see them completed. Would I go again? In a heart beat! Is it a five star? No, but it's at least a 4 or 41/2 and had everything we needed and more.

Room Tip: Rooms with patios are nice just avoid the theater side if you like quiet in the early evening. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Today is our first day at Occidental Grand Nuevo. Our room is so darn hot, we have had to walk across the street to the mini mall for cold air. We have complained numerous times and have been rest assured that the air is working. We have even paod extra for the Royal Jr. Suite. The room is beautiful, the hotel decor is beautiful on the inside, but with no cold air it just ruins the whole experience. At this point, I would most definitely never come back here nor would I consider a time share. I really hope something changes in the next 4 days I am here. The staff is super nice and seems willing to help, but I don't see how I am going to sleep with little to no air. -very disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL MANAGER O, Manager at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear slcrawford,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Grand Nuevo Vallarta, also thank you for your kind words about our team.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experience due to the lack of air conditioned, we are sorry to read that your time with us wasn't pleasant completely; our maintenance team has been working and corrected this point.

We hope you give us an opportunity to welcome you to enjoy our improvements in a near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family of four were looking for an affordable all-inclusive holiday someplace warm and we ended up choosing the Occidental in Nuevo Vallarta based on the price, the pictures, and the reviews on Trip Advisor.

The accomodations were very nice, everything was a quick walk.

Meals were varied and excellent. We had a choice of a buffet that had no waits with a lot of seating. The buffet served breakfast/lunch/dinner and the selections would be changed up each day. There was also a beach side restaurant where we could order off of a menu. We were given the option of eating once at a Mexican restaurant, and once at an Italian. Formal wear for the men meant pants and shoes but the Risotto at the Italian place made it worth it.

The pools were nice, and it was great that there was an adult pool aside from the family pool. I really would have enjoyed music at the adult pool but other than that it was perfect. Without a swim up bar or food service, it mean a nice clean area that was well maintained.

The staff at the Occidental was what made the stay go from a 4/5 to a 5/5. Everyone was so fantastic, it is hard to remember everyone. However, Ricardo at the hotel bar, Benjamin at the beach bar, and Daniel at the pools went the extra mile (or in Canada the extra Kilometer) to make our experience an eventful and pleasurable one.

If I go back to Nuevo Vallarta, I would definitely stay at the Occidental again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I went to Nuevo Vallarta for our honeymoon and stayed at the Occidental Grand! It was a great experience. Room was comfortable, food was delicious, activities were great! There are attractions and even a mall within walking distance. We highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: higher floors have greater ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.