We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort w/ strict rules” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de lo Cocoteros, Lotes 32 y 33, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort w/ strict rules”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Dreams villamagna was beautiful. The rooms were perfect- very big, clean, comfortable beds, huge balcony with jacuzzi, and a stocked mini bar. The food was just OK. Some restaurants were better than others. The Oceana for lunch was great- loved the shrimp burrito. The staff is very friendly- HOWEVER- if you are one who enjoys to drink a beverage in the pool, this resort is NOT for you. They are extremely strict on people drink in the pool or even near the pool! We not only were yelled at, but also given lectures about breaking this rule. Never have I been to a resort in Mexico where you can't drink in the pool... It really killed the pool atmosphere. You can drink in a car in Mexico, but not in a pool... Something doesn't add up.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Quality Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest ,

I really appreciate your comments during your stay, this is really helpful for us and give us the opportunity to still working in our different areas in order to provide a quality service to everyone of our guests. We are happy to know you enjoyed your all your in your room,the restaurants and specially our staff.

Regarding our pool drinks regulation let me inform you that Dreams Villamagna has been awarded the highly-coveted AAA Four Diamond award for the past 6 years, including in 2014. The resort had to meet high standards of criteria in categories such as accommodations and food and beverage in order to receive this honor. We apologize if you did not feel comfortable with this activity, we are just ensuring to our guest the best practices for themselves.

We would like to invite you on the near future to consider our resort as your next holidays and we'll be more than pleasant to provide you our best services to you; feel free to contact us anytime.

Regards.

Horacio Flores
Quality & Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    561
    284
    101
    67
See reviews for
736
1,141
32
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We flew from Manchester on the 10th if July, we stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks the transfer from the airport is only 25 minutes which is great after a long flight. We checked in at reception and got served a cold drink. We were then showed directions to our room we had a 2nd floor tropical room. The room was very big! It included everything you needed hair dryer and iron. It had a fridge which was filled daily it contained fruit juice , corona and a fizzy drinks and water. The balcony was also big with a jacuzzi.
The breakfast was great and had sausage bacon beans and eggs. There was also alot of Mexican style breakfast and plenty of bread , cereals and pancakes. Around half 9-10 the world cafe did get busy for breakfast and you had to
Que so i would recommend you went to the seafood restaurant just by the pool as it serves the same food just no Que. all other food is great during the day you can use the world cafe the snack bar or the seafood restaurant. We never used the world cafe which is buffet style. In the seafood the serve burgers , English style fish and chips ,burritos,salads, hot and cold sandwhiches , and lots more! They also bring out nachos to everyone with a hot dip! You get served in here. The snack bar serves burgers ,hot dogs , pizzas and fries! You can also help yourself to salad and nachos with cheese sauce. On a night we used the buffet world cafe once it was good food but not much variety. We used the other restaurants every other night. The steak bar was very nice and good quality steaks. The seafood restaurant was also very good and all good service. We went to the Italians once and ordered carbonara but it wasn't very nice this might he down to it being cooked differently to in England.we did not use the Italians again but there was a lot to choose from on the menu which was probably better. We did not use the Mexican restaurant overall I would say the steak restaurant was the best. There is a variety of bars during the day we used the bar down by the pool and nearest the beach it was very good service and most of the time they came to us on the sun beds and took out order and brought over the drink. Julio was very good and was always over to see if we wanted another drink. On a night we used the sushi bar it served great cocktails and the sushi was also very nice with a great view. The service in here was also very good! We booked our holiday threw thomsons they did not offer many trips , we booked a island trip with them
Which was good but a bit pricey. I would recommend the pirate trip ask the thomsons rep they don't advertise it but they do it , the night time on here was great ! The best trip we done was to vallarta zoo it we done this out selves we got a taxi there it took 1 hour and cost around £12 there and £15 back and we paid around £49 each for the gold package this included 2 drinks food to feed the animals a souvenir each and a t-shirt and also time in to play
With the monkeys and baby tigers and leapard this was well worth the money would definitely recommend.

Overall holiday was brilliant and would defiantly go back!
Thanks for a great holiday.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Quality Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest ,

Thank you very much for posting your review and let us know every single detail of your holiday. All this feedback is really important for us and help us to still improving the service we offer.

