We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Golf Course is a Disaster - Don't go here to play Golf” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sterling, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Golf Course is a Disaster - Don't go here to play Golf”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I and another couple took advantage of an ad in Golf Arizona Magazine for a party of 4 to play unlimited golf for 3 days (Feb. 22-24), two night stay in a 2 bedroom condo, and free breakfast two days for $206 USD per person. What a joke !!! We drove from Tucson, AZ - about 240 miles.
The golf course was without water last June for 29 days in June/July as a main pump broke. They saved the greens, but the fairways are dead, with many areas just dirt - other areas, dead grass and weeds. My wife and I played it once - many laughs, as we tied to place our golf balls on an area near where the ball landed, on weeds or dead grass if able.
The two bedroom condo was nice - but - maid walked in on us as we were enjoying cocktails (no knock at the door), smoke alarm beeping when we entered first time, 3 of us took showers with no hot water, before I did - only to find switch in the OFF position for the electric water heater, sheets on beds in 2nd bedroom like sandpaper, and one sink in 2nd bedroom had water shut off, as unable to open the sink drain.
Didn't care for the front desk people - just not personable, and attitude as if "I really don't care about your issues".
You have to wear an arm bracelet while there and they charge your credit card for a $150 deposit, and they said I will see that as a refund in 2 to 4 days after checkout - two issues I didn't care for. Treated us like wild college kids - but we are retired senior folks.
Played the golf course last year in January (2014), and really enjoyed it. Had we known about the golf course condition now, we would not have gone here.
We were in a room - B1201 - that needs maintenance - a phase one room. Two is nicer, and 3 is being built. Water damage (leakage) from above evident in bathrooms and main area. TV's were antiques - the old heavy box type. TV in main area suitable for a bathroom - just too small. No wifi in room - only in lobby.
Would I take advantage of the deal again if the golf course was in great shape - NO !!

Room Tip: Avoid the place - go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    94
    36
    22
    36
See reviews for
182
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I've stayed here. The biggest drawback is the front desk/check in staff. They really don't care about being nice, or pleasing guests. Both times I have checked in here, their answers to anything is NO. They do not even see IF they can help you, it's just NO. The other staff seemed very nice and willing to help. I had a couple of small issues with the unit, and they fixed it right away. It is loud, as the design of the buildings has a bad echo, perhaps not as bad if at one of the end units. Every night there seems to be at least one condo with a loud party. But, I will still return, as from what I have seen it is the best option.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very pleasant surprise! Arrived at Las Palomas Resort late in the afternoon, just prior to sunset. Checked in and headed up to our room on the 8th floor. Wow. What a beautiful sunset and view of the ocean. Two bedroom suite had ample room for our family of five. Pool area was clean and well taken care of. Overall we had a great week and would highly recommend staying at Las Palomas.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best water features of all the Sandy Beach resorts. If you want great swimming pools, large spa and swim up bar this is it! Great food at a great price. Located midway between Old Port and the reef.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean Front end unit for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The condo was beautiful, the furniture was top notch. Can't wait to go back when the weather is warmer. We went for new years and it was unseasonably cold for us desert rats. We will be back. Looking forward to lounging in the many pools and having adult beverages on the patio.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a good time there. The drive down might take some getting used to but once your are in Rocky Point I was very comfortable. The resort is very nice and the rooms are more like a condo than a hotel room. The pool is awesome and is a fun place to spend your time. We stayed there during the triathlon and it was entertaining to watch from the pool bar! Overall great weekend and a superior resort.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector V, General Manager at Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We experienced friendly service, and the resort was close to everything we wanted. The weather was unseasonably cold, yet nice enough for a walk on the beach to collect seashells. The front desk staff helped us with directions to corn and flour tortilla havens!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector V, General Manager at Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort is a luxurious oasis in Rocky Point – Puerto Peñasco - Mexico, with beautiful ocean view suites, world cuisine, the only links style Championship golf course of the region, a conference center, a luxury spa, beautiful beach and getaway vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Beach And Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach Hotel
Hotel Las Palomas Beach
Las Palomas Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.