We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely Lakes break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chorley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Had a lovely Lakes break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I booked the Damson Dene as a girly walking get away with my friend. We chose it because it had leisure facilities and £49 per person including dinner seemed like great value.
I was a little aprehensive after reading mixed reviews but am pleased to say that we had a lovely time. Our room was small and slightly dated, but was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and I could not fault the service at all. We both had 2 beauty treatments which were lovely and very proffessional and which we highly recommend. We didn't get the chance to use the swimming pool or gym but both looked to be in good order.
We had a really lovely, relaxing time and would recommend the Damson Dene as a good base for a walking or exploring break.

  • Liked — The staff were lovely as was the food
  • Disliked — It was a little dated but clean and comfy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    569
    166
    63
    51
See reviews for
210
960
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I attending a wedding at the hotel recently. I share some of the views about the rooms and the state of the hotel in general.

The biggest disappointment was the service or lack of it - there was no one in reception when we arrived, no apology when we finally got some service and a severe lack of management.

Breakfast was chaos and had to wait an age to get a brew and toast.

The biggest redeemiong feature was the ducks in the pond - poor things could do with some TLC though!

Seriously though, I'd half expect Basil Fawlty to appear! Or worse still, it appeared there was no management at all.

Shameful, it could be a great little spot. Was so bad, that I couldn't be bothered to complain as the queue was so big...

Message to owners "Spend a few quid on the place and fire the staff!!!"

  • Liked — Checkout
  • Disliked — Where do I start?!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

i booked 2 nights stay at the damson dene hotel in the lake district, me and my boyfriend booked it after looking at the pictures on their website, which appeared to be very well presented and the rooms looked really nice also. The pool and the beauty salon images looked very modern and up to date. The price to stay was £108.00 per night, so with the price in mind you would expect decent accomodation. However on arrival at the damson dene hotel, everything looked fine from outside, but as we entered the building we were disappointed as it looked very dated and didnt look as nice as it had appeared on the internet. we were given the key to our room which was down 2 flights of stairs, very dark and dingy! it was like being in a cellar as the window was at ground level to the outside pathway, there was no shower provided either, which in this day and age is very disapointing! we went to take a look at the "spa" and the pool was tiny, not a soul to be seen! the whole feel to the pool area was also dark and dismal, which explained why there wasn't anybody using the facilities. we immediately went to the reception desk and asked for a full refund. dissapointed we left this accomodation and headed into windermere where we went to the tourist information desk, they were extremely helpful and wasn't suprised that we weren't happy with the damson dene as they have had a lot of complaints. they said they would not send anyone there who were looking for somewhere to stay. don't be fooled by the outward appearance and pictures on their website as these must have been taken 20 or more years ago!!!! to save yourself dissapointment....dont go!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

Good hotel, peaceful location set in lovely grounds.
Friendly efficient staff, excellent food, ideal for a short break.

  • Liked — Food & staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

It really saddens me to write this since both my father and my grandmother live in the lakes (my father just down the road from the Damson Dene) however I would never stay at this hotel again. We left feeling that we had been royally ripped off.

All the comments about the rooms are spot on (so I'm not going to repeat) and there were no other aspects that went towards redeeming the situation. No wonder we have a reputation in the UK about poor service and hotel standards in general.

There was nothing terrible about the hotel, i.e. rude staff, etc. however it is NOT worth £150 per night and need about a £1m refurb.

1 star seems a bit harsh I know however the ratio of what was paid to what was delivered was just to great. If this was a £60 a night B&B then you could understand but it is not.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. For the price we paid (£118 pp for dinner, bed and breakfast) we thought it was a gargain. Yes the rooms are a little small and dated, but what do you want for a hotel in the Lakes for this price? The grounds are very well kept and our dog enjoyed his stay chasing ducks and playing with the other guests in the bar. The staff were very helpful and cheerful, dont think any of them were English, but didnt matter. The food also was very good, plenty of it and hot with lots of choice. Not sure I would recommend as a plush, luxurious hotel, but if you know what your getting before you go then you should enjoy. The gym and pool area were also nice and well stocked. A pleasant experience for us.

  • Liked — Location & Food
  • Disliked — Room needed updating with mod cons
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.