We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and friendly people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Hotel

Save Saved
You added Baja Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baja Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mariano Matamoros | Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not the most luxurious hotel in Rocky point but the rooms are nice and there is always 24 hour security to park your four wheelers. The staff is beyond pleasant and speak English. They offer breakfast buffet in the morning for a fee and there is a swim up bar in the pool. One block from ocean but had a great view. Conveniently located down the strip for an easy walk to the dance clubs! Fun for every age.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    6
    6
    13
See reviews for
11
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at Baja Hotel not expecting 5 star service due to the money i paid. I stayed for 4 days with a couple of friends and it was the absolute worst decision i have EVER made. First, the lock to my door did NOT work and when we told management that it didn't they said they would look into it....they never did. We told the manager again and he said he's sending someone up right now...once again he never came. Second, my friend had a very valuable camera that ended up being stolen by either an employee or someone that cleans the rooms. We know this because somebody else that stayed there told us that he had seen somebody walking out of the room. We told management again and they said they couldnt do anything about it because there was no evidence! Three, the food is terrible. I could have made better food on the ground. Fourth, when leaving the room one afternoon we saw a cocaroach on the ceiling! It had too be at least 4 inches long. Disgusting! The pool was dirty and the service was cheap. I honestly didnt expect it to be that bad. NEVER EVER EVER STAYING HERE AGAIN.

Room Tip: Pay a little more money to stay in a better hotel than this. Wifi doesnt work everywhere, you liter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

..stay on the cheap, this is the place. A bed, a shower, AC and a roof over your head. You can tell they usually deal with a young party crowd. Deposit on the remote, the lamps and TV are glued to the furniture, and a spooky security guy who..well makes you feel like you need permission to go to and from your vehicle. The place was clean, and the rest of the staff were friendly but It's back to Sandy Beach for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was a very basic average hotel, nothing spectacular, the bed was stiff but not unbearable. The room and pool were clean. The food in the restaurant was decent. I had no trouble getting my $10 deposit back. The people that I talked to at the office were very nice and helpful when we asked about where things were and places we could eat. We ended up spending the second night at one of the resorts because we got offered a great deal to rent a really nice condo and when I asked to change my two night stay to just one night they didn't give me any trouble about changing my reservation. If you are on a budget this hotel isn't bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I was not expecting luxury. I knew there were no elevators, etc and i could live with that. With the amount I paid I was expecting a place to sleep and a place to shower. Nothing more. First of all, don't trust the pictures. Must have been taken years ago when the place was first built. Also, place seems almost abandoned as there may have been oh maybe 2 other guests for the weekend we were there. 2nd night they decided to have some kind of paid event and had a Mexican nortena band play, walls were shaking in our room til 2 am maybe later. Perhaps they should have thought of the PAID guests. If u want to actually sleep in your room don't get a room here because beyond the loud music they also lIke to throw things around in the mornings so after not being able to fall asleep until an ungodly hour, you can't sleep in either. Oh and one more thing. They make you wear these ridiculous green florescent wrist bands to stay in the hotel even tho the only privilege of the wristband is to stay in a [--] hotel. No breakfast no drinks nothing. Except advertisement to the world you are a tourist to be taken advantage of while out exploring the city.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

The receptionist (male) was quite rude when we checked in. They ask for an $80 dollar deposit which is returned to you at the end of the stay, but if you do not specify "dollars" on your contract you get "pesos" back. There are NO ELEVATORS and the hotel is FOUR STORIES high, with luggage it can really be tough. The hot water is not that great, it does take a while to get when you take a shower. As far as location, there are not that many Hotels around and the view to the ocean is not great at all.

IF YOU ARE TRAVELING WITH KIDS: be aware that there is a "club" on the weekends i believe . They play loud music that can be disturbing for those in the rooms and they do play adult videos with strong content on a projector screening on the middle patio wall that can be seen from any floor of the hotel, ANYONE can see them and they are videos you do not want your kids to see.

Room Tip: First floors, take less stairs.. NO ELEVATORS
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baja Hotel

Address: Mariano Matamoros | Rocky Point, Puerto Penasco 83550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Sonora > Puerto Penasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Puerto Penasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baja Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Baja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baja Hotel Puerto Penasco, Sonora, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.