We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY FALL SAVINGS!
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I just returned from a "girls trip" with a friend and our daughters. We booked a week at this all inclusive through Costco. It was our first experience with an all inclusive and it was nice to have a package with absolutely everything we needed all paid for in advance...air, airport transfers, room, food and drinks.
ARRIVAL - All the literature we received from Costco prior to departure warned repeatedly about the aggressive time-share salesmen we would encounter at the airport, so we were ready to avoid them while looking for our transportation from airport to hotel. However, what was unexpected was phase two of aggressive sales which came from the hotel itself. When checking in we were told our rooms weren't quite ready and were diverted to a hotel associate to get information about the resort, i.e. the restaurants on property, map, etc. which quickly devolved into a strong "invitation" to a 90 minute presentation regarding other Occidental properties and the sales of various activity packages. After a day of traveling, and adjusting to the heat, all we wanted to do was get checked in and get our kids to the beach, Not deal with pressure sales. Once we made clear we weren't interested we pulled away from the sales agent and got our keys, the friendly, attentive bellman got our bags right up to our rooms.
THE ROOMS are exactly as shown in the photos... bright, modern and clean although showing a bit of wear. The a/c is ice cold which was a benefit given the heat in July. The mini fridge held numerous bottled waters, two sodas and two beers which were replenished daily. The small room safe was convenient and easy to operate. The view from the room looks over the pool area and out over the ocean. It's my understanding that all rooms have basically the same view due to the configuration of the hotel building. There aren't balconies...however, with the heat and humidity, I can't imagine having spent anytime out there if there had been. You want to keep the cold in!
THE WATER - It's worth mentioning that all the water and ice are safe for consumption...no worries brushing teeth, etc.
THE PROPERTY - I was afraid that the hotel and property would be massive and therefore a bit of a pain to walk from restaurant to room, to pool, to beach, etc. However, it is not a huge place and everything is relatively close and getting up to the room is quick and the elevators are centrally located. 3 pools, one secluded, beautiful adult only pool and a kiddie pool and family pool are at the center of the property. There is an ample amount of lounge chairs and clean towels available at the pools. There is a small shop with sunscreen, a few medicines, gifts, snacks.
ACTIVITIES - There seemed to be several opportunities for exercise and pool games, but we only did the water aerobics at the adult pool with Ady. She was fun and energetic and is a great asset to this organization! The gym is small but has two treadmills, two elipticals, some free weights and a universal machine. It could use some more windows or distractions, but got the job done.
FOOD - There are several ways to eat at the hotel and all were more than satisfactory. Le Buffet is the largest facility, feeding the bulk of the guests for 3 meals a day. The selection is enormous and our group of 7 could easily find something to make everyone happy. Reservations need to be made for the other two restaurants for dinners, one with Mexican food and the other more formal venue serving Italian food. There is also a snack bar which was open a bit before, during and after lunch so you can eat a limited buffet or quick service burgers, tacos, etc. I need to acknowledge our waiters Juan and Erik who took great care of us at Le Buffet all week. All the wait staff are outstanding.
DRINKS - Two bars serve the lobby lounge and the beach pool areas. The bartenders and servers were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, especially considering the huge amount of smoothies and sodas that our small herd of children ordered! Carlos Flores and Ernesto were busy but always smiling, funny and kind. Our new best friend, Super Dan (Daniel Ramirez) was so attentive while serving drinks at the beach bar. Excellent service while also so witty and fun!
THE BEACH - Palapas and lounges are on the beach, first come, first serve, so you need to stake your claim early, but there are many available. There were body boards and kayaks available for use at the beach. The ocean water is very user friendly, staying shallow for quite a way out. There was a couple strong rip currents that popped up during the week and few "lifeguards" so you need to be alert and aware of your abilities.
CHECK OUT was smooth and easy, our bags were held from checkout time until it was time for us to leave to airport.
INTERNET - Unless you are very patient and absolutely have to have internet service, I would advise against purchasing the internet wifi. It is 10.00 per day or 30.00 for 5 days, however it faded in and out and trying to get days refunded through the company was a pain. Guest Services tried to facilitate communication between us and the internet company but in the end the refund wasn't very satisfactory. There is a small mall with a Starbucks just 5 minutes walk from the hotel where wifi is available, user and password printed on your receipt.
I would describe the staff at Occidental Grand to be the cream of the crop. Across the board, from housekeeping all the way up, the young people who we encountered all spoke great, I mean GREAT English, were super eager to meet all of our needs and run a very tight ship. We were extremely impressed. We came to an all inclusive for the ease and got so much more than we imagined. Outside of the initial hard sales and the spotty wifi and some ridiculous (even after 1:30am) noise from a large group in the lobby for two of our nights, we only have great things to say about our stay.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 443, 444 and 445. They all had great views and were easy access to elevators. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    367
    135
    40
    38
See reviews for
340
484
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall the property was just "average" as there were a lot of upgrades that needed to be done, the cuisine left much to be desired, and the rooms were okay at best (unless you're an upgraded member).