We like you have enjoyed our welcome drink after a long trip and also the room with a beautiful tropical view as well as the breakfast options and all the different restaurants that offers variety of meals and gourmet options. I'm pretty sure your comments will be helpful for another people who read your review and will have another perception of what they can have in Dreams Villamagna. Most of the people is waiting to find this kind of comments in order to decide their next holidays and we appreciate your participation on this with them and obviously to let us know your feelings on your previous stay.

We would love you can consider your next trip with us and we'll have the opportunity to receive you as a repetitive guest and pamper you as you deserve it. Feel free to contact us anytime, it will be our pleasure assist you.

Best regards.

Horacio Flores
Quality & Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laredo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed 7 days the week of 4th of July. Had tropical view 8th floor which was Great since it would rain in the evenings and we sat in our balcony sometimes in jacuzzi. It was my husband, 6 year old granddaughter and myself. Food was very good always found loungers where we wanted the pools were never crowded ,we always had a drink in our hand it was just awesome. Our suite was prefect very spacious, we had requested 2 beds but only 1king size available they brought in twin roll away that fit perfectly between king bed and sofa. Beach was very clean as was the whole resort, employees friendly and ready to help. GREAT 4th of July celebration and of course the kids club my granddaughter loved the girls. The only negative would be that of the 2 elevators 1 was out of order and the other super slow and very hot.
We really enjoyed our stay that my husband and I are planning our next trip to Dreams Villamagna in a couple of months for just the two of us.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Quality Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest ,

First of all I want to thank you for your time to post your review and let us know everything about your past holidays with us. We are happy to know you had a great time and enjoyed your room and the tropical view and the jacuzzi time as well as the food and the entire resort and 4th of July celebration, our entertainment team made their best to indulge everyone there.

Regarding the elevator we am aware of this situation and we offer you our apologies for this detail, as you know we are always working to do our best and sometime we have to do this kind of thing in order to give the right maintenance to all our stuff and take care for the security of our guests.

I'm happy to know that you'll consider Dreams Villamagna for your next trip in a couple of months, feel free to contact us anytime prior or during your stay in order to have more enjoyable your time with us.

We look forward to see you soon.

Regards.

Horacio Flores
Quality & Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I went to this all inclusive resort for our anniversary. We do not have kids and this was a family friendly resort but kids were definitely not an issue. Lots of activities for everyone but also great if you just want to sit back and relax with a drink in your hand. The staff was amazing, super attentive. Rooms were really modern and huge! Our rainforest tropical view was pretty spectacular with the mountains and clouds in the background. One thing, the pillows on the bed smelled terrible. We asked for them to be replaced several times, which they did with no problem at all, until we found decent pillows to sleep on. Food was ok, not excellent, not bad. Overall I was very satisfied with our stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Quality Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest ,

First of all I want to thank you for your time to post your review and let us know your feedback for your past holiday with us.

We are happy to know that you liked our service, your room and the spectacular view from Riviera Nayarit, we are blessed to be part of this and have the opportunity to share with a lot of people who came and enjoy our resort.

I also want to apologize to those details you mentioned who was not completely satisfactory to you, this has been already took care for our specific departments and the persons in charge of each area will do the necessary to supervise that this kind of things don't happen again. Our main goal is fulfill our guests needs and we always work to do our best, that's why we appreciate your comments and be sure we'll still working hard to improve our service day by day.

I also want to take this opportunity to invite you to visit us on the near future and consider your next trip to Dreams Villamagna, we surely exceed your expectations as you deserve it. Feel free to contact us anytime, it will be our pleasure assist you.

Regards.

Horacio Flores
Quality & Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This resort is great for families. The pools are very child friendly with no swim up bar (which I personally love because those totally gross me out). The beach is outstanding. The sand and surf make the ocean absolutely accessible. The service is excellent and it is obvious that everyone there works very hard to offer excellent customer service. The food was marginal. The food itself was not bad, but the choices seemed very limited.

Because of that, we ventured off on the "Sip and See" tour of the NOW Amber Resort in PV. They offered us opportunities to venture off site and enjoy the hospitality at their sister resort. We excitedly made reservations at the Tamarindo Mexican Restaurant through the concierge at the front desk.

