We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, delicious restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leon

Hotel Leon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Leon to your Saves list
Hotel Leon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Madero 113, Leon 37000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Leon
Leon, Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great value, delicious restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011 via mobile

If you're looking for a decent inexpensive place to stay, this is your place. It's an older building, but it has its charms. It's a great value and an excellent location right on the zocalo.

Even if you don't stay at the Hotel, try their restaurant. A long time favorite of locals, the food is superb. If you happen to come in late summer or fall be sure to try their chile enogadas.

While this is not a five star place, it has character. I found it clean and experienced a friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
3
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I arrived to this hote because a local friend recommended it to me. At the beginning the service was great from the employees and I could said we had a decent stay but at the end everythign dissappear as we left our luggage secure in the lobby reception and we discover someone of the employees STOLE my itouch and my fiance's mobile.
Very cheeky and disapointed. All the people there seems to be nice but when come the time to face th problems they just DO NOTHING. That happen over a month ago ans its still miself the one calling them...jokers
I WOULDNT BE BACK THERE EVEN FOR FREE

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Conveniently located at the heart of downtown you can have a walk at the end of the day and you will find restaurant, drugstore, and other services around.

The hotel has 2 category of rooms, I recommend you the "most expensive" that could be around 60 USD per night. The hotel is not luxury, but you fell confortable because everything is clean, safe and nothing to worry about.

I recommend you the restaurant.

  • Liked — Safe, clean, location, price value
  • Disliked — No bad comments
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

This hotel is located in downtown Leon Mexico (25 minutes from BJX airport). It is in an old building which seems to require lots of maintenance. Everything looks old, not antique: the carpet, stairs, manual operated elevator, old furniture, TV, old lightning. This might have been an elegant hotel back in the 1960's or early 70's, not any more.
It is just 50 yards from the main square of Leon, a very nice place to walk around during the day.
I have stayed in this hotel for the last month and I have stayed in 4 different rooms, all of them were big for a single person or a couple. I got the Junior Suites. I see they have two kinds of rooms: standard ($45usd) and junior suite ($70 usd). The standard room is small.
You can call the elevator and it can take up to two minutes to arrive, or longer if the bell boy is helping a new guest with his laugage.
Rooms are clean, water is hot (except one morning out of 20), if you are a light sleeper you might be disturbed by the noise from other guests on the hall, or room next door.
There's free wireless internet access available only on second floor, and you can also pick free internet access at the lobby, but not from the hotel but from a Cafe next door.
The hotel has a fabulous restaurant. It is not fancy at all but it is delicious. Every meal from breakfast to dinner, and snacks, has been very good to me. Really, I was thinking on suggesting something but everything is great. Beware ... the restaurant opens at 7:15am and closes by midnight, and on Sundays it closes at 10pm. OK try the chilaquiles or the Carne a la TampiqueNa.
The staff is nice, polite, and helpful.
I would only recommend this hotel for budget travelers, and students. So why did I stay here for so long? That's what my customer paid for my lodging.
Hope this review is useful to you.

  • Liked — Excellent restaurant
  • Disliked — Everything was old
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are close to the hotel go for the restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leon

Address: Avenida Madero 113, Leon 37000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Leon 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leon Leon
Hotel Leon Mexico - Guanajuato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.