We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the dinner ! ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
glasgow, scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth it for the dinner ! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As many people on here have already reported, myself and my partner went here on a travelzoo deal .

We arrived around 4 pm and we were told we could have our cream tea whenever we liked instead of the allocated time of between 3 and 5 pm on the day of arrival which we appreciated as we weren't really hungry then.

We stayed in room 36, room was clean and bed reasonably comfortable although in dire need of an update, no shower in room , there was a Jacuzzi bath although unfortunately that didn't work, as this was now Saturday evening I didn't see the point in asking for someone to look at it as I doubt they could have got a plumber before Monday morning, not a massive deal, partner used the showers in the spa for the duration of our stay.

We were booked in for the 3 course table d'hote menu, starters and mains were brilliant, couldn't fault it and was very impressed with the quality, partners dessert was also really nice unfortunately my creme brulee had curdled but I was so full I again wasn't too bothered, nice selection of wine and very reasonably priced !

Cooked breakfast was nice, would have liked some pastries to be available, not a fan of tinned fruit ! Service on both occasions was fine .

The lobby has some really comfortable sofas to sit in, you get the best wifi connection there , on Sunday night they had a really bad leak from upstairs though which had to be caught in a bucket so did ruin the time you spent there, can imagine it would be really cosy in winter when the log fire was going !

Would I return, probably not unfortunately, although for the price we paid I definitely don't feel I was robbed , with a little or maybe a lot of tlc this could be a great place to be your base if your visiting the lakes .

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for visiting and offering your opinion of your stay with us. We thank you for your comments on the good value we offered for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals with us. Thanks as well for your comments on where we can improve; these are invaluable for us. We have a variety of rooms to choose from, many with showers instead of baths. It is important to let us know exactly what you are looking for so everyone is happy! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    569
    166
    63
    51
See reviews for
210
960
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights booked through Travelzoo as a special offer. It was a lovely hotel, although quite tired in places, squeaky floorboards, flaking paintwork, BUT those things didn't take away the wonderful staff, manager Wayne's friendliness and the fabulous food offered in the evening and breakfast. There is plenty of parking and gardens. There is a pool inside but we didn't use it but it looked very nice. Overall the hotel is a little tired in places but we had a very comfortable stay, the rooms and beds were very clean with coffee and tea facilities in the room and lovely big fluffy towels. It is away from the Lakes, about a ten minute drive.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, the stairs could have been difficult if you had any difficulties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for posting your review and for staying with us. We thank you for your comments about our staff and food as well. We always work hard to keep the hotel a great place to visit and your comments will help us to continue to do that. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights with a Bespoke voucher.We had a wonderful stay in tranquil surrounds.
We arrived for afternoon cream tea,then went for a swim,sauna and hot tub, a wonderful bonus to have a pool. Our evening meal was delicious,I was suprised at the quality for the price we paid for a three course meal.I had pheasant for my main and my husband had venison,my creme brûlée was one of the best I've tasted.
We had a twin room which had white crisp bed linen and plenty big enough.
After our evening meal Wayne the manager grouped up all the guest and we did a fun
quiz. Our breakfast was a buffet with juice fruit cereal and a cooked breakfast with quality bacon and sausages.
The hotel allows dogs to stay as this is no surprise as Wayne has a dog of his own.
Lake Widermete is a short distant away so is ideal for tutoring the area.
The only comlplaint I have was with the scones,please Wayne change the recipe.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. Your comments have gone down a treat here, especially about your dining experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals and that the creme brûlée was one of the best you've had; high praise indeed! Thanks again and we do hope you'll come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have stayed at this relaxing, tranquil hotel twice and have just booked to go again, staff are amazing and very helpful. Food is lovely, and the grounds are amazing. Would highly recommend for a relaxing short stay.

Room Tip: Have stayed in both family rooms which have both been excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for coming to see us again and posting your nice review. Everyone is pleased you enjoyed your stay and have booked to come again! Thanks as well for recommending us to others. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Lovely hotel friendly staff. Good food and not far from Lake windermere. Would definitely recommend this hotel whether it's a short stay or long one as it's own small lake and as we went in April was lovely watching the ducklings swimming.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your review and 5* rating of your stay at the Damson Dene Hotel. We loved your comments about our staff and food. Also, the ducklings appreciate being mentioned as well! Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a 2 night stay at this hotel.
The dinner included in the deal was practically inedible (all 3 courses) and the price £29:95 was way too expensive for the quality of food provided.
Our room No. 25 was small and cramped and the view from the bedroom window was of the kitchen wall. There was no blind or screen on the en-suite window which also faced the kitchen.
Really disapointed with our stay

Room Tip: Request a room with a view similar to the ones in their brochure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
What a disappointment to read this review. We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We usually receive such excellent praise for our food quality and we are very surprised with your comments. It is slightly misleading to say the price was too expensive as it was included in your deal, but we take your point and apologise to not have lived up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on offering good value breaks and will redouble our efforts to ensure this continues to be the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just had a very enjoyable 2 night stay. The hotel and staff were wonderful. We had one evening meal included in the price which was excellent and the bar meal we had on the second night was just as good. The breakfasts were fantastic with so much choice. We booked this online with Amazon and also had a trip on Windermere included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks so much for visiting for your birthday and posting your wonderful, 5* review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we cannot thank you enough for your comments on our food. Thanks again and we hope you pop up again to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.