We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, was expecting more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balboa 90, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Scottsdale-AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK, was expecting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had a room not a suite, no extra of any kind, no refrigerator, no breakfast, front desk was not very knowledgeable. Wifi did not work on my room (114), although they told me on the phone that they had Wifi in the rooms, it worked in the pool area, slow, but worked. Air condition worked well.
The room was clean, but in the second day I was asked if I want the room to be cleaned, sure I said, why I would not ?
There is a good supermaket about 3 miles from the hotel, it is called Ley and they carry everything, I had to find it by myself as the hotel instructions weren't reliable.
I did not enjoy much the food in there, the only restaurant I would recommend is "Aqui es con flavio" always full of Mexican families, this is what brought me there, it is not expensive and have a wide selection of dishes, they have menu in English, but they do not have air conditioned, it is located in the main street in the port.
Other thing I did not enjoy were the ATVs making a lot of noise and throwing dirt in the air...
I visited El Picanate, there is a nice volcanic crater there named El Elegant, it is on KM 52 of road 8, but inside the park the road is not paved and you have to go very slow, it tool me 3 1/2 hours to visit 2 craters.

Room Tip: There is no WIFI on room 114, also no refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    16
    3
    16
See reviews for
30
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a lovely weekend in Puerto Penasco. Our usual hotel was closed, so we chose to gamble on the Laos Mar despite some poor reviews. First of all, it isn't the Ritz. You're in Mexico not Beverly Hills! What do you expect?!

Yes, the turn of the economy and HR1070 have affected the entire area not just the Laos Mar. (In fact this was our first time back in over a year and we used to visit several times a year.) We had an ocean view room with a spectacular view and a short walk to the beach. Yes, we received only 2 towels and no washcloths, there was a coffee maker (but no coffee available), some wear and tear was evident, the restaurant was closed but the room was clean, the balcony had 2 good chairs, a fantastic view and the service was friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi was emptied and cleaned daily and the grounds were perpetually being swept and tidied.

Interestingly, we spent our honeymoon at the Playa Bonita resort across the road. Subsequent visits have shown that property to have suffered far more than the Laos Mar. For half the price, the Laos Mar is by far the better find.

We will definitely be returning to the Laos Mar. It was quiet and relaxing. It was a great value for the dollar and we were very happy with our room and reservation. If the lack of a washcloth, coffee or a chair is that big of an issue to you, go elsewhere and leave this little gem to those who don't mind rubbing elbows with the locals, enjoy an unobstructed view of the Sea of Cortez and using the money saved to buy an extra cerveza or two in town.

Room Tip: Definitely take an upper floor OceanView room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncity, az
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I booked a two night stay at this hotel because not only did the description say it was right by the beach (it was behind another resort an walking distance from beach was pretty far) but because the pictures online actually looked nice. We got there and the front desk receptionist did not speak one word of English so we had no idea what he was saying to us. He tried to charge us extra person booking fee that we already paid when we booked. After Finally getting our keys we headed to our room. The pool was so dirty it looked yellow. Once in our room we decided there's no way we can stay there and enjoy our trip. It was dirty and had stains all over the carpet. We left with out even trying to get a refund we just wanted to get out as soon as possible. We paid an additional 500 to book a 2 bedroom condo at Sonoran sea an it was well worth the money. Beautiful hotel and amazing views! Learned my lesson to book anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Across a non busy street to the beach. Rooms were clean enough. Service was good ( enough) This aint the ritz, but it ain't a dive either. Oriented more toward upscale Mexican FAMILIES. If a bunch of guys are going on a boozer, you'll not want to be here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I had the choice of staying at the Playa Del Sol Hotel for $120.00 day or Laos Mar Hotel for $60.00 day & I am glad I chose Laos Mar. First of all this place is very hard to find. DIRECTIONS: From Hwy 8 look for large green sign on bridge overpass that tells you to take right turn to go to Playa Del Sol Hotell, turn right & go towards the hotel, turn right on the he last street just before you get to Playa Del Sol Hotel, you will be on a very bumpy road, go all the way down & on the third street take a left turn, go all the way down then take a right turn, go further & on the left side you will see an entrance with a guard shack & the wall will have "Playa Bonita Resort" you go through that entrance & on the left is the white building which is Laos Mar Hotel.

