We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation with our kids and grandkids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Las Palmas to your Saves list
Las Palmas
1000 Sandy Beach Rd, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation with our kids and grandkids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We stayed in # 701 in the Bonita Bldg, a condo on the penthouse floor. This condo was perfect for the 7 of us, including 3 children. Plenty of room for kids to play, flat screen TV, windows overlooking the water, 3 full bathrooms, beautiful décor and well equipped kitchen. We had great views of the ocean from our big balcony, which had a table, grill and lounge chairs. It was a short walk to the beach, pool, fitness room, etc. The property and grounds were well maintained, and the beach is very clean with nice sand and seashells. The staff in the office was very friendly and spoke English quite well. It was only a 10 min drive to the Malecon, the main street on Rocky Point where they have fish markets, shops and several nice restaurants. This was an awesome place for a family vacation. The kids loved it, and so did the adults! We will go back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    12
    6
    15
See reviews for
55
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We have always heard of rocky point and las palmas, finally went and had a great new year. It was perfect for the kids. WE ALWAYS FELT SAFE AND RELAXED. We had some issues and Michael fixed it right away. Front desk very friendly and accommodating. Great location, I liked having the ground floor because of the kids. I was pleasantly surprised that the slide was going in winter, the kids loved it. We hope to be back

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

Like the title says we would of expected to have found the house we stayed in(Villa #1), in better conditions. Main shower never gave us warm water,roaches in the main areas, lights in restroom didn't work the door to the garage had no door knob and the stucco on the walls was falling off. We notified management and they sent a maintenance person to fix some of the issues but my expectation was to find the house in excellent conditions as it was not cheap. The location was amazing as well as the views but since this house is at the end of the resorts property line, a lot of vendors would be loitering in our patio.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We stayed in House # 6 on the Beach. Got there and there were ants everywhere Hubby went and bough bug spray...in the morning there were over 20+ dead roaches everywhere! I went to complain and they sent a maid to clean them up...nothing else. The roaches were out in force for the entire time we were there, nothing to do but fumigate ourselves. Not my idea of a family vacation.

Went to the swim up bar, and ordered..caught the waiter taking sips of our drinks. Absolutely DISGUSTING!! Do you homework...so sorry I didn't!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasPalmasPP, Director of Sales at Las Palmas, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Sear Guest,

First of all, Please accept our Sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we may have caused you.

And thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service did not meet your expectations.

We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

I will talk with On Site Manager and I will be in contact with you as soon as I have a proper solution to make our best attempt in regaining your confidence in our company.

in addition, we will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

Your patronage is very important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Sincerely,

Brenda Arceo

Las Palmas Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The overall stay was great. Staff super helpful. However, some rooms are privately owned and booked by third party, if they are not on the premiss. You may not be helped by the Paloma's staff. not a big deal, just plan ahead as their office hours are listed. Next time I will book directly with the palmas office.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Las Palmas are mostly privately owned condo's and beach homes so... ask lots of questions and come OVER prepared. The location truly is on a nicer strip of sand and beach and the walk to the ocean water is very short, even from one of the 2 rear buildings. We liked that the grounds were kept clean, the walkway to the beach was lit up at sundown, all the staff we interacted with were friendly and accommodating.

That said, I suggest to anyone to bring you own dishwashing liquid, kitchen sponge, laundry soap, shampoo/conditioner and garbage bags. We didn't encounter any mosquitos, even at night but I suspect the breeze took care of them. Yes, there are vendors on the beach but no one of them was obnoxious in any way. The sand is super hot so wear sandals. We brought our own beach tent as did others and glad we did!

SUGGESTIONS: Upper condo' floors have the best views of sunrise/sunsets and maximum ocean BREEZES but with a group of people, we would most definitely rent one of the waterfront homes. Everyone we saw was having a great time with their families or groups.

PRO's- the poolside massage gal was great and reasonable at $25. for 30 minutes which was more like 45 minutes, yay! We also appreciated the swim-up bar and wished only for a stronger drink poured.

CONS's- be over prepared versus irritated; bring a bottle opener, a can opener, your own coffee grounds even a blender (our condo's was broken).

Room Tip: The 2 front condo' buildings get the best breezes, sunset/sunrise views and the quickest access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

2 bedroom and 2 bathroom condo cost an average of $245.00 US.
Pros- Location and water sliders on swimming pool.
Cons- A lot of salesman on the beach. No cleaning service for our stay.There is a trash disposal shaft next to the elevator and somehow the smell from all organic decomposition lingered on the hallway for hours. There was a rat on the condo on the laundry room. Outdated hotel in general.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas

Address: 1000 Sandy Beach Rd, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas is an oceanfront resort comprised of privately-owned luxury homes and condominiums. The resort is located along Sandy Beach in Puerto Penasco, Mexico. The town is commonly known as Rocky Point. Las Palmas reflects this new trend with its splendid architecture, groomed landscaping and family-oriented culture. The gated compound offers 24-hour security, heated pools, Jacuzzis, lighted parking and a spectacular club house with swim-up bar, kid's pool, exercise room, game room and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palmas Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Las Palmas Beachfront
Las Palmas Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.