We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the sky bar, mediocre experience compared to other dreams locations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta to your Saves list
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo de lo Cocoteros, Lotes 32 y 33, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love the sky bar, mediocre experience compared to other dreams locations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My family and I just returned from a week at the resort. Other than Christmas Eve and Christmas, the place was relatively empty. Having stayed at the dreams resorts in Nuevo Vallarta and puerto Vallarta I have to admit that I prefer the the puerto Vallarta location. Whereas the puerto Vallarta resort was large and offered an abundance of activities, this resort was limited due to the condominium presence. Because 2/3 of the resort population is made up of condo owners, the resort limits the noise to please the condo owners. This means no loud speakers and all the evening shows are indoors in unattractive locations. That being said, the food was pretty good. I rarely ate at the buffet (only once), and instead frequented the restaurants. The resort has 3 speciality restaurants: Mexican, Italian, and sea food. Oceana, the seafood restaurant, is open for breakfast everyday offering delicious breakfast options. The service at the restaurants could be improved - long waits and often we weren't seated until they could "locate more menus" but hey, you're on vacation so I imagine that's not a huge concern. My favorite elements of the resort were the sky bar (open at night, an outdoor rooftop bar with plush seating), ocean front bar (had swing seats in addition to bar stools), and the free room service (comes in handy after late nights at the sky bar). The staff is quite attentive and friendly. This is a good place for families as well as large groups. My family of four traveled with another family and we never had trouble asking for tables for 7. My only complaint was that the room had poor lighting. Overall, the resort was clean, safe, tasty, and fun.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    562
    284
    101
    66
See reviews for
738
1,141
33
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent one week at Dreams Villamagna from Dec 15-22nd, our first all inclusive experience. Our first impression was not very good as we had to wait over an hour to get a room, well after the 3:00 check in time. Then we were given a room on the top floor, which sounded like an upgrade but it wasn't. It was right beside the elevator so we could hear all the traffic coming and going and on the top floor right outside 1814 there is a consierge desk where the staff likes to hang out. So I recommend asking for a room away from the elevators on every floor, especially if you like to nap and like your peace and quiet like we do. Also the bar on the roof top closes around 12:30 and you can hear the boom boom boom of the music in this room. Fortunately, the front was very accommodating and were able to give us another room the very next day.
Here are some things I agree with that others have commented on.
Pros
1. Beautiful grounds, very clean resort and beach
2. Variety of foods and drinks
3. Excellent beach and poolside drink service
4. Ocean view is definitely worth paying more for
5. Prompt room service
6. Accommodating staff overall
7. Beach toys available to rent
8. Close to the airport

Cons
1. Washrooms are far from the beach area
2. Lots of processed foods in the World Cafe- especially breakfast (waffles, french toast, pastries etc were terrible if you know what fresh food should taste like).
3. Overly salty foods in all restaurants in general
4. Not everything is freshly prepared- We ate in El Patio and my lasagne was luke warm. Obviously heated in a microwave.
5. Buffet is lacking variety- same veggies everyday and recycled dinner items served with new sauce.
6. Slow drink service in the buffet

I thought the wait staff on the beach and pool side were excellent. As for the others in the restaurants, it was very obvious when there was a manager on site overseeing the service and when there was not, like on weekends. However, depite the cons we had a very relaxing time at Dreams and our son loved the pool and the beach. It was really easy to unwind. Unfortunatly, the check out was a gong show. They only have 3 people there to check out everyone so we ended up waiting over 30 minutes to do so. There is a line of people at 12 noon waiting to check out so if you're in a rush make sure to get there early.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in 14- they're beside the elevators. Ocean view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us regarding your stay at Dreams Villamagna Resort & Spa. We are concerned to know that we did not completely fulfill your expectations and we deeply regret the inconveniences you encountered. As a service oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guest’s expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest’s experiences play a key role in this continuous process. I would like to share with you, that your observations had been reviewed by our Room Division Manager, always doing our best to provide guests unforgettable vacations & comfort.

Again, we do value your comments very much and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and experience our everyday improvements in our services.

Kindest Regards,
Ivette Chavez
Quality Control Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went to Puerto Vallarta around Thanksgiving holidays, and had a great time at this hotel. My wife and 7 year old son were with me. We also had another friend with his family of 4 traveling with us and staying at this hotel. We stayed for 5 days.

We had airport transfers arranged. It was pretty smooth. The hotel lobby was nice and open, although I was expecting it to be somewhat more spacious. We were welcomed with a glass of mimosa. The checkin process was fast. We had requested a king bed, but were given a room with 2 doubles. They compensated by giving us an upgrade from partial ocean view to ocean view.