I can't say enough about the food there. It is some of the best Mexican and margarita's I have had- which says a lot because I live in Colorado. HOWEVER- when we got there, we ended up having to sit outside because we were never told that there was a dress code. Had we been alerted of that fact, we would have happily obliged by my husband wearing pants instead of shorts. Thankfully, they had a place for us to sit because the round trip fare is $40USD and it would have been a huge waste of money and effort on my families time.

Also, when we checked into the hotel, my husband surrendered his drivers license. I am not sure why, but those are the rules. When we left the hotel, we forgot to get the license. Who wouldn't with two tired kids and a few margaritas? When we arrived back to Villamagna, we were told by the folks in the lobby. But, there was nothing anyone would do to help us get the license back. When we went to talk to Felix the head concierge, he basically made it our problem that we forgot the license and either we pay for the taxi to bring the license to us, or we figure out our own way to get the license back.

So we decided to go back to the hotel because they had a hibachi/ Japanese restaurant which we thought the kids would love. We made reservations for our last night of the trip. We talked up the Hibachi to the kids, and were really quite excited about the food.

We all gathered into the taxi (again $40USD fare) and headed off. We knew to dress in pants since our first snafu, and were hungry and happy to get to the restaurant. When we arrived to the NOW Amber Himatsu restuarant, we were told that we didn't have reservations and couldn't sit at the Hibachi tables, but regardless, kids under the age of 18 are not allowed at the Hibachi tables. So, even if we did have a reservation, we couldn't sit anyway.

They sat us once again outside which in this restaurant was a sub par offer. We were extremely frustrated about the lack of communication between the two resorts, and ultimately the poor service we received from the head of concierge at the Villa Magna. We did everything we thought we were supposed to do, and in the end the information was never translated to us, or to the NOW Amber either.

This was an extremely frustrating and very disappointing part of our trip.

Aside from that, if you stay put on the resort, all should be fine. It was a wonderful place to spend some quality time with my family and the people there (aside from the head concierge) were amazing at what they do.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an oceanview suite. It is worth the upgrade based on the view you will have from the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Quality Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest ,

First of all I want to thank you for your comments during your stay with us, we always are open to receive all the feedback from everyone of our guests and that's how we ensure how we are doing our job.

Regarding your comments with our Sip and See program and the details you mentioned to us, we already investigate this case with our concierge colleagues and we would like to let you know that they did follow the right procedure with you. Beforehand I offer you my apologies for this incident that you passed during your visit.

Let me inform you that all our guest who decide to join our brother resort at Puerto Vallarta receive the following information.
- The first thing is call to our brother resort and ask the hotel availability to make sure you be able to enjoy everything we offer.
- Once we have their confirmation and they're able to receive our guests we let our guests know that they have to leave an ID on their arrival - hotel procedure. At the end of your visit you must go and ask for it.

The day you asked to our Hotel Concierge you left your ID he offered you wait for someone who can bring it to you or ask for a taxi and pay as the regular service. Apparently you had plans to go back another day to enjoy the resort again and you confirmed to him that was not a problem to you.

I'm really surprised to know that you made a reservation for a restaurant, as our unlimited luxury benefits our restaurants as well any of our brothers resorts don't accept reservations due to our policy, this information is always reminder to any of our guests since their arrival, I'm pretty sure you received this information upon arrival as well as our Portofino restaurant was only for adults (the only restaurant with this rule) the Hibachi in Puerto Vallarta has the same regulation and kids are not allow. On this cases we always offer alternative options if someone want to get their menu they can do it in another restaurant.

Once again I offer you my apologies if there was a misunderstanding on the information received, I already sent your very important review to our colleagues in order to confirm to our co-workers this information and make sure they give the right info to our guests.

As you mentioned this was the only detail during your holidays, I really hope you have another opportunity to visit us and give us the chance to make an enjoyable stay, be sure that we'll do our best to fulfill your needs and feel free to contact us anytime - it will be our pleasure assist you.

Regards.

Horacio Flores
Quality & Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked through Thomson to stay here in July 2014. Was slightly worried before we came and relied on other reviews to settle our nerves.

Can honestly say, it was an amazing venue. Rooms were lovely- the best out of all Thomson hotels in the area apparently. We never had a problem with getting sun lounger by the pool nor did we ever see one time share rep- both things were negative points mentioned in other reviews.

You get 24 hour room service and a mini bar with corona, cokes etc in- which was great. The restaurants were great a nice selection and the buffet was also adequate- considering I don't like buffet restaurants. We found that as we stayed for 2 weeks we did get a little bored of the restaurants even though there was loads to offer- so went out twice- Vista Grill and Barcelona Tapas. Both have AMAZING views of the bay and beautiful food!

Service was amazing- honestly the best I've ever had from any hotel. Noemi and Julio were our favourites and got to know us by day 2.

The rooms are fully air conditioned and have wifi. We had a tropical view and felt no need to pay more money for sea view- as actually our view was pretty epic!

You must do the bike ride with the entertainment team every day- they take you to see the dolphins and the zoo- which are cool !!

I would say the Spa is quite overpriced compared to the UK but it does offer a lot and we went in and it looks great for those that want to pay to use it.

The evening shows are also great however, if your staying for 2 weeks they do repeat weekly so don't feel one night you have missed it as if your there the next- your catch it again! The best was the fire show!

Overall a great holiday! Will recommend to everyone I know!

Room Tip: Tropical rooms are just fine but obviously the higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Quality Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest ,

Thank you for your kindly review and let us know the best of your vacations.

I appreciate you let the people know that we have no problem getting sun chairs around the pool, this is very important to comment because we are always working on that specific details who are mentioned for our previous guests, this means that we really take care on their reviews.

We are happy to know you liked the service provided in your two weeks of vacation and this was the best service received at any of the hotels you have visited. Special mention to our colleagues Noemi & Julio for their assistance to you, we'll share your positive comments with them in order to let them know their job is really appreciate for our guests and specially for you. this will help us a lot to nominate them for their service during this month, at the end we'll have the person who will be worthy for their best practices of service.

Regarding the SPA prices I'll forward your comment to our management to consider it, I'm pretty sure it worth the service we provide there.

Once again I appreciate your feedback and I want to invite you to give us the opportunity to be your next option on your coming holiday, we'll do our best for you anytime.

Regards.

Horacio Flores
Quality & Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful area. The beach is gorgeous and the view from the towers are great... But not much else good over here. It was mostly residents, older couples and families. It was hard to find a pool chair at times. The pool area was very quiet, and not much happening. The 'upgrade' to preferred club wasn't worth it, there was not premium liquor at the hotel. The food was not very good compared to other AM Resorts we have been at in the past, and there was never much selection. We were very disappointing in our stay here. We had trouble with our room (noisy - right below the lounge/bar), and staff were not helpful at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for the view - but not below their Sky Bar because you'll hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Quality Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest ,

First of all I appreciate you give us the opportunity to host you during your stay in Dreams Villamagna and share your experience with us.

I'm really surprised to know that your expectations was not exceeded and your disappointing in our resort is notorious.

Regarding the pool chairs let me tell you that most of our guests can find a place where stay, we do have the necessary stuff considering the pool & beach area, however we still working on this to provide the regular maintenance and have enough.

Our Preferred section offer unlimited luxury and premium liquor every day, my apologies if you did not find any specific brand during your stay. All our restaurants offers different options as well our International buffet - I can't find the reason why you didn't enjoyed our 5 gourmet restaurants. Nevertheless be sure I'll share your comments to our management in order to verify this with the right person and consider another options to offer to our guests.

Our main goal on this company is provide the best service to all our guests and we constantly give special trainings to our staff on each department, one of this is to offer the best quality service anytime. I'm surprised that none helped you as you mentioned in your room detail. My apologies for that and I'll take care personally this with the right department to ensure they always do the best for everyone here.

I sincerely offer you my apologies and I would like you give us the opportunity to host you on the near future to change your previous stay, please don't hesitate to contact us anytime to help you, it will be our pleasure assist you.

Regards.

Horacio Flores
Quality & Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de lo Cocoteros, Lotes 32 y 33, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Villamagna brings Unlimited-Luxury® to families, couples and friends in a picturesque setting with the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Nuevo
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.