We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from Home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stay at Las Palomas every year!! Our entire family.. all 15 of us head down in 3 or 4 cars.. packed with all our fun things, sometimes food (Although they have a Sam's Club there now, so you don't need to bring food) and we have the time of our life's!! We ride the Jet Ski's!! Banana Boat!! And love walking the beach!! The kids absolutely love the lazy river and swimming all day and night!! Security is top of the line here!! We feel safe, and know that all of our needs will be met!!! Oh, and STREET TACO'S ARE THE BOMB!! We ate them EVERY NIGHT for dinner!!! We were there May 28th 2013 through June 5th 2013!! Can't wait to go back!! We decided on 2 weeks next year!! Yea, we hate to leave!! We all say the same thing.. "I could live here!!" Thank you Las Palomas for providing our family a safe, fun place to vacation!! See you soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    88
    35
    22
    35
See reviews for
178
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 7 days/7 nights at the Las Palomas Resort last week. It is a beautiful property and, if you don't know Spanish, you'll be fine as every employee graciously speaks English to the guests.

You can enjoy Happy Hour by the pool every day from 12-1P and 5-6P. They have multiple pools to choose from but some are for adults only.

We learned the first day the the onsite mini-mart does not adhere to their posted hours. They open when they open. There is also a kids club onsite but we learned the activities coordinator quit the week we were there and there was no replacement. Kids club remained closed the entire time. Additionally, kids are not permitted in the hot tubs and this is strictly enforced.

Every night from 9PM-10AM the next day our room smelled terrible of raw sewage. We reported it the 2nd day there and maintenance came up and looked at the shower drain. He didn't explain what he did but the smell was back the next night. It got really bad when we turned on the A/C so, as miserable as it was, we left the A/C off in order to reduce the odor.

We had maintenance come out one more time and again, they went to the shower and pulled the drain cover. The smell returned that night. At our wits end we asked to speak with the hotel manager. A supervisor and maintenance person came up to our room. The supervisor said that sometimes when a room is vacant for a long time you will get the sewer. I explained that we ran water in all drains and the odor did not go away. She then said there is probably a dead animal in the A/C unit and would have the maintenance person check it out. She also said she would talk to reception and see if they could provide us with a refund of some sort to make up for the inconvenience.

Our last 2 nights we still encountered the smell. When we checked out on Saturday I spoke with the manager of the front desk regarding the discount. When he called the maintenance supervisor to confirm, she told him that all she offered us was a free breakfast and we didn't take advantage of it. This was either a lie or she had us confused with other guests. When I insisted on a refund I was told that I should have clarified that with the supervisor.

My only recourse is to never stay at this property again and to put the word out about our negative experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view so you can't go wrong. Lower levels are louder due to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

As usual, we checked in - all was ready early, no problem. Gorgeous views, clean rooms and well-kept amenities. We have been coming here for years; about 6 to be exact. The property is well maintained and we can rest assured that they always have the odds and ends that I forget in the "Dely", although you'll pay quite a bit more than usual for the convenience of the shop on site.

Each room is individually furnished and has all types of kitchen wares; but do make sure to communicate with the owner or Resort about your particular unit if you are expecting anything particular.

Gas BBQs are available on property. We buy and BBQ shrimp, steak, hot dogs, whatever - yum!!! Just don't forget your lighter of matches (starters don't all work)

The Resort is close to the supermarket and pharmacy too, so it is easy to stock your fridge, etc. (just 15 mins in the car to Santa Fe Supermercado or Sams Club)

If you want to secure a nice Palapa by the beach (in front of the Resort) be on your way to claim it by laying your towels down by about 8:00 am to have a good selection to choose from. Everyone us respectful about not moving towels/taking chairs once the towels are down.

Fun add-on things to do beach-side-We've done the banana boat rides and jet skis just about every trip - work that price down, don't be shy!! Just tried riding the horses for the first time this trip. If you can find Humberto, his horses are well-cared for and fed; great time (and I am a picky horse owner!)

Adults need passports to cross back to the USA, and kids under 18 can travel with their parents/legal guardians with just a birth certificate (as of today - check with US Immigration or Border Patrol before your own trip though!!)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Memorial Day weekend with another family. We were in the second phase and stayed on the 7th floor in a 3 bedroom 2 bath unit. It was very well accommodated with almost everything we needed. We were lacking dish towels, extra paper towels, pepper and a couple other things we felt should be in a fully stocked condo. The view of the sea and pool was great with something always to see. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have some snacks around the pool, and it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just got back from this HELL HOLE this past weekend! OMGGGG.. worst customer service and hospitality EVERRRRRRRRRRRR! We've been to Cancun, Ensenada, Puerto Vallarta, Comzumel and Rosarito and this place is by far the worst resort we have ever stayed at. We arrived on our RV and our battery died, they wouldn't help us to jump it or to even find a tow truck to help us jump it, then charged us $20 for a towel they said was too dirty... whooo does that??? They give you a stupid towel card and FOR HEAVEN'S SAKE do NOT lose it or all hell will break loose. This is a huge resort and they had us running to all the towel towers looking for this damn card or they wouldn't check us out. Literally runningggg from tower to tower asking where it was at. Yeah.. nice vacation THIS was. Seriously... do not ever come here, be warned! If I could give this 0 stars I would!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I believe that this is my 5th or 6th stay in Las Palomas. I absolutely love staying there. I've stayed at other hotels on Sandy Beach and to me this is by far the best. All room are luxury and cleaned every day. You can bring your own food/purchase it at local stores and cook in the condo or visit their restaurants. Pools are really nice and the beach is kept clean. Staff is really nice and easy going. I will continue to visit this hotel for many years in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am a huge fan of the resort. There is no other place I would rather stay. I have stayed there at least 10 times since 2004. However, the last 3 years have been disappointing. The way we are treated once we are in the resort is embarrassing. Not allowed to have guests join us on the property?? When you pay 1k for 4 nights at a resort the last thing you expect is for the staff to tell you you cant have anyone hang out with you and to leave the property. When you host a Triathlon you might want to treat the people that are at the Triathlon and supporting the resort by buying food and drinks with a little respect! While I was trying to check in to the triathlon I was approached by the staff to tell me I need to leave the property until I told them I was trying to check in to the triathlon. Do you think that makes participants more eager or less eager to stay there the next year? Please! The way they treat people is great for the other resorts in the area! Thats why I stayed at another resort this year. Because of the way we were treated the last two years. My wife was waiting for me to finish the triathlon but was constantly harassed by the staff telling her she couldn't get in the pool with our kids while she was waiting.What? its hot, she spent a hundred dollars in food and drinks and was with friends that were staying there at the resort. She cant sit and wait while I cross the line. Basically the staff sucks! I will never stay there at that resort unless some serious changes occur. Basically what the owners of Las Palomas need to realize is that the staff there is killing their chances to rent their units! I wont be treated like an jerk while Im spending money at the resort. Basically what las palomas should do is look at how Americans run their resorts while trying to get business and copy it. its really not that hard. the current model was put in place by a bunch of idiots! Thanks for letting me rate this resort! I hope folks see how they treat their patrons!

Room Tip: If you have children I would get a ground room. They are great minus the way the staff will treat yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort is a luxurious oasis in Rocky Point – Puerto Peñasco - Mexico, with beautiful ocean view suites, world cuisine, the only links style Championship golf course of the region, a conference center, a luxury spa, beautiful beach and getaway vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Beach And Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach Hotel
Hotel Las Palomas Beach
Las Palomas Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.