We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Lopez Mateos 1308 Oriente | Colonia, Los Gavilanes, Leon 37270, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Leon
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Pro's - rooms looking over the beautiful courtyard or pool. Had a very nice classic theme that was warming and relaxing. it's contacted to Applebee's so not to worry about hailing a taxi or walking .....especially in the rain.

Con's - I speak very little Spanish so it was hard to communicte with staff. The beds were super HARD!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csnider69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
McCalla, AL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, and the people were friendly, but the hotel needs some serious maintenance. The A/C in my room didn't work, and filled up with bugs when I opened the window for fresh air. It was noisy due to being right on the main street. I did NOT receive a wakeup call, and the clock was wired into the wall and switched off when I turned the light off!!! Two out of three computers in the business center died when I was on one. The exercise room was a joke. The weight machine could not be adjusted, and was set only for about 40 lbs. The treadmills were worn out. The only good thing about this hotel was that it is directly across the street from the leather disctrict.

Room Tip: Get one in the back of the hotel, so the street noise doesn't keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leon, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Michael M,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I was scheduled to stay there three nights, checked out after the second. I should have trusted my instincts and not even checked in.

First impressions:
I arrived at the hotel later in the evening - after 10:30 pm. Arriving at the front entrance, there were 2 "working girls" sitting on the bench at the front entrance. When I checked in the girls came into the hotel and had a conversation with the concierge. Businesses such as this that are permitted to enter the hotel put guest at risk.

My room:
My normal security check for a room is to make sure window and door locks are operational. While the window locked securely, the door was very loose, moving about 1/2 inch forward and back. While the two additional locks will secure the door, one can only wonder what could have cause the door to be this loose in the first place? It also required me to do additional checks when I exited the room to ensure the latch was secure. When you leave a room, you cannot secure the interior locks, leaving you to wonder how secure your belongings really are or who could be in your room when you return?

Stairs, elevators and garages:
The elevator and stair in the hotel was not monitored by hotel staff nor did it require a room key to operate or access. The parking garage is directly under the hotel. If a person enters the parking garage they have access to the entire hotel! This places all guest at increased risk! Not a good thing when staying in a country with high security warnings!

Robbery of another guest:
The reason that I finally said enough and left!
In the middle of the day the room next to me was robbed with a guest in the room. The guest had answered the door when a person said they were there to fix the cable. The guest was bound and robbed at knife point.

Hotel reaction:
None
They hung up on the guest 5 times when she called for help
They did not contact the police
Police were finally contacted by another guest

This is not a reflection of all Holiday Inn hotels. I have stayed at a lot and find them to be above and beyond this one. This is a poor reflection of a very good chain.

Room Tip: Poor security - Holiday Inn will not help you if things go bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billster_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
359 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our choice since it was located directly across the avenue from the entrance to the Zona Piel. Having stayed in hotels that were converted haciendas the previous nine nights, we were ready for a modern motel with good lighting and some other amenities which tend to spoil us. The hotel lacked charm but then again we didn't expect any. Rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. We did feel that the room rates after all added taxes where a bit high but then again, Leon is an industrial business center.

If headed for Leon to do some leather shopping the location cannot be beat and it is a short walk to carry loaded back to your room!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We had the greatest stay in this particular hotel!. We had traveled abroad to many countries and all over the USA and must say that we were treated so great at this hotel and accomodations were so good that we wanted to let others know. We are eager to make arrangements to go back and hopefully stay in same room (hope current staff happens to stil be employed), but also sure hotel employs the best.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richamy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Hotel was any typical Holiday Inn...this is located in a busy section of Leon, close to the leather district for shopping and food. A market is across the street to stock up on bottled water and tequilla and food/snacks if interested.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmlewis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week, to attend the 2010 WRC Rally Mexico. Several of the racing teams were also staying there. The hotel is at the intersection of the main road from the airport, and the main road into the historic downtown. It is within easy walking distance to the Poliforum (convention center), the soccer stadium, museums, and the Explorer Park. It is about a half an hour walk from downtown, but worth the effort. In Leon it can be difficult to find hotel staff that speak English (it isn't a tourist destination for the most part), but the Holiday Inn had enough to get by. The rooms were clean and modern. They have free Wi-Fi. They serve a decent buffet breakfast, but the other meals were average. The restaurant is open 24-hours a day. They have complimentary secured underground parking. If you're into shopping, there are two shopping malls across the street that mostly have leather goods.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.7 mi away
Real de Minas Express Hotel
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Leon at The Poliforum
1.1 mi away
Radisson Poliforum Plaza Hotel Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
One Leon Poliforum
One Leon Poliforum
#6 of 51 in Leon
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotsson Hotel
Hotsson Hotel
#3 of 51 in Leon
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Express Leon
City Express Leon
#20 of 51 in Leon
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leon

Address: Blvd Lopez Mateos 1308 Oriente | Colonia, Los Gavilanes, Leon 37270, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Leon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Leon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leon is situated approximately two miles from downtown Leon and the Poliforum & Fairground Center . Poliforum Cultural Center is 0.5 miles and we are 12 miles from Del Bajio International Airport. Local attractions include Leather mall, Explora Interactive Museum for Kids, Plaza Mayor Mall, La Gran Plaza Mall, Centro Max Mall, and Metropolitan Recreational Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leon Hotel Leon
Leon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leon Mexico - Guanajuato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing