We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic chef!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia de la Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bahia de la Luna to your Saves list
Bahia de la Luna
Playa La Boquilla, Puerto Angel, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Puerto Angel
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a fantastic chef!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It is such a surprise to inch along a rugged road down to this rustic yet luxurious hotel on the Pacific. The palapa cabanas are comfortable but not luxurious. Don't look for hot water showers, for example and in the smaller cabanas don't even look for doors that shut to the bathrooms. But these rustic accommodations sit on or above the most wonderful private beach with the ocean accessible for unbeatable sea swimming. The hotel offers scuba gear and kayaks, but otherwise it is comfortable chairs in shade, hammocks and some awesome beds on the beach. which are truly exotic. Towels for the beach are provided. The restaurant is its five star aspect. You could not do better anywhere for fresh food and custom service. There might only be two or three choices on the dinner menu, but they all are off the chart for delicious and the Chef Coco sits with you to get exactly your preference for how you want everything cooked. Don't forget to try the Scorpion Mezcal, a unique finisher for those fantastic meals on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabanas on the beach if you are a couple. The larger cabanas with two bedrooms are up o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    32
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
114
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Many of the negative reviews have good points. This is not the Ritz. There are only sandy paths. There are bugs, and other wildlife. They don't advertise themselves as an upscale resort. This is a chance to get away. It is in a hidden cove that you have to take a dirt road to get to. We found the setting to be relaxing. We loved that there were cats there. Sweet ones. Also loved the wildlife and the opportunity to unplug.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My gal-pal and I went on a two week backpack trip around Mexico February 2012. We wanted to find a destination to relax on the beautiful southern Pacific Mexcican beach at the end of our adventures. Bahia de la Lunas website was spot-on! We made reservations before departing from Seattle, splurged a little on the price because it looked so great...and turned out to be the best decision of our trip. We arrived after a 7hr bus ride from Oaxaca to the pleasent, mellow staff...and breath-taking private cove of breezy coastal lustor. We were thinking 'how great would this be for a honeymoon!' ..as we were just a couple of chicks wanting some sun and chill time; reading, swimming & kayaking. I'd recommend planning to buy meals there,because it's fresh daily-changing menu (bring cash or they can add it to your room bill) are just the icing on the cake of this gem with its eco-friendly, low-impact bunch of bungalows. Such a delight: from the lovely Mexican chef to the locals who they employ to do the minimal house-keeping. You feel ok about being on vacation, because of the way their staff seem so a part of the place...unlike big resorts that damage the natural settings (look up Cancun's annual sand importaion) and dominate the local economy in much of Mexico's vacation spots. We really enjoyed the affordable water taxi upon departure and would recommend paying the few extra bucks. Have Fun!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a find! Bahia de la Luna is tucked away on the Oaxaca coast, an eco-style hotel with the friendliest staff you can imagine. Yes, there's no air-conditioning, but the sea breezes were lovely and there are fans in the rustic and comfortable rooms. Walking a few steps to a wonderful breakfast in the morning, and then right into the sea was a delight every day. The chef was inventive and enthusiastic for all meals, and the managers Dan and Maria Elena helpful and delightful! Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a beach side cabaña, which had excellent views. The bed got pretty hot at night under the mosquito net (there was a fan in the room). The shower was warmer than we expected, and the pressure was good. There was no door/partition to the toilet.
The breakfast (included) was good, and we also had breakfast and lunch from the menu which was also tasty. These meals and all the drinks were priced on the menu and were decent prices (50-70 pesos for additional breakfast and 50-90 for lunch, around 30 for beers). The dinners were amazing, with fresh fish each night, and the starters excellent. 1 of us were vegetarian, and again the food was good, however the total amount was a lot more, around 500 pesos for starters, mains and a dessert shared.
If the location wasn't so remote, we probably would have gone somewhere else for dinner/lunch to try the local cuisine. That said the meals we had were some of the best we've had on holiday, but you just need to be aware of the price & your budget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

it was an amazing experience!!!!
the food... AMAZING!!!!!
the site... AMAZING!!!!!
the staff.... COULDN'T B BETTER!!!!!
that cabins... SUPER COOL!!!!
really we can't wait to be back, everyone in the hotel guests and staff were ALL so happy and comfortable.
the food was truly good and original. 2 thumbs up for the amazing chef
I strongly recommend this place for a relaxing, romantic and FUN holiday!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Please do not listen to anyone who writes a bad review about Bahia de la Luna. The cabana we stayed in had beautiful views, was clean, no bugs and very effective mosquito nets over the very comfortable beds (very pretty like being in your own little tent). The whole place was like a little slice of paradise, the food was amazing; the best tuna steak I have eaten. Fires on the beach and tiki lights showing the way along the beach were a lovely touch. Loved the little wooden loungers.....so comfortable, not to mention the floating swinging beds on the beach. Dan and Marielena (sorry if thats spelt wrong) were really lovely, friendly, very accomodating but unintrusive. Showering in the sun warmed water was such an enjoyable experience. The beach was stunning, extremely clean and idyllic. Beautiful water and loads of fish to see when snorkelling around (good quality snorkels were given free of charge). The breakfast in the morning was very tasty with a good couple of options included in the price. Yes it is far from the buzz of towns and crazy bars, but if you are looking for some good R&R this is the place to go! Overall I think this was a wonderful place, I was sad to leave and I will be going back later this year for sure. I hope they have continued success.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia de la Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia de la Luna

Address: Playa La Boquilla, Puerto Angel, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Puerto Angel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Puerto Angel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rugged cliffs and dense tropical vegetation of Oaxaca’s Pacific coast is La Boquilla, a protected cove of white sand and still turquoise water. Virtually untouched by development, this pristine and secluded location – where osprey circle lazily over a silent beach – is the perfect setting for vacationers seeking a truly unique retreat experience.Protected by small islets and tall headlands the crescent beach provides a perfect setting for those vacationers seeking a truly unique retreat, for those who would rather hear the whisper of a gentle fan than the whirr of the air conditioner; for those who prefer snorkel and a sea kayak to the roar of a jet ski; for those who wish to practise yoga and sunrise meditation in an eco-sensitive environment and yet appreciate the best of fresh, natural, local foods & international wines in an exquisite water side setting, this may be the place you have always sought... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia de la Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia De La Luna Hotel Puerto Angel
Bahia De La Luna Oaxaca
Bahia De La Luna Puerto Angel, Mexico - Oaxaca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia de la Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.