Our room was on the 6th floor tower 1. We had a direct view of the ocean above the trees in front and the other towers on our left. The balcony was large with a private Jacuzzi. The room was clean and tidy. There were some issues such as the placement of the TV, or the positioning of the lights, etc. But we were overall happy with the room.

The facilities were nice and clean. The swimming pools were quite large - the kids loved it! There was a jacuzzi which was adult-only. There was an infinity pool as well. The beach was right on the edge of the hotel.

There were 5 restaurants and a few bars in the property. We liked pretty much all of them. Our favorite was the seafood restaurant. There were a couple of restaurants where kids were not allowed - the formal Italian Portofino and the sushi bar Gohan. We arranged for the kids to be in the kids' activity area while we went to those. Food and drinks were very good and since it was all-inclusive, we were not pressured to plan ahead too much.

The service was excellent for the most part. We used the room service for morning tea. The waiters were nice, most of the staff friendly. There were not too many time-service sales agents chasing us down, which was a lot of relief compared to our last couple of visits to Mexican tourist hotels.

The beach was fairly wide, kids had a lot of fun building sand castles. The water was kind of sandy, but warm and nice. There were vendors on the beach, but not pushy. There were jet-ski and parasailing offered as well. One of the days we were able to catch a glorious sunset right on the ocean.

With so many parameters in an all-inclusive vacation, it is hard for everything to be perfect. There were a few things that we did not like:
- Last night of our stay, there was this irritating noise of some metal parts clanging every 10-20 mins for a few seconds. That messed up our sleep completely. The hotel maintenance staff came in but could not fix the issue
- It was very hard to get ice-cream as part of the meals. The kids were kind of disappointed
- The breakfast/lunch buffet area was too small for the size of the hotel. There was often a wait for the tables during peak hours.

But overall, this was a great trip. I will certainly recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us to be part of your vacation & for sharing with us your feedback. It is very important for our company and staff to receive all of our guest’s compliments and commentaries, I will like to share with you that our Room Division Manager has reviewed your suggestions, all of your guests reviews help us every day to improve our quality in our services, . We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Dream, our 5 themed restaurants, the certified beach of Nuevo Vallarta, our luxurious rooms, shismmering large Swimming pools, our and personalized services are ready to welcome you back anytime. Once again thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in this your home away from home in the near future.

It is a pleasure!

Best Regards
Ivette Chavez
Quality Control Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort from Dec 11 - Dec 18 2012. Although it appears nice at first we had several things we didn't like that will keep us from returning to this resort.
First of all, the shower. The first day we went to use the shower, NO water came out. After several minutes leaving the pipes on water did come out but it was scalding hot with little water pressure. We did call front desk and they indicated they would check into it. Next day, the water in the shower lasted long enough to get soapy but not long enough to rinse off. Again, when the water came back on so you could rinse off it was scalding hot. So we called the front office again and were told they would have someone fix it. From here on out the water in the shower lasted long enough to take a 3 min shower. (P.S. we were in an UPGRADED room 1816)
Every time we flushed the toilet the pipes in the wall would bang quite loudly for several minutes. God forbid if you have to go in the middle of the night!!
Second major issue for us was the pushy sales people for AM Resorts. We finally agreed to do their "presentation" after being harassed every time we came out of the elevator. We were told they would make it worth our while offering us $200.00 in resort money to spend as we pleased. We were also told it would only take an hour maybe hour and a half. We only received $50.00 in resort money because we did not have a major credit card and the presentation took 3 hours!!! Finally, after 3 hours they tell us that the program costs $19,800 and we have to come up with 25% down that day!! HELLO!! If they would have told us that from the beginning I would have respectfully declined. To top it all off when we told them we were not interested they were upset with us!!
The bathrooms really are far away from the beach which is a pain unless you like to pee in the ocean.
The spa services are outrageously priced. We walked the beach and found a place we could get massages for as low as $35.00 pp and they were awesome!!
Positives:
The staff at the resort are very friendly and we appreciated that a lot!! The food at the restaurants was really good as well!!

We would not return to this resort and are hesitant to stay at any AM resort in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are rated poor due to the water problems in our room. The room itself is very nice and we lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion in this forum. Your feedback is very important; we are very serious about customers’ satisfaction and you may rest assured that all your comments were already forwarded to our Division Managers. We sincerely regret to know that your experience was not so positive. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay; this is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our Resort to our valued customers. It is our compromise to make our customers feel as home.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your opinion. We would like to have the opportunity to host you again and change your perception.

