We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, poor management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoran Sun Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonoran Sun Resort
Save
You added Sonoran Sun Resort to your Saves list
Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Chandler
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great place, poor management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We are just back from 8 days at the Sonoran Sun -- the property is beautiful and generally well maintained and every room has a great view of the ocean. The prices are very good and the rooms are large and have huge balconies with a great view of the water.

The only real downside is the staff -- the front desk in particular. We were 4 people in a 2B2B room and we discovered that we had no pillowcases in 1 room and only 4 bath towels total. I went down and asked the front desk (our unit didn't have a phone) for a few wash cloths and hand towels. They said we would get them the next day...of course nothing. I again went to the front desk and this time the guy told me there was nothing he could do and all he had was some paper towels, to come back the next day in the morning. This went on until after 4 days of asking, we got 1 washcloth and 1 hand towel. At that point I just gave up and figured that it wasn't worth the time to ask for more than 3 plates or anything else that the condo was missing. I talked with a few other folks there and heard similar stories. Bascially what you have in your condo when you arrive is probably all you will get, so better to just buy what you need at a local store and be done with it.

I will give the security guards credit for keeping ATVs off the beach, they turned back several while we were there. The guards can be a bit up tight at times though; I got into the pool with a cotton tee shirt to protect me from the sun, and one guard (very overweight guy), asked for my room number and told me I couldn't wear a cotton tee in the pool. For some reason the Mexican guests in the pool were allowed to do so, but not me. Not sure why, but that was how it worked.

Be aware that swimming in the ocean can be hazardous -- we noticed Jet Skis running right by us while swimming in the 'safe' area -- they bouys they use are so small and so far apart that some of the jet ski drivers run right through the swimming area. I can only hope one day they will invest in larger and more bouys to protect swimmers.

In summary, even with the negatives, a great place to stay and a great deal.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great with kids and are much easier to get access to the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
41
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Rocky Point so we did not know what to expect. Our initial impression upon arrival was a good one. The Sonoran Sun is a beautiful property with great views from all rooms. We were impressed with the friendliness of the resort staff. We were very happy with our unit (SE205). It was clean and very pleasant overall with tasteful decor. Our favorite part was the patio with such an amazing view. It was so relaxing. We really feel it is an amazing value for the price paid considering the size and quality of the unit with beach view. We enjoyed watching for dolphins, exploring tidal pools and collecting shells. It really was a great experience and we will definitely return and recommend to friends. Great job Sonoran Sun ... we are hooked!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had a great time at this resort! I think the key is to know you are renting a condo, not a hotel, but my family is very low maintenance. I enjoyed not having to worry about someone in the room as we went back and forth to the beach just steps away. We had a laundry to wash out our towels and suits without having to leave the room. If we wanted to step out on the beach for a few minutes, we just did. No hauling everything down to the beach because we were steps away if we wanted a drink or a towel, we just went. A hotel on the shore in San Diego as beautiful would be well over $1000 a night for a two bedroom suite with ocean balcony and kitchen and two bathrooms. The restaurant had very limited hours and choices so be prepared to bring food or go into town to eat. Take cash to the beach to buy souvenirs. We left on Saturday morning as the partying was getting a little rowdy, the noise does carry on the beach. Don't forget it is primarily a party town. We were on the second floor, I am a light sleeper, but everyone else slept though the noise. But we didn't go to sleep, we wanted the beach and it was perfect. The staff and locals were lovely and welcoming, our fellow Americans could be slightly obnoxious at times when drunk.

Room Tip: Higher up may cut the noise, but then you have to take the elevator down to the beach. The second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went down with a few friends on a recommendation last year, and have made it a tradition! This year's trip was even better. The resort is outstanding, and the price is pretty fair. The pools are great, especially the swim up bar with happy hour 3 times a day! Amazing views of the beach in every room.

My only recommendation is that you don't book with Group Mexico. This is not the fault of the hotel, Group Mexico books all over Rocky Point. They are incredibly rude, unhelpful, and disorganized. Luckily, the front desk at the hotel was flexible and ready to help us with changes to our reservation once we got there.

I know everyone is worried about safety traveling to Mexico, but I can say I never once felt unsafe both times I've come down. For extra security, you are required to have a wristband and a parking hanger to even get in the property. Security is at the hotel 24/7.

Seriously, this place is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have been visiting Rocky Point for 10 years. We have stayed at many resorts on Sandy Beach and actually got married at the Sun. We love this resort. You can rent a one, two, or three bedroom condo. All are completely furnished and face the water. The view is amazing... the beach reminds me of Florida beaches.
We drive from Phoenix and take all of our own food and beverages so we can just make ourselves at home. Our idea is to relax and chill. Rocky Point is a pretty mellow place to visit. You can do many things, but we like to settle into our condo and enjoy the beach and pool. The beach is so close. You simply cannot find a balcony like this in California! We spend very little time actually in the condo since we are on the balcony, at the pool, or on the beach. We always rent the same unit, west 603 since we love it and feel so at home in it.
The front desk is so helpful... very sweet people who make you feel at home.
We rarely eat out when we are there since we just want to be at the beach all the time. Be sure to stop in town to grab some fresh seafood if you want to stay in and cook.
We LOVE Rocky Point and the Sun!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here two nights during an off weekend in May. The resort is located at the end of the resort area, which is nice and a little quieter I imagine. The best part about Rocky Point is the cost. It's so cheap compared to ocean front places in other areas. The Sonoran Sun was clean and well maintained. The ocean is warmer than the Pacific coast.
We had a 3 bedroom 3 bath condo that we booked through a private individual. It was clean, spacious and had a great view of the ocean. The pool was nice and the water was relatively warm.
We didn't experience any problems with the resort service, except at the resort restaurant. We were the only customers in the entire restaurant, and the service was terrible. It was extremely slow and inadequate. The food was average.
Overall, we would love to stay here again and plan to do so at least a few times per year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have been to Rocky Point several times, but we have never stayed at the Sonoran Sun. It was beautiful. We had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom on the 6th floor. Everything, but the fan light on the patio was working. It was kept up nice, it was clean. It had a washer and dryer in our rental. Just remember to switch on the hot water if you want any and don't take a shower when someone else is. The pool and beach were awesome!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoran Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Sun Resort

Address: Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Number of rooms: 224
Also Known As:
Sonoran Sun Hotel Puerto Penasco
Hotel Sonoran Sun
Sonoran Sun Resort Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoran Sun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.