We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend basking in the sun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great long weekend basking in the sun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a great place to stay in Rocky Point.... I completely recommend Las Palomas! We had our two year old with us and we had a great time hanging out in the heated pools and collecting seashells on the beach.

A few things to help you navigate the property:

1. The property has two "Phases"... phase I and phase II. Phase I was the original and is a bit older (by a couple of years). El Citron (the restaurant) is located in the lobby/check-in at the top of Phase 2.

2. Both sets of towers have one heated pool. The heated pool over in Phase 1 felt more family friendly but we never felt out of place with our crazy toddler over in the Phase 2 heated pool.

3. The towels kept coming up in reviews when I was looking up the resort. If you are a hotel guest (versus a personal guest of the condominium owner) you will be able to check out towels at the towel kiosk. There are two kiosks. The one over in the Phase I set of condos in by the poolside bar. The one over in Phase II is on the opposite side of that poolside bar. You will fill out a little yellow slip. You need to turn in all your towels by 8 pm the night prior to your departure in order to avoid charges. When you return your towels, the yellow slip will be returned to you. You will then turn in the yellow slip when you check out to avoid any charges.

4. The one thing that came up in reviews (that I agree with) is that maintenance of the condos can be a bit spotty. Our room's phone cable was MIA, which meant no land-line/no web access. We talked to people twice about getting this fixed and but the cable never made an appearance. We suspect that units in which the owner visits more often are probably better cared for.... not a deal breaker but just realize that it may happen... just go down to the pool during happy hour and enjoy an extra margarita on the beach! (2 for 1 drinks... hooray!)

Overall, this is an exceptional set of condos and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    99
    40
    22
    38
See reviews for
190
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This beautiful resort is such a contrast to what goes on outside the wall and in the small fishing community of Puerto Penasco. In a recent article I wrote for my blog I wrote:

"At the Las Palomas Resort we were treated to a upscale condo experience. Inside the resort the pools were constantly clean and a quick call to the desk would get you all the maid service you could desire. It is a gated resort with security. The food was wonderful and the water filtered/purified. Outside the resort was a different world." (read more: http://www.retireinstyleblog.com/2014/02/travel-to-puerto-penasco-mexico-where.html)

We have never tasted food as wonderful as that we were able to find on Sandy Beach where our resort and many others were located. The fish that comes out of the Gulf of California is freshly caught each day and the restaurant on the resort knew just what to do once it reached their kitchen. Service was not rushed which suited us perfectly.

Golf at the resort was wonderful. The dunes style course provided a wonderful challenge yet was playable by the less skilled players like me. It was very busy on Monday but not busy on Wednesday when we played the back nine before we came back to the states.

The caveat here is that you must be proactive if you have a problem or the service does not suit you. The Mexican people want to give your good service but cannot fix your problems if you do not tell them what is bothering you.

I recommend this as a beginners visit to Mexico. Everyone speaks English. If you speak Spanish that is even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Gulf of California. The only thing that might bother you is the level of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We always loved coming to this resort! It's clean, beautiful views, top notch food at very affordable prices INCLUDING ROOM SERVICE! Beautiful finishes throughout the condo/resort & attention to detail in the finishes are admirable except for the front desk/lobby. The only negatives was not being informed of an extra $150 hold on credit card in case of "damages" when making the reservations, the lobby was dark/poorly lit and front desk seemed in disrepair.
Needless to say, service was excellent and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Larger condos provide larger balcony's with access from the master suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Wonderful resort. The staff is very helpful. Beautiful puerto penasco I would definitely recommend. I drove from San Diego wanted. I loved the sea food at the malecon. The beach at sandy beach was beautiful. Water are really clean unlike other places lol. Can't wait to visit again :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The room is great and the attendants respectable. The rooms perfect and very clean.
The only problem we had this was, the beach had lots of broken glass and we notice that the vendors were leaving trash when they left. 2. Some of the beach vendors were more aggressive this time. We brought an older couple from Wisconsin and the vendors were a little more pushy with them. Jacuzzi water was warm not hot. There was a party next door and it took about a half an hour to quite them down around 11pm.
Sincerely,
James D. Alan

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Came down from Southern California for a 4-day weekend and It was amazing. I loved the grounds of the resort. The room was great, fully remodeled and clean. The pools were cold (expected that because traveled in the winter, though it was 80 degrees) and the restaurant was just OK... You can travel to town which is less than 10 minutes away and have amazing seafood and even american and Italian food. Overall it was a great time.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty nice. We were in the Topaz tower and had shade in the morning and sun in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This property is truly one of the best condos in Rocky Point! We stay here often, and it will always be our first choice. Property is first-class, and they keep everything spotless and safe.

This particular weekend, they offered a Valentine's package that included a special Valentine's dinner and breakfast each morning. Meals were incredible, and rivlaed many of the nicer American resorts we have visited as well.

Staff is very helpful, and everyone speaks English very well--which is appreciated by most of us uni-lingual Americans.

Some of the many pools were heated, allowing everyone to enjoy a vacation in the pool, instead of just looking at beautiful blue cold water.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong, the veiws are incredible. If you pick a higher floor room, depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort is a luxurious oasis in Rocky Point – Puerto Peñasco - Mexico, with beautiful ocean view suites, world cuisine, the only links style Championship golf course of the region, a conference center, a luxury spa, beautiful beach and getaway vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Beach And Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach Hotel
Hotel Las Palomas Beach
Las Palomas Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.