We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Nuevo Vallarta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Highland Mills, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time in Nuevo Vallarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Royal club/ First club the way to go. Ask for first club rooms adult pool side 4th floor & up.
Stayed in room 410/with balcony, not all rooms have a balcony. The resort is small & kept really clean. The girls at Royal club check in Yazmin ,Lulu & Ofelia are great. They are so friendly & helpful. The Royal Club restaurant staff Ricardo, Julian, Rigoberto, & Wilson were outstanding.
Also want to thank managers (first club) Isreal & (royal club) Laura. for all there help with anything we needed..Night time shows at 9 Pm were good & lots of fun.Overall a great place to vacation, would definetly go back

Room Tip: Adult pool side (first Club) rooms 4th floor up nice view ocean & grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OccidentalVC, Community Manager at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello smokey2513,

We are glad to read about your wonderful stay in Grand Nuevo Vallarta. It's out goal to provide our members with unforgettable vacation experiences.

Thanks a lot for your feedback, which encourages us to work harder to provide you the service you deserve.

Best regards,

Ignaura Tejeda Solimán
Community Manager for Occidental Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    507
    179
    57
    50
See reviews for
431
675
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We are a family of three. We had just came back on July 14, 2014, after having 5 great days at this wonderful resort, and here is our thought about this resort.
Personally, we feel this resort has shown a great effort to provide best services for its customers. There are some on-going improvements to add more beauties to the facility. The resort is relatively small, so everything is within walking distance. The room is small, but it is beautiful. There is a convenient beachfront right there where La Hacienda, a Mexican Restaurant, Los Olivos, a beautiful Italian restaurant, and Le Buffet, a general buffet located.
But our most impression is the service. We found happy faces of ALL employees everywhere in this resort. People are happy to work here and eventually, they light up our vacation.
We are very pleased with their care. From the sincere from Ms. Michelle at the Concierge, to Le Buffet Restaurant manager, Mr.Edgar, and other waiters such as Erik and Luis. We really appreciate the effort of the employees of this great resort!!!
Thank you, thank you, and thank you.
(P.S.: We even had a great time to learn more Spanish with the employees!)

Room Tip: Ask to choose the rooms that are close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel was not what I expected for an all-inclusive in Nuevo Vallarta. The rooms were very outdated and the bathrooms did not seem very clean. No bathtub, very small. The “all inclusive” concept does not apply for this hotel, the minibar is a joke, and they gave us bottle of water and some sodas, no food to the rooms or room service. The restaurants are not open all day. If you miss their schedule you cannot get food and forget about to get any type of food, you get what they want when they wanted. The staff is very rude, if you ask them for something they are not willing to go the extra mile for you or at least give any basic customer service. They always reply that the hotel does not work like that and they have their rules (rules that change constantly). If you are enjoying the pool, forget about eating because no restaurant is able to serve you if you a little wet, you have to be completely dried to be able to get food from them, absurd concept for an all-inclusive and if you have kids. The dinner restaurants were you have to book in advance, by the cutoff time of 2pm (if you feel like having dinner there after 3pm, sorry you cannot book it) do not accept kids after 5pm… so good luck having dinner there if you travel with kids. The pool that includes kids is very small, not good for summer when the hotel is full. You do not get an umbrella or any shadow. The hotel has very serious safety issues, while I was there one elevator light broke, the extinguishers are missing from the floors, you feel not safe overall. The hotel also tries to sale you the time shares like crazy, the sales people is very pushy, this is the first time I experienced such a bad service in a hotel in Nuevo Vallarta.
Yes, please remove this hotel from your options this hotel is horrible, the service is horrendous and it is not an “all-inclusive “concept because they are constantly limiting you in everything, there are signs on the tables to want you not to take a lot of food, also there are times during the day/night that you do not have service to food or drinks, no room service, if you want good alcohol drinks you have to demand the brand alcohol, because if not you get a generic alcohol. The only good part was the food in the main buffet restaurant, other than the chef, the hotel is not worth it.

