We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowed in at the Damson Dene !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Snowed in at the Damson Dene !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were there in February like a lots of guests, on a 2 night stay groupon deal. The place is pretty easy to find. We were there early, so drove past the hotel & had lunch and a wander around in nearby Bowness on Windermere and we did intend to return there next day....however, that wasn't to be !
Booked into the hotel.....room was clean, warm and comfortable (if a little 'shabby chic' !) and the bed provided my husband and me with two excellent nights' sleep ! The next day we found we were snowed in - so we stayed put and had a very restful (albeit 'enforced') day in the lounge ! Free WiFi in the lounge (not in the rooms), but no mobile signal (O2) anywhere in the hotel/grounds. The food was good....they appear to offer a limited choice, but the items are well cooked & presented. The staff were pleasant, unobtrusive & helpful. The pool was a welcome addition. The only criticism I have - altho' it's not really of the hotel - is that the 'beauty spa' was shut on Wednesday. Had they been there, with the 'captive' guests, due to the snow....they'd have made a killing ! I certain would have been up for booking several treatments, but unfortunately, it wasn't to be.
It's a friendly, family hotel.....I'm not a 'doggie person' but it was lovely to see dogs at the hotel, and they seemed to add to the ambience !

Room Tip: Room no 5.....upper floor - so not good for people with mobility issues. Four poster bed and jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Somehow the snow makes the Damson Dene even more special and those pictures may be a clue as to why. Thanks for the review and for staying with us. I am pleased you had a restul, if enforced, day in the lounge and hope it helped you relax! It is always nice to get a non-dog owner's point of view about how dog-friendly we are and how it seems to fit in with the hotel so nicely. Thanks again and do come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    571
    166
    63
    51
See reviews for
210
961
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the middle of a heavy snow storm which due to the location and the roads was rather scary but within minutes we relaxed due to the warm welcome and lovely reception area with a roaring fire.

The bedroom was very spacious and very traditional decor. The 4 poster bed, scenery and jacuzzi bath made it a lovely stay. The instructions to the jacuzzi bath state not to use bubble bath for obvious reasons its also worth noting don't use shower gel either! For the price we paid you can't fault the rooms as where else in the Lake District would you have such a large room with these facilities.

The food was excellent, we ate there both nights, again for value the food was exceptional - venison and pheasant were lovely, the presentation was amazing and only £24.99 for a 3 course fine dining meal. As we opened the curtains both mornings the meat delivery van was there so fresh meat delivered daily and the veg grown themselves.

All staff were friendly, we even made a point of saying thank you to Wayne, the manager, as we left as we'd had a lovely break and would definitely return.

I'm unsure if the previous comment even stayed at the same hotel! The website stated dog friendly hotel so we knew dogs would be there (we chose to have a few days away without ours), all dogs including Fly we're very well behaved and even if you weren't a dog lover you wouldn't have been bothered by them. Also, I feel to write a comment about being ill all day as soon as putting food in mouth is very unfair on this or any business as we all know food poisoning is not instant occurrence and there is always an onset time. So please do not be put off by that comment .

A large percentage of the guests staying had stayed there previously so that has to be a very positive sign, couples had not only spent previous Valentines there but Christmas too.

A very enjoyable break and would definitely return as we spend a lot of time on the Lakes visiting family.

Thank you to all at Damson Dene



  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
This wonderful review brought a smile to our faces; thank you for that. Firstly, it really highlights some wonderful aspects of the hotel; great food, friendly staff and very welcoming. The snow added a bit of fun that weekend and made for quite a lively atmosphere. We hope we have turned you into one of those regular guests you mentioned and that we will see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at the damson dene on the group on deal. Room was lovely and full of character (I would disagree with those that say dated, each to their own though!!). Nice four poster bed and plenty of storage etc.

The breakfasts were lovely and plenty of choice depending on what you fancy. The evening meal included was also very nice and the service was very good.

The manager made a real effort to welcome you and make you feel at home at the restaurant and bar.

The only thing that lowered this from an excellent was on our final night there was quite alot of noise coming for the reception area which could be heard in our room above and this carried on until approximately 1am.

Would certainly recommend this to everyone, good views and pretty close to the lakes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your good review. I am happy you appreciated the accommodation's character and style as well. I am also pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and found the service to be excellent; exactly what we are going for of course! I do apologise about the noise in the lounge. As long as the fire is on, the lounge can remain quite busy; although we would hope guests would be mindful of others at that time of night! The next time you visit we'll be sure to give you a room a bit further away from the lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a couple of nights on a "goupon deal", most of the other guests seemed to be on the same offer.
We arrived in a snow storm to a friendly welcome, (bit disappointed the log fire wasnt lit)
Used the pool area which we had to ourselves and warmed up in the sauna-good fun.
We enjoyed our meal, with good service from all the staff and tasty food..
Nice location ,ducks at the window for breakfast.
Yes, we would return if there was a deal on!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Those ducks are seemingly getting bolder and bolder these days; probably the best fed ducks in all the Lake District. Keep an eye out for offers and I imagine we'll be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights as part of a Groupon deal. Hotel is in a good location for visiting other parts of the Lakes. The hotel is quite tired and shabby looking on the whole but it is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Lovely open fire and comfy sofas in the reception area.
We had a four poster bed which was very comfortable and we both slept well. We didn't have any problems with our shower but the jacuzzi was a bit lacking!
The breakfast was included in the deal and was great. Lots of selection. Had dinner at the hotel on the first night. The food was nice but was very limited for vegetarians (only one choice).

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Nice review; thank you for that and for coming to see us. I am happy you had such a good night's sleep and a relaxing break. The chefs are always willing to make something special for vegetarians if what is on the menu doesn't strike their fancy. I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

this was the second time my wife and I have stayed at the damson dene,and once again we were delighted with all that this hotel has to offer.the staff are very friendly and helpful,and the food was superb and very well presented. we spent our first day on a nice little walk above bowness in the snow, where the second day we walked from underbarrow along cunswick scar and scout scar taking in some great panoramic views on a lovely clear day then relaxed in the damson dene leisure facilities.the damson dene is perfect for anyone who enjoys great quality with good value, we will be back no doubt, thankyou to all the staff and sorry about setting the fire alarm off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks for this review! How lovely you were able to see the Lakes with a bit of snow and it sounds like you took advantage of some great nearby walks. Thanks for recommending us to friends and I'm sure we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

If any one says anything negative about this hotel, other than the showers then ignore their comments as they are incapable of anything but finding, no, inventing fault where it doesn`t exiist.
The place and the staff who are possibly the most efficient and pleasant girls and boys you could wish for and they make it all look so easy. As for the food it would be considered exellent at hotels with higher star rating.
My family and I ejoyed the whole two days and in the words of Arnold "we`ll be back".
It was also really nice to see well behaved owners with dogs! great getaway if you cant bear to leave them at home.

As for Wayne well !!!! (the fish answer was too much to take), very professional and a great host.

vince and samantha

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 11 and 12, both had great views of the grunds and the ducks! Comfy chairs to laz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We all had a nice chuckle reading your review; especially the title! Thanks so much for the 5-star rating and for your visit. Thanks for mentioning our great staff as well; it is nice for them to get a mention! We can't wait to host you again and look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.