We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco
Save Saved
You added Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco to your Saves list
Km. 24 Carretera Penasco-Caborca | Ejido Miramar, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Newbury Park, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for 7 days with some friends who own a timeshare through RCI. The rooms we stayed in were in the oldest part of the hotel. OLD, moldy, tiny. Nothing like we thought it would be. The town is nearly 30 minutes away through a 15 minute drive through dirt, then another 15 minute drive down a very scary (especially at night - there are no street lights) 2 lane road. Once in town, nothing to do or see. If you're looking for a place to relax and read by the pool and drink all day, this is your place. The front desk staff were less than desirable but the rest of the staff was out of this world. The buffet every night was surprisingly delicious. The quality of the food brought in was excellent!
We looked at the newer part of the hotel - seems like it would have been more worth it. Make sure you don't stay in the old building. You will NEVER return.

Room Tip: Make sure you get booked in the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear theinvisiblejet :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted that you liked our pool, our evening buffet and some of our staff’s service.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met.All our staff has a strict regimen of training and supervision in order to provide the highest level of service our guests expect from us. For that reason, rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate areas. Reviews like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance as well as to maintain our facilities in the best conditions for our guests to enjoy.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future to truly impress you with what we have to offer.

With all good wishes,
Mayan Palace Puerto Peñasco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    122
    62
    32
    48
See reviews for
136
98
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights (Dec 24th-27th) via using my timeshare via RCI. Had it for 7 nights but only stayed for 3 nights--thats all we planned on in the first place---3 or 4 nights. The Mayan Palace is isolated and Rocky Point the town is about 30 minutes away. I have stayed at the Grand Mayan in Puerto Vallarta so Im comparing my experiences based on the same resort chain. We did a 2200 mile road trip from Utah, to the Grand Canyon, a few days in Phoenix, and drove to Rocky Point---no issues at all driving and felt safe 80 miles across the border. The entry and main lobby was very nice and comfortable and after check in, we were shuffled over to a lady who was a timeshare person. I stopped her quickly and said we have zero interest in purchasing a timeshare and we went on our way. No breakfast, free this or that I had no interest. We had a 2 bedroom (2 adults and a 7 year old) , ocean view, upper floor, in the adjacent building (not the main building). The rooms where comfortable, we had a small kitchen with all the basics (they need to add wine glasses). The walls in the room were dirty and dust and sheet rock dust in the closets by the sames---not "dirty" but my opinion the rooms need cleaned a little deeper. The beach is HUGE and you can walk for miles, lots of sea shells, and the tide goes out a few hundred yards every day. We cooked in our rooms, at lunch at the pool, and we didnt find the prices high but we never ate dinner or breakfast in the onsite places to eat. We bought our own food at the grocery store in town and made our own cocktails. The weather was in the high 60's and nice welcome from the cold and snow in Utah. Sunny and light breeze every day and I layed out in my swimsuit on the beach every day. My son enjoyed the activities they had on the beach and the indoor swimming pool. Staff was friendly and everyone was nice. We went into town at ate at Pollo Lucas (awesome chicken!!) 1x and it was very good. Overall, I would give the Mayan Palace 3.5 stars. I have been to Mexico many times (Canun/Puerto Vallarta/Cabo) and probably wont return to Rocky Point any time soon because its not the same feel as Cancun or PV. Reminded me of AZ and felt like being at a desert lake, even though its the Gulf of CA (I think its the Gulf of CA). If I were living in Phoenix, I'd probably head down there now and then for a getaway but I wont go out of my way to go back any time soon. Nice grounds, isolated, friendly staff, rooms need to tidy up some, and the experience of Rocky Point didnt excite me at all.

Room Tip: Ocean View, upper floor, main building is closer to the pools and activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear willicarj :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out youand your loved onesenjoyed our facilities and appreciate your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We spend considerable resources training our staff to maintain the highest possible standard of cleanliness and hygiene which we know our guests expect when staying at our properties. Nevertheless, this will all be addressed by the appropriate areas as we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of satisfaction.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.

