We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Balboa 90, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Gem of a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a lovely weekend in Puerto Penasco. Our usual hotel was closed, so we chose to gamble on the Laos Mar despite some poor reviews. First of all, it isn't the Ritz. You're in Mexico not Beverly Hills! What do you expect?!

Yes, the turn of the economy and HR1070 have affected the entire area not just the Laos Mar. (In fact this was our first time back in over a year and we used to visit several times a year.) We had an ocean view room with a spectacular view and a short walk to the beach. Yes, we received only 2 towels and no washcloths, there was a coffee maker (but no coffee available), some wear and tear was evident, the restaurant was closed but the room was clean, the balcony had 2 good chairs, a fantastic view and the service was friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi was emptied and cleaned daily and the grounds were perpetually being swept and tidied.

Interestingly, we spent our honeymoon at the Playa Bonita resort across the road. Subsequent visits have shown that property to have suffered far more than the Laos Mar. For half the price, the Laos Mar is by far the better find.

We will definitely be returning to the Laos Mar. It was quiet and relaxing. It was a great value for the dollar and we were very happy with our room and reservation. If the lack of a washcloth, coffee or a chair is that big of an issue to you, go elsewhere and leave this little gem to those who don't mind rubbing elbows with the locals, enjoy an unobstructed view of the Sea of Cortez and using the money saved to buy an extra cerveza or two in town.

Room Tip: Definitely take an upper floor OceanView room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    13
    3
    14
See reviews for
27
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suncity, az
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I booked a two night stay at this hotel because not only did the description say it was right by the beach (it was behind another resort an walking distance from beach was pretty far) but because the pictures online actually looked nice. We got there and the front desk receptionist did not speak one word of English so we had no idea what he was saying to us. He tried to charge us extra person booking fee that we already paid when we booked. After Finally getting our keys we headed to our room. The pool was so dirty it looked yellow. Once in our room we decided there's no way we can stay there and enjoy our trip. It was dirty and had stains all over the carpet. We left with out even trying to get a refund we just wanted to get out as soon as possible. We paid an additional 500 to book a 2 bedroom condo at Sonoran sea an it was well worth the money. Beautiful hotel and amazing views! Learned my lesson to book anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Across a non busy street to the beach. Rooms were clean enough. Service was good ( enough) This aint the ritz, but it ain't a dive either. Oriented more toward upscale Mexican FAMILIES. If a bunch of guys are going on a boozer, you'll not want to be here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I had the choice of staying at the Playa Del Sol Hotel for $120.00 day or Laos Mar Hotel for $60.00 day & I am glad I chose Laos Mar. First of all this place is very hard to find. DIRECTIONS: From Hwy 8 look for large green sign on bridge overpass that tells you to take right turn to go to Playa Del Sol Hotell, turn right & go towards the hotel, turn right on the he last street just before you get to Playa Del Sol Hotel, you will be on a very bumpy road, go all the way down & on the third street take a left turn, go all the way down then take a right turn, go further & on the left side you will see an entrance with a guard shack & the wall will have "Playa Bonita Resort" you go through that entrance & on the left is the white building which is Laos Mar Hotel.

Pros: Inexpensive, 150 feet from the beach, Francisco (Nighttime Front desk) is nice guy, the lady during day is not as friendly. Front desk will call taxi for you... $5.00 will take you just about anywhere in town. Nice clean rooms (Smells of disinfectant though)

Cons: forget the TV it has one channel...Spanish, you get two towels, two soaps & two shampoos daily, there is an AC wall unit but no heat that I could tell so it was a little chilly in December, there is no microwave, fridge, room safe, coffee, it is a room to stay in that's it. Ask for a room facing the pool, those rooms have a large balcony, I was given that room at no additional cost even thought I reserved the cheapest room on Expedia, I gave Francisco $10.00 tip for hooking me up. I am a frugal person & I saved $120.00 over a weekend by not staying at a fancier resort... that $120.00 will buy a lot of Cerveza & Tacos... other reviewers are saying this place is turning into a Flop House but with the prices dropping at other luxury resorts this place has no choice but to be dirt cheap but cut back on all the frills. I personally don't need 10 towels & bubble bath... I'd rather save the money... BTW...try out the hot dogs on the main town street cart it is only 10 pesos each & as good or better than any in the US...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Many of the post are ridiculous. There are many prissy people out there and you need to consider the source. Value is there. It is NOT a high end hotel. CLEAN, SAFE, HOT SHOWERS and close to the beach. What can you expect for TWO nights for $135 for the weekend???? I have traveled to Mexico many times (in the last 10 years) and it is safe. Common Sense is KEY, unfortunately some people don't use common sense. The media has blown the border issues out of control. We have MANY dangerous places in the US! The people are awesome and will go the extra mile to help you. Give Mexico a chance. The media has not been fair on their reporting for the past 10 years. Again I have traveled in a motor home all the way to PTO Vallarta. I have many stories. All of them good. If you would like to send me an email with questions or concerns, I would welcome them. We are a young family (in our 40's) with children. All of our experiences in Mexico have been great for us. Blessings. Jordan. [--------------] Chandler, Arizona

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I traveled to Puerto Penasco with my husband and we were looking for an affordable, yet clean place to stay. We wanted a place close to the beach and it really didn't matter if it was beachfront. Laos was the perfect place. The rates were low. The rooms were very clean. Checking in and out was a breeze. The employees at Laos were polite and our cleaning lady, Malena was extremely helpful. Malena helped us with our keys (that weren't working at first) and she turned on our AC. To get to the beach, we simply hopped on our car and drove across a huge parking area and we were there. You can however, walk there especially if you are not carrying lots of things with you. It's a nice place to stay especially if you're with family. I guess my only complaint was the front desk people not letting us know that they required a deposit for the AC remote and the TV remote. We didn't get either one because our cleaning lady helped us with the AC but it was a little bothersome having no TV remote. But who wants to spend their time watching TV when you could be out at the pool or the beach? At $49 a night, you can't expect all the amenities that a 5 star hotel offers. But if you want clean, comfortable, affordable, and great location, Laos is highly recommended.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

THIS IS A HOTEL TO AVOID !
We WERE (Key Word WERE) loyal fans of Laos Mar and have always stayed; have stayed at Laos Mar at least 8-10 times and never had a problem. So again we booked 4 nights, 3 days and were surprised to see rates have dropped to $49 Friday and Saturday and $39 on Sunday. We were paying $75 and $65 years ago. Needles to say, things have changed. In my mind it has become a “FLOP HOUSE”. They gave you two bath towels, no hand towels, no face cloths, and just one little bar of soap. At times the maid did not leave toilet paper. They do have a coffee machine and 2 cups. We had to ask for coffee two different days as none was left in our room. Another cut back?? The ice machine by the office was broken or did they just stop selling ice to the clients. There is a patio on each room, but no chairs; you have to beg, barrow or steal from your neighbor, or go without. They used to have 2 chairs and a table on each balcony, NO MORE. Another cut back? Two days of our stay we had to asked for towels, only bath towels showed up and then asked for hand and wash cloths, but received only one wash cloth. Is it a “First come, first gets” at Laos Mars? The patio chairs downstairs were almost non existent and some were broken. The Maid apparently took a disliking to our group of 4 adult males. Each room had an electronic lock, and on different days and right after the maid visit our key cards would not work. Also, on separate nights, the alarm clock went off at 12:00 one night and 1:00 the next. This hotel used to be a great deal but things seem to have gone downhill since our last visit in October 2009. With the poor economy and people fearful of coming to Mexico, you would think the hotel would do anything to win patrons but I guess not. It’s time to look elsewhere. It is becoming an embarrassment to the Mexican and American tourist in comparison to other hotels. It really is too bad. They did still have the envelope in the room for tips. Guess what? We left none. Now is she surprised? And Yes, the best to last...the restaurant was closed and the "Continental Fruit, Cereal, Coffee Bar" at the pool was now closed. Another Hotel "Cutback". The laundry facility, work out room and "Bar" have NEVER opened since we started going to Loas Mars.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites

Address: Paseo Balboa 90, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the favorite hotels in Rocky Point, BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites. It is a great place to stay when looking to take family, business or recreation vacations on the beach. We are not that far from all the attractions and activities you can make, such as fishing, walks on the beach, watch the sunsets on the boat tours, visits on the aquarium and one of the most beautiful nature places on earth, El Pinacate. Also with in no more of 5 minutes you can be on the old port, where you can go shopping, eating while watching the sunset and having fun. Our attentive bilingual staff takes pride in providing personalized service. We are no more than 1 block from the ocean. No elevator, bell boy 24 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laos Mar
Laos Mar Puerto Peñasco
Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.