Pros: Inexpensive, 150 feet from the beach, Francisco (Nighttime Front desk) is nice guy, the lady during day is not as friendly. Front desk will call taxi for you... $5.00 will take you just about anywhere in town. Nice clean rooms (Smells of disinfectant though)

Cons: forget the TV it has one channel...Spanish, you get two towels, two soaps & two shampoos daily, there is an AC wall unit but no heat that I could tell so it was a little chilly in December, there is no microwave, fridge, room safe, coffee, it is a room to stay in that's it. Ask for a room facing the pool, those rooms have a large balcony, I was given that room at no additional cost even thought I reserved the cheapest room on Expedia, I gave Francisco $10.00 tip for hooking me up. I am a frugal person & I saved $120.00 over a weekend by not staying at a fancier resort... that $120.00 will buy a lot of Cerveza & Tacos... other reviewers are saying this place is turning into a Flop House but with the prices dropping at other luxury resorts this place has no choice but to be dirt cheap but cut back on all the frills. I personally don't need 10 towels & bubble bath... I'd rather save the money... BTW...try out the hot dogs on the main town street cart it is only 10 pesos each & as good or better than any in the US...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Many of the post are ridiculous. There are many prissy people out there and you need to consider the source. Value is there. It is NOT a high end hotel. CLEAN, SAFE, HOT SHOWERS and close to the beach. What can you expect for TWO nights for $135 for the weekend???? I have traveled to Mexico many times (in the last 10 years) and it is safe. Common Sense is KEY, unfortunately some people don't use common sense. The media has blown the border issues out of control. We have MANY dangerous places in the US! The people are awesome and will go the extra mile to help you. Give Mexico a chance. The media has not been fair on their reporting for the past 10 years. Again I have traveled in a motor home all the way to PTO Vallarta. I have many stories. All of them good. If you would like to send me an email with questions or concerns, I would welcome them. We are a young family (in our 40's) with children. All of our experiences in Mexico have been great for us. Blessings. Jordan. [--------------] Chandler, Arizona

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I traveled to Puerto Penasco with my husband and we were looking for an affordable, yet clean place to stay. We wanted a place close to the beach and it really didn't matter if it was beachfront. Laos was the perfect place. The rates were low. The rooms were very clean. Checking in and out was a breeze. The employees at Laos were polite and our cleaning lady, Malena was extremely helpful. Malena helped us with our keys (that weren't working at first) and she turned on our AC. To get to the beach, we simply hopped on our car and drove across a huge parking area and we were there. You can however, walk there especially if you are not carrying lots of things with you. It's a nice place to stay especially if you're with family. I guess my only complaint was the front desk people not letting us know that they required a deposit for the AC remote and the TV remote. We didn't get either one because our cleaning lady helped us with the AC but it was a little bothersome having no TV remote. But who wants to spend their time watching TV when you could be out at the pool or the beach? At $49 a night, you can't expect all the amenities that a 5 star hotel offers. But if you want clean, comfortable, affordable, and great location, Laos is highly recommended.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.6 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonoran Sky Resort
Sonoran Sky Resort
#4 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
Casa Blanca Golf Villas
#12 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites

Address: Paseo Balboa 90, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the favorite hotels in Rocky Point, BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites. It is a great place to stay when looking to take family, business or recreation vacations on the beach. We are not that far from all the attractions and activities you can make, such as fishing, walks on the beach, watch the sunsets on the boat tours, visits on the aquarium and one of the most beautiful nature places on earth, El Pinacate. Also with in no more of 5 minutes you can be on the old port, where you can go shopping, eating while watching the sunset and having fun. Our attentive bilingual staff takes pride in providing personalized service. We are no more than 1 block from the ocean. No elevator, bell boy 24 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laos Mar
Laos Mar Puerto Peñasco
Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.