Warmest regards,
Mayan Palace Puerto Peñasco Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Orygun
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Okay folks, we just got back from a week's stay at the Mayan Palace in Puerto Penasco. We have never stayed the the property or been to Puerto Penasco. So without further ado, I'll share with you the good, the bad, and some helpful tips to help counter any other gripes or complaints other reviewer's have shared on here. They are not in any order, just random thoughts to help make your stay the best possible.

1) The Mayan Palace is NOT close to Puerto Penasco...it's a 30 minute drive and believe me, there's NOTHING else around it. So if you don't plan on eating at the hotel, you will have to drive into town for all your meals... Or do what we did and hit Super Ley (grocery store) or Sam's Club and use your kitchenette to do a lot of cooking. Super Ley is off Constitucion Ave. Off the main road that comes into town from Gila Bend, Ajo, Why (Penasco Sonoyta Hwy) you'll see a Burger King. It's DUE west about 3 blocks from there. If you're looking for Sam's Club, it's right when you enter town on Penasco Sonoyta Hwy.

2) The wait staff we found to be VERY friendly and very helpful. The pool bar adds a 10% service charge...that is their tip...if you would like to add more you can but not necessary. However, we added 5% to that...

3) We went to Mayan Palace in January and it was a tad chilly. Bring sweatshirts and long pants! The outdoor pool is BEAUTIFUL, but no one is in it...too cold. But the property has a very nice indoor pool with glass windows all around so you can still have a view of the ocean.

4) The gym at the Mayan Palace could be the best gym I have come across at a hotel in Mexico. Very extensive and a great view of the ocean when doing cardio. We did not try their spa, Brio, but heard it was quite nice.

5) When we went, the outdoor pool had happy hour from 12pm to 1pm and 3pm to 4pm. Half priced drinks saved a LOT OF MONEY...ask them when it is...

6) The hotel rooms are very clean, the beds comfortable, and the entire resort is spotless. I gave our maid a tip and she made animal shapes out of towels every day for the kids...they loved it! And so did I... :-)

7) When checking in...or even before you check in...ask and request a TOP TIER floor. If you have to grease the skids, offer the front desk person $50 bucks. Trust me. It's worth it. And I'm not talking about just the view....the first floor rooms are gorgeous as well. But the issue is, one of the only complains I have about the property is the floors are all hard surfaces. The tables and chairs are made of wood and when they scrape across the floors, they sound like nails on chalk boards...the wood legs reverberate and the sound transfers to the floor below. And trust me, IT'S LOUD! Especially if you go to bed before the people above you do.

8) The time share deal. First, as you ALL KNOW, Mexico is a fairly poor country so you cannot blame them in trying to sell a time share or even book a meeting with you to make a living. However, it's painful. I avoided the entire process by NOT picking up our "welcome packet". I would rather skip the free margarita, the 50% off at the spa, or discounted golfing to be left alone. However, they DO call you. I told them on the phone, "I'm not interested. I appreciate it and would appreciate it if you didn't call me any more about it." That was it, the time share thing is done and over.

9) The ocean is wonderful. It's warm and has very little current. Kids will LOVE to play in it. AND, seashells are lined heavily up and down the beach. The beach is private and you can walk literally for miles and miles.

10) The walls in the hotel room are not that thin, but the doors to the hallway are. Again, hard surfaces reverberate sounds so people walking pass talking sound like they're in the same room as you. Just in case, bring some ear plugs if you are a LIGHT sleeper. Or, just down a few more beers or tequila shots and you'll have no troubles.

Really, it's a very beautiful and friendly property if you go knowing what to expect. It's not a plush Four Seasons, but it's a nice property that is very clean, fun, and quite relaxing! Bring some books!!!

ADDED TIP:
If you've never been to Puerto Penasco, as we have never been, it is a very quite fishing town that depends on tourism to make it. The Malecon at the point downtown is VERY nice, but quite small and the vendors are the WORST I've ever seen in Mexico. They are all over you like fly on stink hustling you for a sale. They even have "car tenders" who point where to park, then help you back up and want a tip...like you couldn't do that without them. We found very little restaurants that were above average, however, three places NOT on the ocean were wonderful.

