We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anthem, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolute Luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

I booked this condo through a Vacation Rental By Owner website. I saved a ton of money and had a pleasant experience with the owner (Jennifer). The unit had everything we possibly needed to have a fantastic stay. The owners paid attention to every detail. I have been going down to Rocky Point my whole life and have rented many 1 bedrooms at Las Palomas and other resorts on Sandy Beach. I knew the amentities that Las Palomas had to offer, but Coronado 905 made our vacation so great that we didn't want to leave the condo itself. I have found my home away from home. You can not go wrong with listing number 124622.






.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    99
    40
    22
    38
See reviews for
190
70
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Booked 2BR suite through Expedia for $300+ per night, and the hotel was worth it at that price. The room was well-furnished and I think about 1500 sq ft with nice granite countertops and washer/dryer. The Los Palomas is one of the newer hotels and it was still under construction when we visited Puerto Penasco 1-2 years ago --- its logo says "it is the place to be" and the locals seem to agree that its one of the tops. We stayed before at the Sonoran Sun which is also very nice with big patios, but the Los Palomas is newer and furniture and decor more up-to-date. We did not need to have these wristbands that they give you to use the facilities, as they gave us at the Sonoran. A bit cold in December, nut at the middle of the day, the pools were tolerable and the whirlpool was of adequate size. The tubing pools were cold, but there was one kiddie pool at the side which was warmer (probably heated?) and the kids loved it. There is Burger King on the Benito Juarez Street and this was great for the kids. The directions to the hotel say turn right at Calle 26 I think, but that streetname is actually NO REELECCION. It is that 2nd traffic stoplight as you enter Puerto Penasco. The frontdesk was straight-to-the-point and a bit aloof, probably needs a little more training with customer service "with-a-smile". The hotel restaurant was pricey at about $20 entrees, but there are restaurants on Benito Juarez that you can choose from. Be careful with driving since the small "ALTO" or stop signs are easy to miss, specially as they are almost immediately after electric traffic stops. Gets a little getting used to, but it really is no problem as long as you drive safely and cautiously watching for those beating the red light. Parking was available underground at the hotel and that was a great feature, however, only the service elevators were working when we were there and the actual elevators were under repair. Over-all, a great experience though and we'll probably go back tot his same hottel because of security, access to a nice beach on the sea of Cortez, nice adequate gym with a view of the sea as you are sweting it out, and wonderful tubing pools which must be great during the summer.

  • Liked — the rooms/decor and view of Sea of Cortez and the pools, underground parking
  • Disliked — limited menu at restaurant, staff doesn't smile as much
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

What a lovely resort, perfect for a family vacation. About 10 families with their high school aged children booked a block of rooms together the week following Memorial Day. The weather was absolutely perfect! The grounds are immaculate, the service top notch and the pools were clean and well maintained. The condo that we stayed in was a two bedroom, two bath villa that was extremely spacious. We had 6 people in ours and there was plenty of room. The condo was FULLY equipped, no need for all of kitchen gadgets and utensils I brought! We had a great view of the ocean and the pools (ask for ocean view, it's worth the difference). Can't wait to go back this year!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

Our first trip to Rocky Point and we stayed at Las Palomas (Rubi Bldg). It was a beautiful resort, beautiful unit - great stay. The resort was really quiet (low occupancy) while we were there so the pools weren't crowded nor was the beach. Not much to eat, so bring your own meals to cook (something we'll do next time). Drinks are expensive and watered down, so you might bring your own as well - they don't care if you bring your own cooler and snacks down to the pool.

We had a 4 yo with us so it might have been nice to have more families around (as there was up the coast at all the other Sandy Beach resorts) so he could find someone to play with. I wouldn't say Las Palomas isn't for families as they have the Lazy River and waterslide, there just weren't any families there when we were, even though it was Fall Break in Phoenix.

We booked directly through an owner I found on vrbo.com and will use him again.

  • Liked — impeccably decorated and appointed condo
  • Disliked — floorplan, bedroom doesn't face ocean in 1B units
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

Las Palomas is a very nice condo resort. We rented a nice condo but would not get the same one next time time. The condo had a west facing balcony and it was so hot that we could not enjoy in the afternoon/early evening. Plus we would not go again in the late summer. The sea was spa temperature and the pools were just as warm. There was no way to beat the heat. It was way too hot for us and no way to cool off, and we're from HOT Phoenix! The beach needs more palapas or some type of shade as does the beautiful pool areas. No shade is offered and it's HOT this time of year.
The resort was wonderful. The condo was perfect inside. We were in the Coronado building. The resort has a buffet nightly Friday and Saturday for 20$ adults and half price for kids. Plus they have a Sunday Bufftet in the Coronado section. They also have a band playing on the weeneds till around 11pm. Lots of people were dancing and drinking to the music!
The resort was wonderful...the time we went was wrong..just too hot and humid with no shelter from the sun.
We ate some wonderful meals at La Curva and Friendly Dolphin. Had the scampy and garlic shrimp at La Curva and the bacon wrapped shrimp at Friendly Dolphin. ON MY GOD....! Both soo good! We also had Shrimp Tacos at Mary's in the Fish Market section. Excellent for only $2 each.
We'll be back but not at this time. Plus we'll be wiser as to where we want our condo. The condo service was great, the condo was very nice, however the view wasn't great and it the balcony was west facing making it uncomfortable at this time of year, plus no view of the main beach or the malecon.
This is just my 2 cents. No need to flame.
Thanks.
Eileen

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

Just returned form our second trip in 3 months to Los Palomas. Rented a privately owned condo, great rate, saved 30% rather than making reservation directly through Los Palomas. Nice condo, but missing some general neccities (hand soap, napkins, papertowel, garbage bags, dish soap, etc.), wish owner would have let us know to bring it cause the hotel charges $2.00 per garbage bag and doesn't provide any of the above if you rent via a private owner. Beautiful resort and lots of pools. Customer service lacking, difficult to order from swim up bar. Lots of bartenders but they ignored us on several attempts to order even when not so busy. Most unfortunate of all was when we returned to Phoenix and realized my cell phone, digital camera, debit card and drivers license had been STOLEN from inside the condo, probably by housekeeping staff and all the resort told me was "that's a serious accousation, and they are not liable".

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We rented a 2 bed/2 ba unit number 704 in the coronado building. We booked off of VRBO.com and booked directly with the owner of the unit. Booking through the owner was cheaper than booking with the resort directly. We were able to avoid tax and the cleaning fees.

The condo and the resort was fabulous. The unit was beautifully decorated and slept 6 w/ the pull out couch. It was clean, very roomy, was fully furnished and came with everything you need. The master bath was great..huge shower and over-sized stand alone bathtub. Kitchen was nice and came with all appliances, blender, coffee maker. Unit had a washer and dryer too.

The resort itself was super. It had several huge pools with 2 lazy rivers, and the biggest pool had a full service swim up bar. The beach was only a few hundred feet away. Perfect for families with kids.

I actually liked this place better than the Senoran Spa and would definitely stay here again the next time I go to Rocky Point.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Blvd. Costero #150, Col. Sandy Beach., Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort is a luxurious oasis in Rocky Point – Puerto Peñasco - Mexico, with beautiful ocean view suites, world cuisine, the only links style Championship golf course of the region, a conference center, a luxury spa, beautiful beach and getaway vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Beach And Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach Hotel
Hotel Las Palomas Beach
Las Palomas Puerto Penasco
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.