We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family jolly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carmel,GWYNEDD.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“family jolly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent the weekend at the hotel on a family jolly. There were four adults and three children.
The food was excellent as was the service in the dining room but if I was honest the hotel
itself was a bit of a disappointment. It is in dire need of an upgrade and re-furbishment. Rooms
30 plus have very thin walls and cellings ie you can hear the residents above you using the toilet
in their rooms and the telly next door. Take note that the hotel adv being dog friendly so expect
dog hairs everywhere particulary I noticed in the lounge which has a log fire and a blocked chimney as there was more smoke in the lounge than was going up it ?. Keep your expectations low and you will be OK. I think some of the previous reviewes have been a bit over- generous. However, we enjoyed our stay and thought it represented good value for money. The best test ? would I return- probably not - unless I paid a bit extra for better rooms !!!!.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old building above reception avoid 30 plus. Room 2 was not to bad. Consider one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
How lovely it was to host your family for the weekend and I thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be good value for money. I am sorry if the hotel did not meet all of your expectations and appreciate your candor. The hotel follows a rigorous cleaning programme that ensures that being dog friendly in no way means not being clean and tidy. Also, as TripAdvisor is a place of subjective opinions, I'm not sure it is the case that people have been "over-generous." If people enjoy themselves, they are quite right to post their experience online and vice versa. We love TripAdvisor for that reason and really appreciate your review as it helps us constantly improve! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    569
    166
    63
    51
See reviews for
210
960
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good first impressions when we pulled up. Nice building in a beautiful setting. It's about 10 minutes to the nearest shops, pubs etc.
Reception staff were ok. Room was on the small side and so was the bathroom but the view from the bedroom nearly made up for it.
Our evening meal was a big disappointment. We were really looking forward to it but it did not impress. Over cooked dry beef, pre cooked veg and re heated potatoes. If the last two weren't so then they were just very poor!
Breakfast however was nice with a good selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am very sorry to read your review. We take great pride in the dining experience we offer and I apologise that, in your case, we did not meet the lofty standards we set for ourselves and that our guests have come to expect from us. I am sure if you visit again we would be right back at the level we normally operate at. Thanks for your stay and your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

well after traveling up from kent,we were greeted by lovely reception staff.
we were shown to are room,we think for 3 star hotel its brilliant,staff could not be more helpful
food excellent 5 star. staff excellent 5 star. room comfort. excellent 5 star.
we will be returning in the spring. big thumbs up. anybody thinking of staying at damson dene
would highly recommend it..
PS food is great to!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Another brilliant 5-star review! Thanks for your recent stay. We are happy to be rated so highly and I couldn't agree more, for a 3-star hotel we certainly punch well above our weight, particularly in regards to the quality of staff and our amazing food. Ryan, our head chef, and his team are a 5-star team as is evidenced by all of the amazing reviews. Thanks again and we hope you make the trip up again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arrived home today after a weekend break at The Damson Deane Hotel - What an amazing weekend, Fantastic food, fresh and delicious and the sevice was very quick. Also the most helpful, friendly staff you would ever need and want.
We woke up this morning to see 4 deers grazing in the field opposit which was just so lovely.
I would recommend to anyone thinking about going. We are looking forward to booking again to return soon :-) I think i fresh lick of paint is a little overdue in places just to freshen the place up. All in all excellent place to go. xx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
How lovely you saw the deer grazing nearby! You must have been up fairly early! Thank you for your stay and lovely review. We are very lucky with the staff we have, they cannot do enough for guests. Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to your return. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night break at the Damson Dene and we can't wait to return. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food was fabulous, fresh and delicious and the leisure facilities and spa is all you could want.
With it's beautiful views and superb location we will be looking to book again very soon.
Well done everyone. Keep up the fantastic work and thank you for everything.

Room Tip: choose the 4 poster room with jacuzzi bath - bliss!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Brilliant review! We can't thank you enough for your recent stay and your lovely review; the staff certainly appreciate it. The chefs will also be pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We are in a beautiful spot, and close to many great attractions; although with staff like ours one need not travel far for entertainment! We do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's worth flying 13 hours, and driving 5 hours to this wonderful hotel!! Welcomed by the warm fire place, drinks and mince pies, we started our joyful Christmas vacation at Damson Dene. The scenery around was just marvellous. We love to chat with guests from around, and certainly, you can't miss the "Dominoes" and "Jenga" games! ;-) The manager and staff there are so friendly and humorous that you will miss them all when back. Worth a try here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
What a great review from a wonderful guest! We were delighted to play host to such a special occasion and we are all so happy for the two of you! Thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel. From all of us at the Damson Dene Hotel, we wish you the best of luck for the future. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for the weekend with my partner. We dined in the hotel restaurant for the first night and the food was lovely, even my boyfriend who is very fussy thought the food was lovely. There were some very well trained dogs around the hotel but absolutely no sign of them whatsoever (smells or hair) and having a lab at home it was a nice change!!
The room we stayed in was a bit on the small side and was in need of an update but with the spa, gym, pool and lovely views we didn't spend much time in the room.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff, they really can't do enough to make your stay the best and after watching the series on television I felt amongst stars! Unfortunately my boyfriend told me I'd be too embarrassing if I asked for a picture with Wayne the manager but I can say that he's just as nice in person as on tele!! We will definitely be going back soon!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Another fantastic, 5-star review! Thank you for that. We cater to all guests in our restaurants - even fussy ones. On a serious note, we are very pleased you both enjoyed your meals with us. We do love dogs here, and I am always amazed at how well-behaved they are (sometimes more than their owners!). The next time you visit, you should bring yours along! Until the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.