We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY FALL SAVINGS!
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay with kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Occidental Grand. Pleasant and attentive staff and waiters (we did leave tips:), right on the beach, great food in abundance and variety and live entertainment in the evening. Best of all is the Kids Club - open from 9 to about 8:30 with breaks for lunch and dinner - our kids (4 and 5 yrs old) absolutely loved spending time there and playing with other kiddos. Great stay overall. The only thing I wish was more comfortable are the beds, but then I'm used to a king bed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    367
    135
    40
    38
See reviews for
340
485
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Here is why I'll never return to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta:
- Because the management has hired a gang of timeshare sharks and allowed them to follow me and corner me and spoiled my little vacation,
- Because I had to eat in an overcrowded buffet with dirty chair pads and birds flying around and I had to lineup for everything,
- Because the chef uses inferior meats and fish and his specialty are beans and a thick, brown sauce that covers everything else,
- Because the resort is dead boring at night, there is nothing to do and nowhere to go. The only "fun" is drinking at the bars or walking aimessly on the beach at night.

The managment had replied to negative reviews in the past, assuring TripAdvisor readers that they cared a lot about customer satisfaction and they would change a lot of things around. This was nothing than another big, fat business lie: they never dismissed the timeshare sharks and never improved anything related to the buffet conditions or the entertainment.

I would return to Mexico in a blink, but never to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ItzeSocialMedia_Ctor, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Sealover_7,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta we would like to express our sincere apologies that your stay was not to our expected level of satisfaction.

According to your experience with our Occidental Vacation Club team caused you, we discussed this with their management. We do our best to provide guests with the details about all the services available at our resort, and our guests should never feel pressured to attend these presentations.

We discussed with our food & beverages team regarding the type of issues you encountered at the restaurants and we are reviewing our processes to prevent these annoyances in the future.

We are sorry to hear that you could not enjoy our nightly entertainment; we shared your review with our Management in order to take measures to improve.

We do hope that you’ll give us a second chance to make you have memorable vacations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a lovely 5 days of sun, water, rest and relaxation. The staff waas excellent and the facility, beautiful. Didnt care for the lack of variety of food-lots of fried items however the service and attention by staff MORE than made up for it!
Special mention was Ricardo, day shift and Ricardo, evening shift in the Royal Club.
Priscilla and Garbiella in Royal Club reception. They would go out of their way to satisfy any need you had.

Best tip: whatever you do, totally worth the upgrade to the RC. Better views, food and service. We had the penthouse #757 and could not have been more pleased with all.
Adult pool was sensational and the security at the hotel is excellent. Guards are forever walking around to maintain peace and safety for all.
Clean as can be. Water is a terrific 88 degrees! it may bother some to see some Sea Rays swimminig by you, but they are harmless.
Ask Bam Bam at the activities shack for a boogie board, or a kawak-all included.
Tip well, Drink well, Eat well, Sleep well and dont forget to say Gracias!

Room Tip: You want the Royal Club upgrade on floors 6 or 7 for the best view. Try to see if the Penthouse #75...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So City, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great Resort/ Hotel on a budget! Our waiters Eric (Breakfast & Lunch), Jorge and David (Dinner) was outstanding who goes out of their way to provide excellent service. They work so hard! The resort is nice, clean, we'll maintained and has good food. Although the poolside doesn't have enough umbrellas. No FREE WiFi! Overall, no complains regarding our stay here....

I would definitely go back and stay at Occidental Grand!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The wait staff, bell boys, bar tenders, housekeepers and support staff are amazing! They treat everyone to friendly service and work so hard! The staff working to get you for the breakfast presentation of sister hotels do too and they're so persistent!! No I said no! I have a baby and a child we do not want to spend two hours of our vacation speaking to you and then half a day in a room with a salesman selling me timeshares! No means no! This is the only reason I probably won't come back. They need to learn to back off the concierge is to help you not hound you and that's exactly what they do. The resort is nice, clean, we'll maintained with nice shows and good food. Oh yes if u have kids there's times when NO food or snacks are available so we had to go to the tobacco shop many times to pick up snacks for the hungry little ones and they're not cheap. Not enough umbrellas on the poolside! People steal your seats for them! Management get more umbrellas its hot humid and sunny!! What a let down! And oh yes keep your towels where you can see them one of ours was swiped and they wanted us to look at security footage??!! So we paid the $30 for our stolen towel. Overall nice place, warm beach, good personnel service. Management not so much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at many occidental hotels and have always enjoyed the service, food, and the friendly atmosphere. This hotel is exceptional as the chief manager interacts directly with the tourist. We will be returning this January/Februay with 18 so far friends to Nuevo Vallarta. We always travel with our old gang but now the group is enlarging and other family children 18-25 are joining us, who knows we could end up with 3rd generation babies etc. The place is spotless and the new hospital is absolutely amazing. I always feel so secure in Mexico in spite of all the hoopla on the news.

Room Tip: I always stay on the main floor...there was construction happening on the new theatre but that didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Time share people were the let down on this place Otherwise it was great service. Great staff Only so many rooms with patio doors out side. Most rooms have no balconies which we enjoy. Food was good,and we loved the fact that there were separate pools for adults and kids. We would go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#8 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.