We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
EARLY FALL SAVINGS!
Ranked #7 of 24 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Langley City, Canada
1 review
“Happy Guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed October 20 to 27 and were very happy with our stay. Rooms were very nice and clean. Food was excellent. Our waiter, Eric, was fantastic. He made sure we had everything we needed and went out of his way to ensure one of our party got some special items she required. Other staff were friendly and helpful. Beach and pool were very nice and the waiters made sure we were always well supplied with refreshments. A great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    362
    130
    38
    38
See reviews for
335
472
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna B.c
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We just returned from a week at the occidental,our check in was quick and courtious.we were suprised to see our room was located on the 7th floor on the club level,with a spectacular view of the ocean.spacious, modern, with a king size bed. stocked fridge,beer, pop, and agua re stocked every second day.hot water in the shower all the time! and nice cool air conditioning.free safe in the closet.the pools were nice ,clean , and activity staff were alot of fun,always had something that most could participate in, water polo, water and beach volleyball. frisbee tosh,also nail days for the ladies sitting by the pool, thats right free nails. the pool also has a bar located close by ,with friendly staff that can make you any drink you want. there is also staff that come by the pool regularly to take drink orders,tips make it more regular.there is also a snack bar located next to the pool , with a small buffet, but also offers a small menu that you can order fresh made pub like food and very good staff. the beach is really nice,the water was warm as soup, nice sandy bottom, and nice calm surf most of the time. the main buffet was great, good food ,great staff. both the mexican and the italian were very good,more so the italian,lots of choice and very good quality.the hotel is the real deal, and the staff really make what it is. i would reccomend this hotel to anyone. and iam sure we will return to enjoy another awsome week at the occidental.

Room Tip: room 755 has a great view of the ocean, but remember no balconies?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed there in March, 2012 for 1 wk and we wished we could have stayed longer. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the rooms we all beautifully finished and everything looked brand new. Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were a party of 4 and we all enjoyed the food and service. It's a small resort but it had everything we needed. The weather at that time of year was perfect....not humid and in the evening it got a little cooler. It was a very enjoyable time for us.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite and found it to be very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We bought an all inclusive package for 4days/5nights at this resort.
First, the staff was great! They were helpful and was always on the lookout to help and assist.
We upgraded to their royal club, and we're glad we did. We got great food, great beverages and great service.
They had an "on-beach" massage which was great, just don't expect an A1plus massage therapist.
The place was nice and clean. Our room was cleaned everyday, and the bar fridge was stocked every other day.
Only down sides are the nightly entertainment can keep you awake depending on where your room is located; and the fact that bottle water wasn't available during buffet meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I just came back from a visit at the Occidental in Nuevo Vallarta. What a wonderful, relaxing and well deserved vacation. We were greeted by our friends with balloons when we arrived from cold 27 degrees Colorado in paradise at 91 degrees. The check-in was quick and we treated with importance. Thanks Tanja and Laura.
Then off to a wonderful lunch with amazing services by Eric. There was such a variety of food, anything you can imagine, and our plates were carried from the buffet to our tables. Every day for every meal, the service was exceptional and the food great. We ate at the buffet, the snack bar, Italian and Mexican restaurant plus in the First Club. Shout out to the wonderful friendly waiters Juan, Eric, Ricardo, David and Alberto. Every morning I sat at breakfast with view to the ocean and Alberto had my coffee and shrek juice ready. What a guy!!!!!!
At night we hit the bar where Carols mixed us any drink we liked. HE went out of his way to please customers and make them happy, always with a smile.
The beach was very clean, there was always a lounge chair, the bar was close by. The rooms were clean and beautiful and well taken care of, always fresh towels, coffee and soap as needed.
My friends are going back there in March, I wish I could join them. I am already ready for another vacation at the Occidental in Nueva Vallarta. Thanks for a wonderful, relaxing vacation with amazing service.

Room Tip: I had a view to the ocean, balcony, coffee machine, hair dryer.....my room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I were just there for our first time from Oct 20 to 27, 2012. The resort was very beautiful, the rooms were very nice and the king size bed was firm but probably the most comfortable bed in Mexico we have slept on so far. The resort is a good size, not too small but not too large. If you have some mobility issues as I do, getting around was fairly easy. The 2 pools (one kiddy pool) are very close to each other so if you want to get away from children then you better go to the beach. The only thing about the beach is there are bugs and they do bite especially at night.
The food was OK, not outstanding but good and we did not go hungry. The restaurant is open to the outside so there is NO air conditioning. This was a little hard for someone like myself who has MS because of the humidity. The restaurant is also not the best for anyone that has difficulty using stairs because you have to climb a few to get to the buffet and down to most of the tables. The staff was always there to take my plate to my table for me though.
Also you can only eat at areas where the food is served. There seems to be no taking any food to your chair by the pool.
The best part of the trip were the people we met when we were there. The resort is a very safe place for singles and families to go to. Be aware that there is no free WIFI, but there are ways to get around that... the Hard Rock resort next door has free WIFI if you are close enough and Starbucks and the Plaza Mall also provide free internet.
Overall the trip was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Face the Hard Rock so you can get free WIFI if you care. Higher floor was more comfortable with air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very nice all inclusive, located between the giant Paradise Village and the Hard Rock Hotel on a beautiful, shallow, safe beach with just enough surf to cause you to grip your bathing suit. Expanses of sand, shade and lounge chairs and a very pleasant serving staff. The restaurant choices are buffet, Italian or Mexican, the latter being the best of the two restaurant choices. Our favorite servers, especially in the breakfast buffet, were Erik and Ricardo who could have doubled as a Mafia hit man and his driver and rated themselves as the #1 and #2 waiters in all of Mexico. We wouldn't argue. At lunch in the snack bar, Manuel served the yummy onion rings in chipotle mayo with cold draft cervezas. The only critiques, made to increase this hotels ratings, a need for turn down service if only to refresh towels. You cannot live in a beach/pool environment on two towels per day. We hate wall dispensers for shampoo and gel - please stop the madness and bring back the little bottles. If you are going to offer a bar fridge, you must re-stock it and not make me chase you down with a bribe to get more beer! That said, we'll recommend the Occidental Grand to friends and we would come back.

Room Tip: There are no balconies. Ground floor units have tiny patio. Free WiFi from Hard Rock Hotel at botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de los Cocoteros No. 18, Villa 8 Fracc. Nautico, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta is the ideal hotel for families, couples, and friends looking to enjoy a fun vacation on the Pacific shores of Mexico. Recently renovated, Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has been updated with the latest modern amenities and technology to ensure a pleasant stay. The hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Nayarit, minutes from the Nuevo Vallarta shopping center and the best stores and restaurants in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Allegro Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Nuevo Vallarta Occidental Allegro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.