Room Tip: Do not book a room close to elevators or the lobby very noise, as the bar is just under those
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

best trip I have ever been on felt welcome at home more like it your maids were awesome decorated and cleaned are room very well :) food was incredible and the drinks were even better my favorite waiter by far was Daniel he was there for breakfast and all through out the day if I could have taken him home in my suitcase I would have ! he was so well mannered and so fast with his service always knew what we needed! just cant say enough good things about him :) Carlos was also amazing always had a smile and always fast service loved him to bits . Fernando was again just amazing at looking after us all your waiters in general were awesome! then the security they had there hands full with us but were also amazing always felt safe , thank you for an amazing experience and I will be back with my whole family for sure :)

Room Tip: we had a third floor balcony room loved it could look out to the pools and find everyone before I ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to spend a week at this resort with my 3 sisters and niece. I cannot say enough about the staff and the service we received. "Exceptional" would be an understatement for how well we were treated. I would like to send a special thanks and shout out to Daniel, Carlos and Ernestos sorry I am not sure of the spelling, our waiters and bartenders!!! I have worked and managed teams in customer services for over 25 years and I was very impressed. I would also like to mention, how safe we all felt, the security staff was phenomenal and made sure we were well taken care of and safe at all times :) Thank you from the "Beers Girls" you helped to make this an incredible experience and a memory we will treasure forever!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room Smoking Room, they a balconey and excellent ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First let me say that I am a picky traveler. So if you are reading this to decide whether or not to stay here, let me assure you, this resort is safe, clean and worth the money. This is smaller resort, so you don't get lost in the crowd!

They are in the process of upgrading and I believe trying to get a better star rating, so they are trying new things all the time. The surface around the kids pool is being redone shortly, and they are doing some construction at the front, so know that going in. The adult pool was where we spent most of our time and it was quiet and relaxing. They have pool side drink service so you don't even have to get up from your chair. They also had pitchers of flavored water available poolside to stay hydrated. It was very hot the week we were there. There were always chairs available by the pool, and they put towels out on the chairs first thing in the morning too. One day they came around with cucumber slices for our eyes and another with mini fruit kebabs to munch on.

Our rooms were clean, air conditioned and well maintained. No bugs or anything like that. There are very few English channels available on the TV, but you can watch TV at home. The mini fridge was stocked daily with bottled water, pop and beer and kept it cold. The closet door can be opened to expose the glass wall of the shower to let some light in which was nice. It can also be closed for privacy if you are traveling with people you don't want to watch you shower. I read some reviews about this and was skeptical about it, but it's nothing to worry about.

This resort is right on the beach which is very convenient for walks, etc. I took the morning yoga class on the beach and the water aerobics in the pool at noon. Both were great! There is a gym available too, but we opted for beach running instead. They also have a morning beach Zumba class which I did not take, but watched during breakfast one morning.

The food in the buffet is what you would expect at these types of resorts. Lots to choose from and prepared well. Remember they have to appeal to a wide variety of people. I always found something to eat. We did eat at the Mexican restaurant one night and it was similar to the buffet. We did not try the Italian one. They are in the process of changing the a la carte restaurants to be available all day, not sure what the timeline on that is though. I recommend going to PV one day and getting some authentic food there.

We tipped our maid, the bartender/server and the waiters at the restaurants. Just a dollar or two goes a long way! They work very hard and are very friendly. They remember you if you tip and will want you to sit in their section! Our 3 teenage kids ate on their own most meals and they remembered them as well.

The timeshare thing can get annoying. We could have received a discount on the excursion to Las Marietas (I highly recommend this!) we booked if we had gone to their presentation. But we were firm and told them we were not interested and they backed right off. Our bellboy gave us a card to get $$ to play with at the casino and 2 of the 5 of us won money there! There is a mall across the street with a Starbucks, McDonalds, etc. If you need to use Wi-Fi to check in back home, it's free at Starbucks with a purchase (info on receipt).

The grounds are beautiful. There are several bars to get drinks from at all hours. We don't smoke and were not overwhelmed by smokers. I read lots of the reviews before booking and was nervous. But I would definitely stay here again as we loved it here and would recommend to anyone!

TIP: pre-book a ride from the airport, and don't stop when walking through all the time-share people there. Keep your head down and just keep going, they will try everything to get you to stop!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Jorge and Daniel at the adult pool were amazing. They brought us drinks before our glasses were even empty. Both of these guys were terrific.
The place is really quiet. No music playing in the adult area. No swim up bar.
The beach was beautiful. The place was spotless. The entire staff was great.
The food was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.