We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely two night stay :)!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely two night stay :)!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Damson Dene Hotel. We found a deal on groupon and having the week off already, I called to see if there were any space within the next few days! The receptionist was very helpful and I even upgraded our room, at a small extra charge, to a four poster and jacuzzi room, which had lovely views of the garden so well worth the upgrade. The hotel itself has a welcoming english country feel, with comfy furnishings throughout. Our room had an almost Tudor feel, being a four poster!! The 3 course meal which was included, was excellent and above our expectations! The breakfast was also very good and gave us a hearty meal to start the day. An added bonus of this hotel is the fab pool and sauna facilities. All were very clean, and relaxing to use after a day at the lake. Only downside, for my partner in particular, was the gym equipment which was apparently "from the flinstones era?!", so ok if you don't go to the gym regularly, but to an avid gym user, not the best workout. However this is so minor and the whole stay was fantastic, and we left feeling very relaxed. Staff are also very helpful! The location of the hotel, for us, was very good. Just a short drive to Windermere where we did go out for a lovely meal on our second night. Beautiful scenery along the A5074 to and from the hotel.. So thanks for a lovely stay!! Laura & Dave.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a four poster and jacuzzi if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We really enjoyed reading your review thank you. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including your dining experience and accommodation! Those Flintstone were quite strong, if I remember correctly! If a workout is what you are after, our sister property, The Riverside Hotel has a wonderfully modern gym for use by guests. Maybe if you visit the area again, you can look into staying with us there! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    569
    166
    63
    51
See reviews for
210
960
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We dined in both nights of our stay and thought the restaurant food was good, but the service was even better - staff were friendly, professional and very helpful in dealing with dietary requirements. We were unable to access wifi in our standard room and even in the reception area, wifi was intermittent. We had a problem on check out, but the hotel was cooperative and sorted things out.

Room Tip: The rooms with a four-poster bed (4*) are more spacious and have a better view than the standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. Your kind comments about the staff lets us know we are doing a good job, so thank you for that too. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just spent two wonderful nights at this hotel,The food is of very high standard,We go on Cruises where the standard of food is high,This hotel is equal in both taste and presentation,waiter service was first class,And wine list also very good,The room we had was an unexpected upgrade with four poster bed,Lots of space and lovely views from two windows,Ample tea and coffee choices,Plus Biscuits, Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful,As we're all the staff.Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: From what we saw in other reviews,We asked not to be on the ground floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for this nice review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we compare favourably to your other holiday choices, but with perhaps with less rocking motion from the sea! Thanks for recommending us to others as well and we hope you'll visit more in the future too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we booked a 2 night stay with a deal of 3 cse dinner and breakfast ,and could not fault it food was great service friendly polite staff and the ducks!! room was lovely and leisure facilities were great read past reviews and yes a little attention to detail is needed but it does not exacly stare you in the face ,its a lovely well run hotel ideal for location to lakes will definitley stay again infact waiting for the winter to come back food is fab and breakfast excellent we stayed in a 4 star gold other week but it did not match the damson dene !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We really appreciate your nice review. Thank you for all of your comments and we hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a weekend stay here with 15 members of the family as a get together before our wedding here In December. Between us we had room 10, room 2, room 27, the woodland suite and a cottage and all the rooms were great, could nt complain .
Had a gorgeous meal in the evening, all sat together and the service and the food were excellent, stunning food.This was followed by a quiz in the bar, where wayne had us in stitches, really good atmosphere with all the guests getting involved , had a really good giggle : )
The children more than made the most of the leisure facilities and loved the pool there, really good fun all round, cant wait for the wedding now.
Thanks again to the damson dene and all it s staff, wayne, amos, laura, jean and Yvonne, to name but a few, for a memorable stay, cant wait for the wedding now : )))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are all looking forward to December and hosting your wedding! I'm really pleased you had a nice stay with us and want to thank you for posting this lovely, 5-star review. I'm sure before we know it it will be wedding time! Best of luck in the final preparations. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we stayed for a weekend we had a nice stay the room was small but nice and clean the staff were all lovely and couldn`t do enough to help. the food was very good as was the bar . the receptionist was superb what a asset keep up the good work hanah . me and my wife both had spa treatments with sharon and the lava shell massage was the best i`ve ever had its a must for relaxing it was actually the best part and its hardly mentioned when booking

Room Tip: we had a room on the corner by the road and had a lovely nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the 5-star review. Thanks for mentioning our staff in your review too! Sharon is wonderful, as you say, and she is happy to read your kind words. Do come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 3nights here very pleasant surroundings Hotel could do with some upgrading in certain areas Staff very pleasant willing to stop and talk Food good but didn't have full change of menu every night Would recommend and return sometime in the future

Room Tip: Would not go for a standard room next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for posting your nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.