We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel RIU Jalisco to your Saves list
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida de Los Cocoteros, Sn-Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was my second time at the Riu Jalisco, we stayed there a few years ago, we loved it then and we loved it this time (although I think I liked the décor better before they renovated, the purple is a little much!) I have to give a big shout out to Martin who is, in my opinion, the best bartender in Mexico! I have been to several resorts all over Mexico and Martin is by far the best I have come across, loved his "magic shooters" he has such a great sense of humor and his customer service skills are awesome! I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the sunsets from the beach are incredible, the place is kept spotless and the food is fantastic. WE would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    1,082
    530
    342
    234
See reviews for
824
825
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

You would think that when you are paying an arm and a leg for a hotel room, you should be able to have a friend over for a nightcap, right? Not at this place! They are rude, arrogant, and in no way considerate of their guests. ESPECIALLY, do not even THINK of bringing a girl here. they have no provision for day passes, or anything of the sort. Bad experience, and will never sty here again. STAY AWAY!!

Room Tip: Anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Third time back, loved the place for Mexican ambiance. Was like a Spanish Manson. Tile roof, beautiful lobby and eating establishments. But all that that is changed, big makeover. First impression off the bus into the lobby with purple painted walls and purple leather chairs and couches, it looked like I walked into a Strip Joint. Paid for a family room so we would get a larger room. We got a standard room with 3 beds. Loved seeing some great staff members we befriend
over the years. Sorry but the changes were too much, last time for us

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Ten day stay six in our group. Been at Rius before like the layout all staff and tenders and entertainment too many to mention. These people will be remembered as great . Had an unfortunate incident having to use in house doctor. She came and dealt with my situation and followed up in a professional fashion. We talked to a lot of people that have a fear of medical help in Mexico. Dr. Susara was awesome!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were at the Jalisco in Feb of 2014. This was our second tome there. The rooms were clean, food was great and the staff were going out of their way to ensure the stay was perfect,

The renovations took away all the Mexican ambiance. You got rid of the pictures and the pottery and any other reference to the Mexican cultural that was so much a part of the beauty of the resort.

Since when is purples, blues and silvers part of the colorful history of Mexico, There used to be theme nights at the Jalisco, not now. Even some of the staff are uncomfortable with the changes, because it is not their colors. You even remove the gazebo on the water, no vendors on the promenade, only sellers on the beach.

Sometimes bigger is NOT better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Riu Jalisco. The rooms were spotless, the food was great, and we found the resort was relaxing and well laid out with many activities if you wanted to be busy, or lots of relaxing spaces if you just wanted to lay on the beach or by the pools and drink rum! In terms of dollars for value, we found this all-inclusive to be an excellent deal. In fact, when we booked it was for a standard room, but when we checked in they had upgraded us, (no charge) to a suite. We sat on the balcony for 15 mins one day and watched whales breaching out in the bay! It had many families there, so if you are looking for more of an "adults only" this may not be the ideal place, however, the mix of gringos from Canada like us, and locals from the Interior we found very interesting. I cant understand some of the reviews criticizing the locals or the line ups? To us, if your biggest complaint of the day is that someone accidentally "buds" in front of you in a line up for more food than you can imagine (and GOOD food!) then life is pretty good!
We would definitely recommend RIU resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside, and on a higher floor. Almost all rooms on the outside have an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed at the hotel from 14-21 Feb. Food was OK and the beach was average but the most horrible experience was the room. It was clean but had a strong smell of fumigation and fungus. We even found black mould spots on the blackout plastic curtain covering the balcony door. We paid to get exposed to poison every night :-( ... never again.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is exposed to sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel RIU Jalisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Address: Avenida de Los Cocoteros, Sn-Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel RIU Jalisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 Miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 5-story building * 2 km / 1.25 Miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 300 m / 990 ft. From Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel RIU Jalisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Riviera Nayarit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel RIU Jalisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.