We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Riu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel RIU Jalisco to your Saves list
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida de Los Cocoteros, Sn-Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the Riu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2004

We visited the Riu Jalisco from November 1 through November 8, 2003. It was a fantastic resort all around. The food was great, the rooms were beautiful, and the bartenders were the best. I would recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Mexico.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    1,083
    530
    342
    234
See reviews for
825
825
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2004

We've been to Mexico 11 times, stayed at 9 different resorts and 7 different all-inclusives (both 4 & 5 stars) on both Mexican coasts. The RIU was our least favorite. Though the building, grounds, and rooms are beautiful and clean, our room ( and thus our clothes, the bed, etc. ) smelled very musty, probably because the shower drained so slowly. I've read the same thing in other reviews so it must be the same in other rooms. Most of the food was pretty good, but they had the same thing over and over and over. Even the only "ala carte" restaurant served the same thing on the two nights we were able to get a reservation. There was no menu. You just ate what they gave you. All the other all-inclusives we've been to had at least two real ala carte restaurants with four courses and several choices for each course.
Though some of the service people were excellent, we heard the words "you can't" and "no" more at the RIU than all the other resorts we've been to combined. And the only bar near the beach was closed at sunset ! We are not very particular, and we love Mexico and the Mexican people, but the RIU seems poorly managed and the staff needs to be taught that the guest is almost always right. They seem to put their own convenience ahead of the guest's. We wouldn't return to the RIU nor recommend it when there are so many better resorts in Mexico.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2004

Stayed at the Riu Jalisco 2/7 - 2/14. POSITIVES: Grounds, with fountains, reflecting pools, and knockout building architecture. Beautuful and endless beach. Food - more cook stations than most AIs, but less variety. Over all, better than average AI food. Rooms colorfullly decorated and still have "new" feel (hotel is only 2 yrs old). NEGATIVES: Room locks use KEYS (with room # stamped in) rather than electronic door locks now found in most hotels. Small ants on bathroom counter. Poor ventilation in room. No wash clothes. The restaurant requiring reservations serves preselected courses banquet/reception style. Noisier than average late at night probably due to open atriums in both wings. Average staff , drinks & entertainment. Beautiful facility & location but could be much more.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2004

We spent 7 days at Riu Jalisco and enjoyed every moment of the day. The buffet dining was very good. The evening meal at the Nayarit was not very good, this could be improved. The noon meal at the Nayarit was very good. Many people expressed the same comment. The shows were very low budget and also need improvement. The rooms were very nice with the refrid being refilled every other day. The service was excellent in the room and in dinning. The drinks were very good and plentyfull. Overall we had a very good time and I would reccomend this resort to all my friends.The beach is beautiful and always enough chairs to use. The grounds are just beautiful and are kept very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2004

We just returned from the Riu. Stayed Feb. 7-14. The place is spotless and very accommodating for every age group. I was kind of leery about the trip from some of the reviews the place got. But I was pleasantly surprised. The food was great. If you couldn t find something you liked you should be at home cooking for yourself. There are so many activities to keep busy that you don t need to leave your resort. We did not have a room on the front side of the building but it still had a great view and was very clean and comfortable. We did take the whale watching tour and a horse riding tour and these were so fun. The staff at both places made the trips a party in themselves. I heard reviews of the drinks not being strong enough, we didn t have a problem with that. If you wanted your drinks any stronger you just had to ask. These people work very hard to make your vacation enjoyable . If you leave them a tip they are very appreciative. We would go back to the Riu in a minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2004

If you don't mind an insecure feeling go to the Riu. You'll be advised to get a safe key, don't bother they couldn't get us one so we gave up after 3 days of trying. If you check out before you leave be sure to take care of your own bags, if not you could be still waiting for the hotel them to find them while you watch your bus leave for the airport.
You are nowwhere near downtown, expect an hour+ bus or 45 minute cab ride. Get the cab yourself, the riu will get one for you but it'll cost a few bucks more then if you walk to the street. The bars good, the pool was cold but the pool bar warms things up. Beach was very nice.
Keep as much stuff in the suitcases as you can, if you take anything out and hang it up, it will smell like mold. I read other post about the shower drains, interesting I was on the 6th floor and had the same sloooooooow shower drain. House keeping doesn't do much, they make the bed. We even asked for the bedding to be changed after a few days and they just changed the sheets. Hope they change everything after we left. How this is a 5 star hotel I don't know? Maybe its the 5:1 conversion from mexican to english. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will go back but not to the Riu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2004

The RIU is a beautifully designed and maintained resort. The rooms are big, bright and airy and pleasantly furnished. We really enjoyed the courtyard view balcony. The grounds are green,tropical and well tended.
Everything was spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the food, and never got tired of it. There was great variety, and most of it was wonderful. We especially enjoyed sitting in the ocean-front bar/restaurant, and watching the children on the beach and the diving pelicans. (Don't miss the evening Spanish coffee there!) The sunsets were gorgeous! The only reason I wouldn't give this resort 5 stars is that there was not nearly enough wait staff in the dining rooms. It was difficult to get someone to bring you a bevarage, and you did sometimes have to get your own utensils and set the table yourself. The resort staff were all friendly and very hard-working. I agree with previous advise to tip the maids and spread some tips among the rest of the staff. We took the Sierra Madre Expedition, and it was one of the high points of our trip. 12 person Mercedes trucks go over dirt roads and ford streams to go to tiny remote towns, and have demonstrations of local cooking, etc. There is a 45 minute hike into the jungle to explain flora and fauna. (I couldn't manage the walk, and waited in the truck. The drivers were incredibly kind to me.) The expedition ended with a great lunch on a beautiful beach. We also took a house tour in town, sponsored by a local charitable group. Of course, we saw an entirely different P. V.
Spectacular homes and views! We had a wonderful week, and hope we can return.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel RIU Jalisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel RIU Jalisco

Address: Avenida de Los Cocoteros, Sn-Lote K, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel RIU Jalisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In Riviera Nayarit, overlooking the Pacific Ocean * Located on Playa de Flamingos beach, 2 km / 1.5 Miles from Nuevo Vallarta * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 5-story building * 2 km / 1.25 Miles from various shops * 13 km / 8 miles from the airport * 300 m / 990 ft. From Flamingos Golf Club * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel RIU Jalisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Hotel
Clubhotel Riu Jalisco Riviera Nayarit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel RIU Jalisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.