1) Chef. It's on Freemont coming into town from Mayan Palace. It's on the north side of the road right before you get to Penasco Sonoyta road. Excellent for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

2) Just past Chef on the same side is a taco stand called Combo Taco. Best shrimp tacos I had while I was there. Skip the marlin, it wasn't that good and I'm used to Marlin from Puerto Vallarta...not the same. However, the shrimp and "combo" were awesome and it comes with a fresh salsa bar complete with cabbage slaw you can put on your camarones.

3) Kaffee Bar. It's about a quarter mile on Penasco Sonoyta on the left handside by a dentist office about a quarter mile before you get down to the malecon area. It's small, but has the best coffee and pasteries in town. And, they are open for breakfast and lunch and it's FANTASTIC!

Hope this helps and enjoy your trip to the Mayan Palace!

Room Tip: Make sure to request the 3rd or top level rooms. They are not any fancier and all the rooms have ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

+ves: Clean, friendly staff, indoor pool, activities (beach volleyball, pool tournament)

-ves: almost everything is charged - tennis rackets, pool tables, drinks are expensive, internet is very expensive (170 pesos/day) and it's not very fast, coffee in the room (first one is complimentary) is also charged, restaurants are good but pricey

Spa - It is nice and relaxing. We did the Spa Romance package which was supposed to be 3 hours, but it only lasted 1.5 hours. They said to spend rest of the time in the steam/sauna - which we could have done with any other package. So, not really worth it.

Town is about 30 minutes from the resort and is pretty laid back.

Activity center folks - Jessica and Ignacio are friendly and energetic! Even the Ecofun folks (Ricardo, Angela, Doralee, Alfonso) were fun and accomodating.

Time share presentation - If you are strong enough, it shouldn't bother you at all. They won't kill you but yes, they would try to sell :)

It was great to mingle with other guests most of whom were really fun!!!

Room Tip: Suites are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mayan palace was our exchange week choice for x mas. Out in no mans land is not for us. Did not eat in restaurants. We had taken food and very glad we did. To expensive. They think they have a high class resort, but it is not. The high preasure sales pitch on day 1 was not welcomed. The resort is in a beautiful setting, and if beach combing all day is enough enjoy. The Point restaurant in town had excellent food, but 30 minutes of shopping and we were done. We left 2 days early and will not go back. Do bring clams and shrimp home cheap and great.

Room Tip: Choose top floor. No elevatot, but no noise from above. Request ocean view and make sure they write...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Mayan Palace near Puerto Penasco is a beautiful resort on the north end of the Gulf of California/Sea of Cortez. Unfortunately its location is not ideal, but with a few adjustments it could be a great vacation destination. The resort is about 30 minutes away from Puerto Penasco thanks to a slow, windy road into the resort. There is lots to do in the town which is welcome as the resort is limited in both activities and restaurants. There is no nightlife as the bar closes early. There are fees for using the gym and tennis courts, and the pool outside was freezing with no hot tubs. The golfing is very good but expensive and the beach is beautiful with lots of shells. It is perfect for small children as there is no undertow and few waves. Watch out for the timeshare presentations: they ARE NOT 90 minutes and they ARE high pressured. Puerto Penasco was a neat discovery but the Mayan Palace has lots of plans in the works that are far from being completed. Next time I will look for something in the town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited the Mayan Palace again in mid-October and once again we had a great vacation. The Lobby is awesome, the grounds are beautiful, the staff fantastic and the beach is the best in Mexico. We bring most of our own food so we only have a couple of beach side snacks at the outside restaurant. There are lots of activities if you want them. Again, we will warn you. If you don't want to buy a timeshare don't go on the tour. Simple as that. We have been owners for years and we love it. Go to our review on 8-27 for more information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco

Address: Km. 24 Carretera Penasco-Caborca | Ejido Miramar, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Hotel Puerto Penasco
Wyndham Puerto Peñasco
Mayan Palace Penasco
Puerto Peñasco Wyndham
Mayan Resort Puerto Penasco Mexico
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.