We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best christmas week” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Penasco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco
Save
You added Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 24 Carretera Penasco-Caborca | Ejido Miramar, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not the best christmas week”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mayan palace was our exchange week choice for x mas. Out in no mans land is not for us. Did not eat in restaurants. We had taken food and very glad we did. To expensive. They think they have a high class resort, but it is not. The high preasure sales pitch on day 1 was not welcomed. The resort is in a beautiful setting, and if beach combing all day is enough enjoy. The Point restaurant in town had excellent food, but 30 minutes of shopping and we were done. We left 2 days early and will not go back. Do bring clams and shrimp home cheap and great.

Room Tip: Choose top floor. No elevatot, but no noise from above. Request ocean view and make sure they write...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    142
    74
    35
    51
See reviews for
150
126
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Mayan Palace near Puerto Penasco is a beautiful resort on the north end of the Gulf of California/Sea of Cortez. Unfortunately its location is not ideal, but with a few adjustments it could be a great vacation destination. The resort is about 30 minutes away from Puerto Penasco thanks to a slow, windy road into the resort. There is lots to do in the town which is welcome as the resort is limited in both activities and restaurants. There is no nightlife as the bar closes early. There are fees for using the gym and tennis courts, and the pool outside was freezing with no hot tubs. The golfing is very good but expensive and the beach is beautiful with lots of shells. It is perfect for small children as there is no undertow and few waves. Watch out for the timeshare presentations: they ARE NOT 90 minutes and they ARE high pressured. Puerto Penasco was a neat discovery but the Mayan Palace has lots of plans in the works that are far from being completed. Next time I will look for something in the town

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited the Mayan Palace again in mid-October and once again we had a great vacation. The Lobby is awesome, the grounds are beautiful, the staff fantastic and the beach is the best in Mexico. We bring most of our own food so we only have a couple of beach side snacks at the outside restaurant. There are lots of activities if you want them. Again, we will warn you. If you don't want to buy a timeshare don't go on the tour. Simple as that. We have been owners for years and we love it. Go to our review on 8-27 for more information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited, and, yes, we bought, and we were promised years ago that there was going to be a Bliss, then that there was going to be a Luxxe, instead of a Bliss. When we bought it was on the understanding that could not have been more unequivocal, we will only buy if you are going to build a nice set of accommodations at this location. How stupid, I was actually conned into the sales job. Now I own a time share, and yes, it is a fine program if you want to go to PV or Cancun, but it you think you are going to just drive down and stay at a nice unit at Rocky Point, you are as naive as I. Had this been in America they would be faced with a class action RICO law suit for the lies they tell about Rocky Point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere and it is still under renovation/construction. Upon arriving one gets the impression that the hotel owners tried to do too much too fast and were just barely able to make a small portion of the complex inhabitable. The prices are ridiculous. I personally only purchased drinks during happy hour (roughly 10 dollars per drink) although I did speak to a couple who dined and ended up paying 100 dollars for a steak meal. The two lane road between the town and the hotel is very damaged and hard to maneuver in. The town itself isn't much to look at. The hotel doesn't even sell goggles or swimming caps. I would recommend bringing your own skillet if you plan on cooking in the suites. We went through the optional sales pitch for the discounts they offered. It is very aggressive and you end up being grilled by about 3-4 people for 2 hours or more. The gym looks like something you would find in your attic although they did have plenty of treadmills. There are three good things about the resort: its indoor pool, its massive private beach, and the activities/entertainment staff which does wonders with the few tools the hotel provides. Nothing is free of charge at this place. Tennis rackets, billiard equipment, internet, and pretty much anything you can think of comes at a price. The drinks are pretty bad in addition to their fairly high price. No drink is prepared naturally and even the daiquiri pulp comes out of reused plastic containers. Because of its isolation your trip will be what you make of it and it isn't impossible to have fun. If I can find a better hotel at a reasonable distance I will definitely not be returning to this or any other Mayan Palace in the future. Also, the beds were hard as rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful golf course with incredible ocean views! Many holes next to the beach. Lush green fairways with perfect greens. Excellent service and friendly staff. Good food and cocktails but a little pricey. Golf was only $55 each. Can't wait to play again in a couple of months!

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

~This is the point of view of someone who didn't have to endure the sales pitch (my parents are the timeshare owners)~

Short version: Compared to other resorts in Puerto Penasco, This place is exceptional and their private beach is like no other in the area! Compared to other Mayan Palaces, its ok. As it stands right now its not as grand and scenic as some of their other properties.

Long version: The whole resort property will be a work in progress for quite a while with a villa dotted scenic golf course (which would explain the horribly curvy road to the resort itself) and the Grand Mayan still under construction (apparently expected to be finished by March 2013).

Once you get over that Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco has an exceptionally soft sand and clear water beach! It was so much fun beach combing when the tides were low and even better that I was able to see my feet clearly in comparison to the hotel beaches right in town. Major plus that you weren't fighting or being interrupted constantly by diesel smelling quads and strolling vendors since Mayan Palace's beach is private. The grounds are clean and constantly being kept that way. Pool was nice, although their Jacuzzi's weren't working and indoor pool was being remodeled. Their spa is pretty tiny but my facial was still relaxing. Didn't try the gym which is located above the spa overlooking the indoor pool.

The rooms are pretty spacious although they have thin walls. I was able to hear my neighbors moving the really heavy chairs around. Kitchenette has the basics including a 2 burner stove top and only enough dishes for 6 people. Bring extras and even an electric skillet if you plan on cooking for more during your stay.

If you love to be in the middle of all the bars and action you wont enjoy the location since its a good 20-30 minute drive from Puerto Penasco. If its laying out and relaxing you're looking for, their beach is perfect.

Oh and one more thing: If you arrive at night and decide to explore the grounds then, that is not grass at the edge of the lobby patio. Its a pond.

Room Tip: Ocean view is well worth it and quieter in the evenings when staff are prepping for the next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco

Address: Km. 24 Carretera Penasco-Caborca | Ejido Miramar, Puerto Penasco 83500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Hotel Puerto Penasco
Wyndham Puerto Peñasco
Mayan Palace Penasco
Puerto Peñasco Wyndham
Mayan Resort Puerto Penasco Mexico
Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Palace Puerto Penasco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.