We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Julio Bar & Grill

Don Julio Bar & Grill
Blvd. Freemont across from Plaza Freement, Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

They serve a very good Brunch at Don Julio with an assortment of selections for around 10 bucks a person. There are a dozen Mexican dishes to choose from, as well as the usual bacon, sausage and fruit. The posole (soup) was excellent, and the tortillas delicious. There is also an omelete bar. Service is lacking, as we had to ask for everything we needed as far as water, drinks and napkins, so that could be improved, but it's an all you can eat brunch, so there was plenty of food. They had an entertainer there on Sunday when we went. He was good, and had a very good selection of music. The place is clean and well kept with a nice decor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast yesterday morning after the original place we were headed to was closed on Wednesdays. The restaurant is super clean and had a wonderful decor. They had a very extensive menu and the staff was excellent answering questions, etc. The prices were great for the quality of food and size of portions. Our entire bill for the four of us was under $40. That included two coffees, four delicious freshly squeezed orange juices and our meals. My husband ordered pancakes and bacon and the pancakes were the largest I have ever seen (4 of them). My sons both got omelets which were huge and included fresh toast, potatoes and beans (you are in Mexico people). I ordered the classic breakfast which had eggs, toast, choice of meat (i got 4 slices of smoked bacon), potatoes and beans. My 12 yr. old said his omelet was the best he ever had. He ordered the shrimp and red sauce omelet. He loved it! We looked at the dinner menu and will definitely go for dinner while we are here. The dinner menu was very extensive as well. They do have breakfast buffets on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Best Margarita's after a long day of shopping in Old Port town. We had wonderful food that was served quickly and arrived hot. The chips were served with a hot (temperature) sauce that was very good. Our fish tacos were nicely proportioned and the enchiladas were great. Fun spot for a large group. Plenty of seating. Nice and clean. Tourists and locals. Nice bar area to watch the game.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service! Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

GREAT margaritas. The kindest staff. Excellent food. It was close to our hotel, so we stopped in. The staff was wonderful. We went twice we loved it so much.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Decent reasonably priced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good Mexican food, good service, hacienda decor. Neighborhood is a bit run down but seems safe enough as it is on the main road (Fremont) to Las Conchas. Steak tampiquena was very tasty but the wife's garlic shrimp was very buttery and not well spiced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Julio Bar & Grill also viewed

Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
Puerto Penasco, Sonora
 

Been to Don Julio Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Julio Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.