We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY FALL SAVINGS!
Ranked #7 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Time share people were the let down on this place Otherwise it was great service. Great staff Only so many rooms with patio doors out side. Most rooms have no balconies which we enjoy. Food was good,and we loved the fact that there were separate pools for adults and kids. We would go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    363
    131
    39
    38
See reviews for
336
476
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Resort was great, very clean, food was delicious, drinks were great (Thanks Benjamin). The staff is extremely helpful and friendly.
But we found one staff member, (Raymundo the bellboy) is the one who helped us the most. We were three traveling, and received the best recommendations to beaches, shopping centers, restaurants outside Occidental. We started calling Raymundo for every question we had. Raymundo speaks English very well, remembered us, asks if we liked his recommendations everyday. He's seemed to really love his job, and was genuinely in a good mood everyday! The personal service is always to me what makes a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Occidental and it is our destination of choice for a relaxing, hassle free vacation filled with great food, excellent service and beautiful setting. I noted the noise on a previous visit, but this time the renovations were finished and our room was very quiet.

The service is the best we have ever had (thank you Mr. Aguirre, Idaly, Juan, Manuel, Arnulfo and so many others). I enjoyed fresh cooked breakfasts every morning, Filet Mignon at night and Ricardo's Champagne service at lunch.

The room was exactly what we were looking for. I had reservations about leaving the first floor terraces and taking an elevator all the time, but the view was spectacular and I never had to wait for an elevator. Comfortable, quiet and romantic. I also enjoyed being able to open the screened windows for the trade winds and that the screens are sliders so they didn't interfere with pictures. Great touch.

One of the highlights for us was the photo shoot. We really had fun and the only recommendation is that the price was quoted in US dollars, but then we had to pay another exchange rate to turn it into pesos. The price should be quoted in the currency that is accepted to avoid double exchange fees. But otherwise the experience was fantastic.

If I was asked what would make it even better; I would love a band one evening to be able to dance with my wife in such a romantic setting.

We made several new friends there and hope to reconnect with them on other visits.

We will try to revisit in December again with our friends from Canada.

See you soon and once again, muchas gracias!

Room Tip: We chose high and center for a spectacular view of the ocean. No trouble with the elevators. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been to this Hotel over 15 times. Of course it used to be under other management and it recently went through major construction! I love this hotel, the staff is EXCELLENT!!! They go out of their way to help you (especially if you tip them a $1 or 2) after every meal. The rooms are nice, clean, and modern. The adult pool is nice and the beach is WONDERFUL! The food is okay, I always find something, it's not the best food but there is usually good fish. The alcohol selection is pretty good, especially because it's an all inclusive hotel. Just a tip!! I love being on the first floor, the balconies are ground level and it's really convenient to go to your room!

I would definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I had the best time in this hotel. I personally don't like massive hotels and this one was just perfect. Not much of a night life that's for sure. If your going single and ready to mingle ( as I was ) I don't recomend it. This is perfect for any type of couples and family with kids. A lot of activities for kids todo. But over all everything was perfect. The staff pampered us and made sure that we were happy and taken care of. One of our guest craved sushi, the dinning manager overheard the conversation and we had a sushi night in our room!! That does not happen every where.

The bartenders are all extremely nice! My favorite was Fernando who was serving in the lobby. This guy makes the best drinks in Mexico! And supper nice to chat with and keep you company if your alone at the bar. I did not like the drinks by the pool, they were not as classy and tasty.

The servers in the buffet are extremely friendly also, especially Erik and the nice young lady that works with him during the breakfast shift.

The friendly and caring staff made me want to visit all of the Occidentals! I loved Nuevo Vallarta over all and would HIGHLY RECOMEND this hotel.

I hope to be able to come with a partner or even when I have kids (10 years from now)...

Thank you Occidental!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were there January 2013, the resort was great, so close to the beach, the food was AMAZING, the buffet restaurant was super clean. Very happy overall, will go back.The rooms were spacious,
The staff all around were very friendly and helpful, we took the bus downtown and had a great evening, shopping was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a wk here along with our daughter and her husband in Feb. this year. Someone met us at the airport along with another couple and drove us to the hotel. Registration was quick and we got our room right away. The servers bent over backwards for us and the meals were very good we all agreed.
Nightly entertainment was of very high quality and we enjoyed the interaction with the crowd.
One morning the bus left without us for a tour & manager sent for a taxi to take us to their next stop, (no cost to us)where they were waiting for us, showing good communications. Our fridge was stocked with water and beer every other day. Staff were great... happy, helpful people employed at this resort/hotel!
If not interested in the time/Share, just say no & they will not bother you again.
With perfect weather & fun atmosphere, a great beach, we all agreed to come back next year. Thank you Occidental!!!

Room Tip: Daughter had her room changed, to be on same floor as us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.