We wanted to do a number of activities and we opted to attend a time share presentation in order to get a few free tickets. When the staff at the Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta became aware they literally hounded us. One woman followed us outside and other staff later on in the hotel treated us in a rude manner when they found out that we attended the time share presentation. (And just for future travelers to be aware, we got pricing from the time share folks at the airport on a number of the activities and the staff at the hotel always gave us a price at least $20 above what we were quoted at the hotel).

The room was only okay. We noted when booking that we were going to be on our honeymoon and asked for nice accommodations. The bed was not comfortable and the room had a constant musty smell to it, which only got better through our repeated sprays of Lysol. The bathroom shower door was broken (looked at though the handle wore off due to rust) and the water pressure was almost non-existent. The amenities in the room varied from day to day (one day we only got 1 towel and 1 washcloth, no soap and 2 bottles of shampoo). We were told that our fridge would be restocked every other day, however it was done only once in our week stay there. No room service was available, unless you were a Royal Club member, so when we wanted to have food we HAD to wait for the buffet to open.

The food options at Le Buffet were sub-par. Literally everyday the options were two types of chicken, a type of beef, rice, and potatoes served 5 different ways. We were hoping to get more authentic food and more of a variety but that didn't happen, there was always a LOT of food, but the same things over and over and over again. For breakfast there were choices from eggs, cereal, sausage links, french toast, pancakes, and various breads. For lunch the options were pretty much the same as dinner... Chicken and beef, rice and potatoes and sometimes fruit.

As I previously mentioned, the hotel needed a number of touch-ups. At least on the 4th floor there were a number of harmful objects protruding from the wall, one of which cut my husband's arm and when we called the front desk to ask about some alcohol or peroxide to clean it we were told that we would have to purchase it from the shop in the lobby area. The night entertainment left a lot to be desired.

The bonus was that the staff (other than the hustlers up front) were quite friendly, although we have repeatedly said that one member of the waiting staff at Le Buffet went above and beyond. We can't say enough about Mr. Oscar Rodriguez from Le Buffet (in the attached photo). After being there for 3 days we had the pleasure of having Oscar as our waiter and he went above and beyond. He learned our names and greeted us by name whenever he saw us whether we were in the restaurant or not. He learned my husband's preferred drink and had it ready when we sat for dinner. He was one of the few that would actually take the time to answer questions about the area and life in Puerto Vallarta. In our opinion Oscar should be utilized to teach others how to develop a positive relationship with the guests.

Room Tip: The higher you can get the better... Although the top floor is reserved ONLY for the Royal Club memb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I spent 7 days (July 9-15, 2014) at the Occidental Grand for our anniversary. This was our 3rd all-inclusive resort but our 1st time in staying in Puerto Vallarta. First of all the property is beautiful and the location is fantastic. One issue we had was that there are no balconies unless you have a suite. But on the 1st floor there are rooms with patios, so I emailed requesting a patio and as luck would have it the manager I spoke to was passing by as we were checking in and got us in a patio room near the pool. They were undergoing some renovations to some of the rooms as well as the exterior by the pools, but they kept the noise to a minimum. The staff was awesome and any request/issue or question was quickly handled. Special kudos to our favorite waiter Daniel Ramirez! Very attentive and funny, and remembered our drink orders and kept an eye out for when we were getting low.
The Food was good at the buffet as well as the Italian and Mexican specialty restaurants. Seasoning is not an issue. Also ask for the Mexican/Spanish coffee after dinner at Los Olivos! I read reports about overly pushy timeshare people, but there was no real pressure. We declined and were asked in passing 1 other time about it but it was no issue. After staying at some of the larger resorts I would definitely recommend this resort to friends.

A few tips:
Pay attention to the dining and bar schedules. There are places to eat/drink all day til about 1:30 am, but in order to set up for the next meal the places kind of rotate serving.

