We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas

Save Saved
You added Las Palmas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Palmas
1000 Sandy Beach Rd, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The overall stay was great. Staff super helpful. However, some rooms are privately owned and booked by third party, if they are not on the premiss. You may not be helped by the Paloma's staff. not a big deal, just plan ahead as their office hours are listed. Next time I will book directly with the palmas office.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    12
    5
    14
See reviews for
51
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Las Palmas are mostly privately owned condo's and beach homes so... ask lots of questions and come OVER prepared. The location truly is on a nicer strip of sand and beach and the walk to the ocean water is very short, even from one of the 2 rear buildings. We liked that the grounds were kept clean, the walkway to the beach was lit up at sundown, all the staff we interacted with were friendly and accommodating.

That said, I suggest to anyone to bring you own dishwashing liquid, kitchen sponge, laundry soap, shampoo/conditioner and garbage bags. We didn't encounter any mosquitos, even at night but I suspect the breeze took care of them. Yes, there are vendors on the beach but no one of them was obnoxious in any way. The sand is super hot so wear sandals. We brought our own beach tent as did others and glad we did!

SUGGESTIONS: Upper condo' floors have the best views of sunrise/sunsets and maximum ocean BREEZES but with a group of people, we would most definitely rent one of the waterfront homes. Everyone we saw was having a great time with their families or groups.

PRO's- the poolside massage gal was great and reasonable at $25. for 30 minutes which was more like 45 minutes, yay! We also appreciated the swim-up bar and wished only for a stronger drink poured.

CONS's- be over prepared versus irritated; bring a bottle opener, a can opener, your own coffee grounds even a blender (our condo's was broken).

Room Tip: The 2 front condo' buildings get the best breezes, sunset/sunrise views and the quickest access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

2 bedroom and 2 bathroom condo cost an average of $245.00 US.
Pros- Location and water sliders on swimming pool.
Cons- A lot of salesman on the beach. No cleaning service for our stay.There is a trash disposal shaft next to the elevator and somehow the smell from all organic decomposition lingered on the hallway for hours. There was a rat on the condo on the laundry room. Outdated hotel in general.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This resort is nice.. The rooms are not too bad they could be clean a lil better tho.. The view is beautiful the beach is very nice.. What i really dislike about this resort was the elevator ugh its so small and theres no air circulating, it felt like i was in a sauna, other than that we had a great 4th of july weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for the first time. Celebrated my son's 5th birthday. Had everything planned out, birthday cake, food, pool party, just a day full of fun. Evening before party I noticed the refrigerator was not working. Called it in first thing in the morning. Called again 2 hours later to follow up. nothing. I requested something to be done because I was about to purchase groceries and what not for the party. They "accommodated" and let me use the condo's refrigerator from next door while they fixed mine. I was ok with this until about 3:30 pm when I went to take out the food from the borrowed refrigerator and it was empty. The Pre grilled steak's styrofoam plate was in the trash.THEY ATE IT! Cake and seafood were gone too. Maintenance supervisor stepped up and "located our birthday cake, seafood, and some of the steak" We ended up celebrating at around 9:30-10pm when my son was super tired and not wanting to do anything but sleep. Front desk staff was not very friendly or knowledgable in regards to what was going on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasPalmasPP, Guest Relations Manager at Las Palmas, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are deeply sorry for what happened,
we genuinely regret the inconvenience we may cause to you because of this.
We are opening an investigation about this serious matter, as soon as we
get the details we will back to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this resort multiple times, in different condos on different floors and in different buildings. We have always enjoyed our stay! This time we stayed in Grande 704. It was a top floor, 2b2b condo. Beautiful views of the ocean, a large patio with a big table and 6 chairs. Perfect for enjoying a meal while watching the sunset/sunrise. Inside, the condo wAs very clean, nicely decorated, and well kept. The living room had a comfortable sofa witch pulled out into a sofa sleeper. There was a comfortable king bed in each bedroom with beautiful views of the ocean from each room. The kitchen was well equipped, although there were no large knives and no shot glasses, but we made do :) the TVs in each room were Spanish cable channels, but there were several in English with Spanish subtitles so my kids were able to enjoy them. Washer, dryer, air conditioner, and dishwasher all worked well. There were only 2 bath towels in each bathroom even though the condo was booked for 6. This seems to be standard in all of the condos we have visited. We always bring our own beAch towels as well as a few for the bathroom. One thing we learned this trip was that you can't have visitors in your condo past 10pm. We had friends from town over and received a call at 10pm sharp from security asking that our visitors leave. There is a pool just at the bottom of the Grande building that we used quite often. It gets shade in the afternoon and is very nice. The main pool with the water slides gets quite busy during the day. We have found that the best time for the main pool is right at 8am when they turn the slides on. We had the pool to ourselves for about 2 hours Saturday morning. Once the pool fills up, security starts monitoring the slides. One of them sits at the top of the big slide, and they don't allow anyone on under the age of 7, even if an adult is with them. This was a new rule since last year. Overall,This is a nice family resort, very comfortable and safe! I would recommend a condo on the top floors for the best ocean views.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The condo was clean and had wonderful views of the ocean! We stayed in Baja 702-- We slept with the windows open and listened to the sounds of the ocean. The room is fully equipped with everything you can possibly need.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas

Address: 1000 Sandy Beach Rd, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas is an oceanfront resort comprised of privately-owned luxury homes and condominiums. The resort is located along Sandy Beach in Puerto Penasco, Mexico. The town is commonly known as Rocky Point. Las Palmas reflects this new trend with its splendid architecture, groomed landscaping and family-oriented culture. The gated compound offers 24-hour security, heated pools, Jacuzzis, lighted parking and a spectacular club house with swim-up bar, kid's pool, exercise room, game room and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palmas Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Las Palmas Beachfront
Las Palmas Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.