We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find Another Place....DO NOT Waste your money or vacation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Palmas
Save
You added Las Palmas to your Saves list
1000 Sandy Beach Rd, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Find Another Place....DO NOT Waste your money or vacation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!

We just got back and stayed here June 6-12, 2012 in Casa 12. It was huge disappointment, huge!! Where do I begin? The villa was run down and not well maintained over the years. It has horrible Ikea furniture that was worn, nicked, dirty, and cheap. The beds have lumpy, disgusting futon mattress so don't plan on sleeping. The main room had dirty couches, dirty curtains, dirty kitchen, dirty everything. The kitchen was not well stocked with cooking utensils and the ones that were there were disgusting or so used that it was scary to cook food in them. No toaster, no trash can, no dish towels, no garbage bags. Bring your own toliet paper or you can buy some in their store!! There were ants in the bathroom, EVERYWHERE. The over the stove microwave was broken so they put one on the counter that sounded like it was about to explode any minute. There were missing light bulbs everywhere and the one in the master bath was hanging by a screw. Be careful it doesn't fall in while showering. The stove was old, worn and dirty but it did work as did the dishwasher. The washing machine worked on hot, hot, or scalding.

The drain in one of the bathrooms was so slow it almost overflowed. The neighbors had their shower and toilet back up so we had a whole day to enjoy the workers digging up the sewer line to unclog their pipes right next to our patio. It was super having them there all day long and even better when we had tons of roaches at night on our patio because of the sewer work. The TV's are old and crappy. The remotes are taped together with duct tape and the garage door didn't work all the time. I heard others complaining about their villas to the front desk. They don't care at all by the way!

The pool is dirty, small, has very little seating and no umbrellas. The swim up bar never opened and apparently hasn't for some time. I never saw anyone clean the pool all 6 days. Fun pool for kids with a water slide on one side and a play pool on the other side. No lifeguard on duty and no one watching the kids on the slide. I am surprised there weren't any injuries. If you want to escape the kids, no chance here you will have to go to the beach. The other 2 pools are so small they are like jacuzzi's which by the way, most of them on the property don't work and the ones that do aren't hot. Also, apparently they don't care if you put your kids in the pool with dirty diapers or even change diapers right by the pool where the feces and urine can back flow into the pool water. I guess only some rules apply to some people at the "resort" (a term I use loosely) because you can have glass bottles out at the pool (even though signs are posted not to)that's cool, you can throw your beer cans, bottles, and trash in front of your villa and leave it there for your entire stay so everyone who walks by your yard to the pool can enjoy your dump all weekend long and you don't even have to clean it up before you check out! You can actually have the cleaning people clean up your frat party for you! I thought that was a nice touch! You can let your kids run and scream around the pool, you can eat food in the pool, and you can have huge loud parties all night long with music and screaming! BUT...DO NOT smoke anywhere near the pool! Apparently they draw the line there! I saw security once on the property actually checking patios and the beach. Not sure why since it was Monday night and no one was there anymore! The plants and grass need some TLC and the rope lights to the beach on the palm trees have a nice effect if they all worked. Lastly, forget about Wi-fi at Las Palmas, you aren't getting it!

FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO STAY!

Room Tip: Rent somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    15
    6
    15
See reviews for
63
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We rented a two bedroom two bath condo for 8 days. It was really nice escape for our family. During weekdays Sandy Beach is empty, but on the weekends it was fairly busy. However, it is nothing like it was prior to the recession. If you use common sense when traveling in Mexico, you will be okay. Don't travel to Rocky Point at night and stay on the resorts at night. There is visible security around the clock. We will be going back to Las Palmas again!!

Room Tip: End units are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Jacuzzi was cold so I asked if they can make it hotter. They said they would I went back in and an hour later It was still cold. They didnt seem to care. And then I asked went to the Gym and roaches were crawling around. I went to my room and the wifi didnt work. The kitchen dishes seemed dirty. So i asked to check out early and they said I could but they would charge me all the days I reserved. I payed for 4 nights and was only there 1 day. Screw this place. dirty. Unsafe because of the sorry security staff. And hidden rules that they dont mention until it is for there benifit

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

im on my honey moon typing this. seriously. Im pissed. we came in sunday april 29th . Got married the 28th. and sunday through wed is when their occupancy is low so guess WHAT???? the Jacuzzi is cold! the pool lights are off. the restaurant is closed early. the we asked for towels. they said they would bring some. hours later i went to the front desk and they told me that they dont do that. we have to wash ours. So i said why not say they dont do that that make me wait for them??? the doors on our balcony didnt lock. the wifi DIDNT WORk. dam it im getting mad. the list goes on. please pitch in and pay for honey moon we can relax at. im mad i have to stop typing. xavechany@hotmail.com

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Me and my family got 2 houses on the beach and loved them! Everyone at Las Palmas is so nice and helpful! This year we are getting 3 houses and are very excited to come back! In the summer the ocean is beautiful and warm. Our only complaint would be that the pool is too warm when its 100 outside and should be cooler so you can stay in it longer.

Room Tip: Get a house right on the beach! They are clean and very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula vista
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I was in Las Palmas Resort Rocky Point for 5 days and rent 4 rooms of which had no screen door so flies would squeeze themselves to the room, another thing I didn't liked about it was that in my room with 2 bedrooms the 3 televisions was broken, I reported at the reception office, but they never went to review them. Another bad thing was that the pools were very cold (April) and only one hot tub was hot, the others hot tubs was with cold water. They don't have enough bunks, in our pool area only 4 bunks, but for Holy Thursday the staff started putting many bunks and heating the pools, It was not fair because I paid holiday price on Monday (so I don't have rights until thursday?). The manager told me that the community owners had decided to heat the pools up on Holy Thursday as well put the bunks, was the worst explanation. Also the rooms had very poor appliances, only 3 tablespoons in a room with 2 bedrooms, I will not turning back to Las Palmas Resort Puerto Penasco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

we stayed three days at las palmas beatifull place nice condos clean and cold. nice beaches nice weather and nice pools. very clean picnic areas would recomend it to anyone. had no bad experiences. it is worth every penny spent!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Penasco hotels
0.8 mi away
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
Penasco Del Sol Hotel
#1 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
Las Palomas Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Playa Bonita Hotel
Playa Bonita Hotel
#7 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sonoran Sky Resort
Sonoran Sky Resort
#5 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Laos Mar Hotel & Su...
#9 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
Hotel Paraiso del Desierto
#10 of 19 in Puerto Penasco
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas

Address: 1000 Sandy Beach Rd, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas is an oceanfront resort comprised of privately-owned luxury homes and condominiums. The resort is located along Sandy Beach in Puerto Penasco, Mexico. The town is commonly known as Rocky Point. Las Palmas reflects this new trend with its splendid architecture, groomed landscaping and family-oriented culture. The gated compound offers 24-hour security, heated pools, Jacuzzis, lighted parking and a spectacular club house with swim-up bar, kid's pool, exercise room, game room and spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Puerto Penasco
Las Palmas Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Las Palmas Beachfront
Las Palmas Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.