We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Puerto Vallarta - wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel RIU Jalisco to your Saves list
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida de Los Cocoteros, Sn-Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Package Sale!
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Christmas in Puerto Vallarta - wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I went to the Riu Jalisco in the Riviera Nayarit section of Puerto Vallarta for two weeks that included Christmas, and had a wonderful time. We asked for a room away from the elevators, and they responded in spades - we couldn't have been farther away!! The service was very good - attentive without being overbearing. The food buffets at all the restaurants were generous, tasty, varied and interesting. Theme nights at the keynote restaurant were very well done. The pools and all outdoor areas are kept immaculately clean, and the entertainment is very well done.

On a side note, we both required medical attention while we were there, and the on-site medical clinic and doctor were absolutely first class.

We would be very happy to come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    1,080
    529
    342
    234
See reviews for
822
823
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have always liked the RIU hotels. This one is very nice but is now dated - especially when compared to the other RIU properties within walking distance. I hear they are planing renovations - wait until that happens before going here. Right now it is barely at 3 star resort

Service was not quite as attentive as what I have received at other RIU resorts (or other all-inlcusives) in the past.

Still love the alcohol dispensers in the room and cold beverages in the fridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A great location on fabulous Flamingo Beach and you can go to far wrong with a Riu hotel, a solid 4 star rating. Food wasn't as good as I remember, but we had tons of fun....and you get to enjoy wonder full sunsets every night.

Room Tip: ask for a south facing room for the best sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We love the Riu hotels! This was our second holiday at a Riu hotel (we've stayed twice at the Riu Santa Fe in cabo) you really can't go wrong with a Riu. Good food, clean rooms, great location, good service, friendly staff, awesome pools and great beach! This was a family vacation, ranging in ages from 3 yrs old, 8 years old, 15 yr old, adult children in their 20s, and parents in 40s. We all had a great holiday. The only thing that really bothered us was our toilet seemed to not work as it should, low water pressure and got plugged a lot, as well as there was plastic mattress covers on our beds which made a lot of noise whenever we sat on the bed or turned over when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you want a nice relaxing vacation with lots of beach, sun, plenty to eat and drink, an amazingly large beach in a cove with nice calm water, then go to this hotel! UNBELIEVABLE!
My wife and I were here for 14 nights and didn't want to go home. We were treated like locals, it was just a wonderful experience. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great Location, even though a little from central Puerto Vallarta, but a great bus ride to and from. Great staff, housekeeping, and great food. Guests from all over the world. Great Activities all day of the week, and good bar service. We strongly recommend. Will be going back again.

Room Tip: With a little extra funding, you can upgrade - Center tower, the higher floor the better, or the Sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Anyone planning to visit Puerto Vallarta, I would not recommend the Riu Jalisco...
Let's start off with the check in, there is no organization, no lines, and no order, everyone just kind of jumps in and out of lines and if you are not a Spanish speaking person, you are left till the end.
We arrive to the hotel around 4 and try to check in, the lobby was a mad house, people were trying to check in and others were trying to check out... It took over an hour to even talk to someone.
We finally check in and to my surprise, I am handed a key.. YES a real key to lock and unlock my door, and also I key with a lock attached to it for the room safe... I was then told, "If I lose my keys I will be responsible to paying to replace the keys and locks to my room".

Let's move on to the elevator, a 2 by 2 elevator with no ventilation and smells of mold and mildew, having to get on and off that elevator was disgusting.
Once we arrive to our floor and get off the elevator, the area smells of the same mold and mildew. Considering I am staying at the RIU (ok it’s not the Palace) but it’s still a RIU this is disgusting.
We are now in the room, I have to say it was clean, but STILL it smells like old socks, and wet towels. As I look around I notice there is no privacy in the bathroom area, everything is just one open room, except for the toilet area, that had a door... the shower just had a curtain, so when I got out of the shower, I walked out to my 2 boys watching television, this was quite uncomfortable, no private area to change or get dressed. It might have been okay if my kids were under 2, but a 12 year old and an 8 year old do not want to see their mom changing, so we all had to change either in the shower, or take our clothes and change in the toilet room...
Also, we had no working air-condition I called the maintenance 3 times to come and fix it and they told me that its working and this is the coldest it can get in the room due to the hot temperatures outside. I have never heard anything like that in my life; we had to sleep with the ceiling fan on instead on AC.

Let's move on... The food was DISGUSTING... the buffet was always messy, food was everywhere, the dining hall was always dirty. We went down for breakfast one morning, we find an open table, and it had cloth napkins in 3 places on the table, we found that odd and lifted them to see why they were there... They were hiding food stains from the previous families. I don't understand why they didn't just replace the table cloth. Little things like this will determine if you will be returning.
I know I am a little anal with cleanliness and order, but I figure if I am playing good money to go on vacation, I should not have to eat at tables that can't be clean and a food area that is not sanitary and taken care of.
Let's move on to the pool area. I am not a pool person while on vacation, but my boys like to hang there for a little bit before going to the beach. Where do I begin... the pool itself had tiles missing on the floor, the water was murky and felt slimy, and my kids couldn't take it for more than 10 minutes and wanted to leave.
It is now lunch time.... this must have been the worse area of the hotel... The restaurant was Oceanside, so everything is open... We walk to get our lunch, the food area, dining area, is in complete disorder, food is all over the floor, garbage is everywhere, and I can't believe this but there are no covers on anything. Not the fruit, not the salads, not the condiments, nothing is covered. I sat and watched these black crows like looking birds fly in and out of the watermelon plate and step in and out like it was okay, and pick up pieces of fruit and drop it back into the plate and pick up another piece. I don't know about you, but I can't eat after seeing that.
The whole trip we waited till the chef took the food right off the grill or pan and then put it in our plate to eat.

Needless to say, the ocean water was great! The entertainment was okay.
The service was horrible, no one ever said good morning, thank you. We were vacation the same time the locals were vacationing, and maybe this is why there service was not to par, but that is not acceptable. When your source of income is from tourism I feel that you need to be as happy as can be all the time. Overall tried to make the best of the trip for my kids’ sake...
I can only speak for the RIU Jalisco, and its problems, but I am disappointed in how this hotel is kept up that my family and I will not be vacation in any other RIU's and I make note to tell my family and friends as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel RIU Jalisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Address: Avenida de Los Cocoteros, Sn-Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel RIU Jalisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 Miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 5-story building * 2 km / 1.25 Miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 300 m / 990 ft. From Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel RIU Jalisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Riviera Nayarit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel RIU Jalisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.