We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nov.3-13, 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SUMMER SAVINGS!
Ranked #7 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nov.3-13, 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have returned to this hotel numerous times through the years because of the staff, the food and the overall comfort. The beach is excellent, the staff very courteous and they have always treated me as if I were part of their family. I have watched the improvements through the years and they have really made an effort to accomodate the guests. The all-inclusive is the best price around for all the options you have. The recent remodel in 2011 turned out very nice. They are currently building an adults only pool (should be done by Mar. 2013) and a new theater for their evening shows put on by the activities staff.
I highly recommend giving this property a try.

Room Tip: North side rooms tend to be a little noiser. Recent remodel in 2011.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    350
    121
    36
    34
See reviews for
319
455
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nanaimo bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My spouse and I recently spent a week at the Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta with 8 other family members . We had a great time ! The hotel has had a recent reno/upgrade and the rooms were awesome!
Our room had a king size bed and it was very comfortable.
The food was only OK which is typical of most all inclusives. The real standout was the staff! Miguel and Elisabeth at the front desk were very courteous and efficient, Gaby at the pool was super as were Benji,Eduardo and Oscar at the bar. Eric in the buffet dinning room was also a real standout. I have been to lots of all inclusives over the years and the staff here were top notch. Thanks guys!
We did notice that some days the pool was overloaded.

Room Tip: The rooms above the ground floor dont have balconies so if you like access to the outside get a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Went in July, which of course is hot and humid ! Rain every night, but the days were nice and sunny. Only the one pool which was a little on the small side, and very warm - but even the ocean was warm. Stayed in a ground floor room facing the tennis courts , nice to have a small patio - only the ground floor has them. Hallways were really noisy, kids running up and down them in the late evenings. Drinks were good, service in restaurants was ok - but then hotel was very busy and not enough staff. Liked the Mexican ala carte the best.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor if you like to have the option of a sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed October 20 to 27 and were very happy with our stay. Rooms were very nice and clean. Food was excellent. Our waiter, Eric, was fantastic. He made sure we had everything we needed and went out of his way to ensure one of our party got some special items she required. Other staff were friendly and helpful. Beach and pool were very nice and the waiters made sure we were always well supplied with refreshments. A great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna b.c
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just returned from a week at the occidental,our check in was quick and courtious.we were suprised to see our room was located on the 7th floor on the club level,with a spectacular view of the ocean.spacious, modern, with a king size bed. stocked fridge,beer, pop, and agua re stocked every second day.hot water in the shower all the time! and nice cool air conditioning.free safe in the closet.the pools were nice ,clean , and activity staff were alot of fun,always had something that most could participate in, water polo, water and beach volleyball. frisbee tosh,also nail days for the ladies sitting by the pool, thats right free nails. the pool also has a bar located close by ,with friendly staff that can make you any drink you want. there is also staff that come by the pool regularly to take drink orders,tips make it more regular.there is also a snack bar located next to the pool , with a small buffet, but also offers a small menu that you can order fresh made pub like food and very good staff. the beach is really nice,the water was warm as soup, nice sandy bottom, and nice calm surf most of the time. the main buffet was great, good food ,great staff. both the mexican and the italian were very good,more so the italian,lots of choice and very good quality.the hotel is the real deal, and the staff really make what it is. i would reccomend this hotel to anyone. and iam sure we will return to enjoy another awsome week at the occidental.

Room Tip: room 755 has a great view of the ocean, but remember no balconies?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there in March, 2012 for 1 wk and we wished we could have stayed longer. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms we all beautifully finished and everything looked brand new. Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were a party of 4 and we all enjoyed the food and service. It's a small resort but it had everything we needed. The weather at that time of year was perfect....not humid and in the evening it got a little cooler. It was a very enjoyable time for us.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite and found it to be very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We bought an all inclusive package for 4days/5nights at this resort.
First, the staff was great! They were helpful and was always on the lookout to help and assist.
We upgraded to their royal club, and we're glad we did. We got great food, great beverages and great service.
They had an "on-beach" massage which was great, just don't expect an A1plus massage therapist.
The place was nice and clean. Our room was cleaned everyday, and the bar fridge was stocked every other day.
Only down sides are the nightly entertainment can keep you awake depending on where your room is located; and the fact that bottle water wasn't available during buffet meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.