We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tip from our cab driver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscos Tino's - La Laguna

Mariscos Tino's - La Laguna
Boulevard Nayarit 393 | Riviera Nayarit, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
+52 (322) 297-0221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 101 Restaurants in Nuevo Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Santa Barbara
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great tip from our cab driver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a large group and the service, pricing and food was great! The light was fading as we arrived but we were treated to a salt water croc surrounded by turtles giving us a show.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    110
    35
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not as good as it once was but still a good choice. Next year could be great again. If possible, sit next to the water.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious local food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Came here as our first stop in Vallarta and was really good. The staff is friendly and the food delicious. Try the Langosta "al ajillo" (lobster cooked with garlic and guajillo pepper) and Nuevo Vallarta oysters, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as great as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went to this restaurant based on the reviews and the yummy pictures of the grilled fish. Overall the food was good. Hubby and I shared the Pescado Zarandeado, which for the day was a huge mahi mahi. It was very flavorful but a bit overcooked for me. It was delicious mixed with the side of rice. My kids enjoyed their meals as well. We asked for fried plantains but got fried bananas instead, which we enjoyed nonetheless. Some of the downsides...the staff seemed distracted by the futbol televised on the various flat screens in the restaurants, (e.g., I had ordered mussels as an appetizers and we waited. Turned out they were never ordered). The manager came by to check up on us but towards the end of the meal tried to talk us into attending a timeshare presentation, which included distributing a laminated brochure and written invitation of what we'd get if we attended (7000 pesos). While tempting, it was inappropriate. Restaurant is overlooking a lagoon with huge turtles and a crocodile but come prepared with bug spray, if not, ask them for it as despite the fans blowing, the mosquitos were ferocious. On a brighter note, my margarita was strong and the musicians came by our table and serenaded me for my birthday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stick with the fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The European-style dishes here were not very good. Unadorned fish and shrimp dishes were good. And a regular visitor, a local crocodile, swam in the lagoon and the cooks threw him some fish bones.
Another caution: there are guys there selling tours and pushing timeshare visits. Their advice on snorkeling proved to be a terrible waste of time and money. THESE GUYS ARE NEVER TO BE TRUSTED!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Tino's - La Laguna also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Mariscos Tino's - La Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscos Tino's - La Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.