We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great anniversary break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked this hotel when we saw the offer on group on. We ended up in one of the cottages, which is an annex to the hotel. The cottage was great, it is meant to be for families but the hotel was fully booked but we were very happy as there was so mcuh space and we had extra privacy. The hotel was very homey and the staff very friendly. It was nice having drinks in the lounge by the log fire. If you go to this hotel I recomend having some spa treatments as the lady that does the treatments is very good. the food in the restaurant was very nice and a good range on the menu. The venison was really good and came out pink like its meant to. It was nice seeing the dogs around the hotel , it added to the homey feel of the place. The place is abit dated but that was part of the charm as it is a old building and having it like a boutique hotel would make no sense at all. We were very well taken care of during our stay, thank you

Room Tip: Trya nd get in the cottage , even if its just two of you as it has alot of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Another excellent review! Thank you for that. The cottages are lovely and private; great for families or couples and I am pleased you enjoyed them. Homey is a good word to describe what we aim for here; a relaxed atmosphere with excellent, 5-star service. We never tire of the amazing reviews of our food either, so thanks for that as well. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    569
    166
    63
    51
See reviews for
210
960
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Attended a function on Saturday and stayed over even though it's only an hour or so drive from home - good decision! Top marks to the staff for their friendly, effecient, and unobtrusive service in all areas. The lunch provided at the function was very good, but the dinner was 5 star! What a pleasure to experience quality produce, especially the meats, being used extensively in a menu - not one disappointment between 8 of us, 3 courses each, that really is a credit to the chef(s) and the team. Leisure centre more than met our needs and was well maintained with everything working as it should, and clean. The lounge and lobby are warm, welcoming, and very, very comfortable. We got the last room available when we booked so weren't surprised that we didn't have a great view, but that's OK, although it was a little cramped and cluttered. We've already decided to go there again - a gem of a hotel in beatiful surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for that and it was a pleasure to host your group. The chef's will certainly be pleased that your whole group enjoyed their meals, we are happy you enjoyed our fresh produce, which for the most part, doesn't have to travel very far to us. Local and delicious, it just makes sense! From all of the staff here, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on dinner, bed and breakfast for only £200 for the two of us. The food is good, so this is excellent value. I loved the range of beers and the log fire in the lobby with comfy couches and Lakeland walking mags. The pool is adequate, though the gym is rather cramped. I saw other people enjoying the jacuzzi and steam room.
I would have liked a range of plainer vegetables (I hate onions so ratatouille does not do it for me), but the steaks (a few quid extra) and service were very good, and cooked just as requested.
The room is small, and one could not open the doors fully, but it was clean. Shower only in the 'compact and bijou' bathroom, certainly no room for a bath! The red lights that flash every eight seconds on the smoke alarm are mildly annoying - surely this is not necessary?
We fully intend to return, but might ask for a larger room. If the Lakeland weather would co-operate better, then we could get a bit more walking done, too!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a larger room; they have some four-poster beds if you like that sort of thing. Hey, ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
What a great review! Thank you for posting your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We strive to offer excellent value for money and we are all so happy to have succeeded! The chefs will definitely appreciate your food review so thanks for that as well. I hope the next time you visit the weather is a bit better for you, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights last week and found this hotel to be really good value! great staff who were very professional and really seemed to care that we recieved great service which added to our great stay! We had read revues that stated how good the food was but we thought it to be far better than good! the evening meal was superb and very tasty and the breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice. We will certainly return.
Just to add that the Lakes and surrounding areas are stunning at this time of the year! get yourselves there!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We couldn't agree more that the Lakes are stunning this time of year! Thank you for your lovely review, particularly in regards to our food. We do offer excellent value for money and are so happy you agree! Until the next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at The Damson Dene for 2 nights on the Groupon offer. We had a lovely four poster room which was very comfortable- could possibly do with brightening up but more than happy as it was very clean. We even had our own little garden area. Only slight bug bear was the room above us which was very noisy and they were up very early - could hear them walking around, showering and even on the loo! though this is no fault of the hotel.

The reception area is lovely with a log fire burning all day and lovely comfy sofas. Reception staff were very friendly and Yvonne helped us out with where to go in the area.

We used the pool area which was ok. Just wish we were told on booking that no treatments were available on a Tuesday as this would have been nice.

The meal on the first night was nice if u like fancy food. I'm a bit of a plain Jane so that's just my personal fussiness. Breakfast however was fab - lots of choices. Now, my only criticism is the bar food. We ate here on the second night and was not impressed. I ordered fish and chips which hardly contained any fish but a whole lot of batter. My partner ordered the burger which didn't look very appealing either. And for the price I would have expected much better. I think it is overpriced for what u get.

On the whole we enjoyed our relaxing break and probably would return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
How pleased we are that you enjoyed your stay and found our offer to be good value for money. The reception area is lovely and relaxing with that fire on, definitely nice after a day out. We generally get excellent comments regarding all of our food, so I do apologise if, on this occasion, we did not live up to our own high standards. Having said that, we are happy you would return and will look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay through Groupon, the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient, the food was fab, excellent selection at breakfast. Room was quite small and had an annoying flashing smoke alarm but did'nt detract from the warm friendly atmosphere of this excellent hotel, we will certainly be making a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Brilliant review! The atmosphere is warm and friendly, made more so by the lovely fire. Thanks for your lovely review of our staff as well, everyone will be pleased. Until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the damson dene on the Sunday night saver, spent most of the day walking, but as usual had a great time at the hotel, cannot fault it, the food seemed even better than last time we visited, we may well go for the new year break they have on offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks for your great review! We appreciate your continued custom and are happy you enjoyed your stay. As you know, we are in a great location for walking in the Lakes made even better on a great offer like the one you were booked in on! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.