Best Regards,
Ivette Chavez
Quality Control Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We visited Dreams Villamagna in November and had a fantastic time, once again. This was our seventh visit to DVM and our sixth time this year. We stayed in one of their condos this time and loved the extra room with our family of four. See attached pictures. Greg1701 from Denver, nice job on your pictures again this trip. You do a great job!

If you are considering staying at the DVM, read the reviews and see how many people keep coming back multiple times. There are many people that have enjoyed the excellent customer service here as we have. It truly is second to none.

If you need a resort that will allow you to eat and drink in the pool, this might not be what you are looking for. If you are looking for a party place with wild party bars you probably won’t like it here. But if you are looking for a relaxing resort with great food and the best service from their staff I would highly recommend Dreams.

We have gotten to know most of the staff very well and we are truly treated as family. Not only have they gone out of their way for us but they have repeatedly gone way beyond any expectations for many other guests that we have talked with.

On our previous reviews we have thanked the special people that work here and there are several. If you need anything while visiting here, talk with Brenda Landeros, she is an absolute sweetheart. Corona with the entertainment team will do anything to make your stay remarkable. He will kick your butt playing either tennis or ping pong. And Julio is by far the best pool server we have ever had, anywhere.

Congratulations Florian, you have assembled a first class team!

If you have any questions, please ask.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the very best, upgrade to one of their condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Florian and all the staff of Dreams Villamagna R esort & Spa we thank you for choosing us and for your loyalty. It is always pleasant to hear froma 7th time returning guest that is an honor to us, this tell us that we are heading in the right direction to achieve our goals. Rest sure that I will personally thank the staff for a well done job and make them know that a significant part of Dreams Villamagna success belongs to their daily effort of performing a professional, friendly and personalized service. I will make sure to let Corona and Florian know about your recognitions.

Once again thank you very much for your excellent review. Please keep in touuch through facebook.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

It is a pleasure!

Kindest Regards,
Brenda Landeros
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just got back from a 7 day stay at Dreams Dec 14-21st. I must say this is one of the best places we have stayed. The hotel is beautiful, very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had service by the beach by Lore and Omar they provided the best personal service always with a smile. I would highly reccomend as a place to stay with a family or as a couple. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view rooms, very big with a jacuzzi tub on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your lovely opinion with us and with other readers in this forum. It is very pleasing to know that we did a good job and that we, as a team accomplished our main goal which is to satisfy all of our guests providing offering a consistent product operated by professional people and cutting-edge systems.Reviews like yours, gives us the certainty that we are heading on the right direction. Rest sure that I will personally thank the staff for a well done job and make them know that a significant part of Dreams Villamagna success belongs to their daily effort of performing a professional, friendly and personalized service.

Once again thank you for taking the time of sharing your travel experience, please keep in touch with our Public Relations Manager for any assistance when planning your next visit.

Best Regards,
Ivette Chavez
Quality Control Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I vacationed at Dreams Villamagna nov. 24 - dec. 1, 2012. We had an amazing time! The resort is beautiful and in a great location, very close to the airport and puerto vallarta. The beach is beautiful and perfect for swimming or body boarding. The food was excellent in the a la carte restaurants, and good in the buffet. Our favorite restaurant was Portofino (Italian). The gnocchi was the best I've ever eaten! The service provided by the friendly staff was always impeccable. We got to know a few of the staff during our stay. Fili, the bar tender in the lobby bar, was hilarious! We always had a great time at that bar. Antonio, at the Marlin bar, is an artist with alcohol! He is a very knowledgable and creative bartender and would always wow us with new drink creations :) Oscar, our server at the seaside grill, was friendly and attentive, remembering our orders and food preferences from day to day. Ricardo, in oceana restaurant, was great! Very personable. Christian was our favorite server in the buffet. He's great! I highly recommend this resort! It should be noted that this is a great place to relax, soak up the sun and enjoy the ocean breezes, but is not a "party, party, party!!!!" type of place. It's a bit more reserved due to the need to respect the permanent condominium residents that share the grounds :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsVM, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your stay with us at Dreams Villamagna Resort & Spa. It is always a pleasure to know that we have exceeded our guest’s expectations with the service provided by our dedicated staff, our installations and our delicious dinning. I will personally let Fili, Antonio, Oscar, Ricardo and Christian know about your recognition.

Thank you again for yor recommendation, we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again here at your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Ivette Chavez
Quality Control Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta

Address: Paseo de lo Cocoteros, Lotes 32 y 33, Nuevo Vallarta 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Nuevo Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Business Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nuevo Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreams Villamagna brings Unlimited-Luxury® to families, couples and friends in a picturesque setting with the Sierra Madre Mountains in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta Hotel Nuevo Vallarta
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Nuevo
Dreams Villamagna Nueva Vallarta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.