We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brushetta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guido's Italian Restaurant

Guido's Italian Restaurant
Blvd. de Nayarit, L-3, Nuevo Vallarta 63735, Mexico
322 29 7 10 61
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cozy indoor dining room, gated street side palapa and private chef's table
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Brushetta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My mom and I ordered brushetta and it was delicious. And in true Puerto Vallarta style, the service was impeccable. Barely making eye contacting and we would have 2 or 3 waiters rush over to us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faribault, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Always a favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from a trip to NV. I was just there 2 months ago! What can I say, I love NV!!! Guidos is always a favorite of ours. We normally try to eat traditional mexican but love to go to Guidos for a change of pace. I always have the chicken california. Chicken stuffed with shrimp, cream cheese and bacon served with pasta. Yummy!!! Must try this place!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saguenay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice to have lunch and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We appreciate the decoration and the amability of the servers. The food is good and well prepare. The only thing, you do not have to be hurry... the service is long a bit... but for the rest is perfect..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“When you're stuck out in Nuevo, you kind of don't have a lot of choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great service, beautiful tables, average portion size, but sadly, sub-par food. We’ve walked by Guido’s many times and always ask “Do you have any tiramisu tonight?” and every night they would say “No – tomorrow”). Finally after asking nightly they explained their ‘tiramisu maker’ went back to Canada. We decided to give them a shot anyway and walked away a tad bit disappointed.

I ordered the eggplant parmesan and my husband ordered a pizza. The pizza looked and tasted just like a Tombstone or Tony’s pizza straight out of the frozen section. It’d be ok for kids, but I wouldn’t recommend it. I don’t know why hubby ordered it.

Anyway, our meal began with a basket of focaccia bread and oil and vinegar and a beautiful bottle of Mexican cab. The best thing about our dinner was the wine – it was absolutely delicious. I could have (should have) made my meal out of the wine and bread. I ordered the eggplant parm and it wasn’t bad. The sauce tasted homemade, with a rich, strong but slightly sweet flavor, not too thick, but not runny – just a perfect consistency. The eggplant was breaded but I really didn’t detect any seasoning in the coating. I love when my eggplant or chicken parm has a hint of Italian herbs in the breadcrumbs. It really wasn’t bad – but it didn’t make me moan. It came with a side of pasta that was somewhat dry and thus very bland.

In lieu of tiramisu, we were given an ice cream chocolate cake sundae that was drizzled with a raspberry sauce. A perfect ending to the feast.

Don’t miss the fantastic guitarist strumming away nightly until about 9 out on the patio.

I must add Guido’s has the most beautiful tables and chairs I’ve seen in any of the restaurants. I just fell in love with them and want them for my home! As weird as it sounds, it kind of made up for the mediocre food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Service...Best Fun...Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had the good fortune to hear of this restaurant while staying in Mexico. From the moment we arrived we were met with a happy group of waiters that did everything to make our visit enjoyable. Our waiter Guillermo...otherwise known as "Bill" was wonderfully fun. He helped me learn the finer points of taking a shot of tequila. I told him that he should look for this review because they deserve the kudos for excellent food and service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
Nuevo Vallarta, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Guido's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guido's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;