The sand is HOT! Mid-day its like 90+ and the sand almost burned my feet the 1st day we got there so flip flops are a must til you get to the water.

Some other reviews complained about the reservation process as far as the specialty restaurants but I was simple and we got in the nights we wanted no problem. There were open tables and fast service both times we went.

If it's your 1st trip to Puerto Vallarta but you've been to other caribbean places be warned: The water is CLOUDY not clear, and the sand is dark, not white. But it is very warm and still good for swimming.

I gets pretty quiet in the evening at the hotel. All the bars and clubs (Mandala, Senior Frogs etc...) are in Puerto Vallarta like 30 mins away by cab. But they do a different show at the hotel every night at 9.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TULSA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The rooms were awesome as well as the food. The service was excellent and especially from Daniel Ramirez. He was a very friendly person who works very hard in hot conditions. And my god people tip for your great service. Without tips the workers would not be able to survive on their pay alone. I have gone to all inclusives 20 times. You get to know how it is and if you appreciate what they do for you, tip them......
The hotel is doing a reno on the grounds which is the only thing I can see that needed to be done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL MANAGER O, Manager at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Eatry 36

On behalf of all the staff, I would like to thank you for your review and your positive comments about our staff. Is pleasant to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again to experience and enjoy the exclusive benefits that will have for you.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Spent a week here in late June with my girlfriend. I honestly could not have asked for a more perfect week. The weather was iffy at times, but for the most part the rain stayed in the mountains and away from the beach. As for the resort itself, we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

The desk staff was very accomodating, and very quick to respond to requests. As for the Bar Olas staff, they were on a whole different level of accomodating. All day we'd be sitting at either the pool or the beach, and before we could even finish one drink we'd have someone coming around for us to order another. Special shout out to server Daniel Ramirez. Daniel would always have a huge smile on his face and seeing him every morning was a great start to the day.

In short: This place is paradise. Any negative reviews about this resort are from people who can't sit back, relax, and appreciate the little things.

Also: If traveling through Apple Vacations, do some of the excursions. They were a blast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL MANAGER O, Manager at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mr. BILL M

We appreciate your wonderful comments about our service & staff.
We constantly are training our staff and improving our facilities to offer you a high service and meet all our guest expectations; was really pleasant to read that we was achieved.
Looking forward to have you back with us soon, if you have any requests or questions before your next stay please don't hesitate to get in touch with us.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Royal club/ First club the way to go. Ask for first club rooms adult pool side 4th floor & up.
Stayed in room 410/with balcony, not all rooms have a balcony. The resort is small & kept really clean. The girls at Royal club check in Yazmin ,Lulu & Ofelia are great. They are so friendly & helpful. The Royal Club restaurant staff Ricardo, Julian, Rigoberto, & Wilson were outstanding.
Also want to thank managers (first club) Isreal & (royal club) Laura. for all there help with anything we needed..Night time shows at 9 Pm were good & lots of fun.Overall a great place to vacation, would definetly go back

Room Tip: Adult pool side (first Club) rooms 4th floor up nice view ocean & grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalVC, Community Manager at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello smokey2513,

We are glad to read about your wonderful stay in Grand Nuevo Vallarta. It's out goal to provide our members with unforgettable vacation experiences.

Thanks a lot for your feedback, which encourages us to work harder to provide you the service you deserve.

Best regards,

Ignaura Tejeda Solimán
Community Manager for Occidental Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are a family of three. We had just came back on July 14, 2014, after having 5 great days at this wonderful resort, and here is our thought about this resort.
Personally, we feel this resort has shown a great effort to provide best services for its customers. There are some on-going improvements to add more beauties to the facility. The resort is relatively small, so everything is within walking distance. The room is small, but it is beautiful. There is a convenient beachfront right there where La Hacienda, a Mexican Restaurant, Los Olivos, a beautiful Italian restaurant, and Le Buffet, a general buffet located.
But our most impression is the service. We found happy faces of ALL employees everywhere in this resort. People are happy to work here and eventually, they light up our vacation.
We are very pleased with their care. From the sincere from Ms. Michelle at the Concierge, to Le Buffet Restaurant manager, Mr.Edgar, and other waiters such as Erik and Luis. We really appreciate the effort of the employees of this great resort!!!
Thank you, thank you, and thank you.
(P.S.: We even had a great time to learn more Spanish with the employees!)

Room Tip: Ask to choose the rooms that are close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.