We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dogs Conkers!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Save Saved
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
redfive5
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Dogs Conkers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a two night break in June. Sorry it's taken soooo long to write this review.

Fantastic!! From the hotel to the staff to the food, really sad to leave.

We wanted to go back one weekend in November but they were full :0(


Be back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Although June seems a long time ago now, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us then! November has been very busy for us, but we do hope you come visit soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    557
    454
    131
    54
    48
See reviews for
177
788
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

2 night stay through Groupon. Food was amazing, staff were very friendly. Room was small but well equipped and very comfy bed. Loved the log fire in the lounge especially as it was a cold November weekend! Fantastic location for exploring the lakes. Would recommend and definitely book here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our great offer. There is no better place to escape the cold than our beautiful lounge with roaring fire. We are also happy you enjoyed our excellent location and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

2 Night stay. Good value for money through Travelzoo.
Beautiful location.
Very friendly staff.
Food good.
Relaxing in pool and jacuzzi and in front of log fire in lounge.
Closeness to Bowness makes this a good location in all weathers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We like a nice short, to the point review. Especially a good one such as yours, so thank you. I am very pleased you found us good value for money and that, despite the recent wet weather, you enjoyed your stay with us. Relaxing is what we are going for, and I am happy you found us to be so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a 2 night stay at the Damson Dene, Food was excellent quality and all the staff are great, very helpful with Wayne leading the way. Fantastic location for the south lakes area. Rooms are comfortable and equipped with all you need. The lounge is a nice place to relax with the log fire roaring any time of the day, but especially nice having a night cap after your evening meal and talking to other guests. On our second night they had a charity comedy show £5 per ticket, it was a good laugh the entertainers did over two hours and finished off by getting people up for a dance with all the cast. We will definitely go again, especially when they have a show planed.
Overall a great value for money stay. It's not the Ritz, but it makes up for it in lots of other ways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
The comedy show this past weekend was a lot of fun to host, and I am happy you found it to be entertaining! I am also pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us and a little tipple by the fire afterwards with some fellow guests. Everyone was very friendly, which adds to the pleasant, relaxing atmosphere! We'll keep you posted about future events! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my first time at this hotel, I've stayed and enjoyed the sister hotel Newby Bridge. I would definitely stay at the Damson Dene again, food superb, staff friendly and helpful, we stayed in one of the cottages, great for a family. The only down side was the dire entertainment on the friday evening! We vacated to the cosy comfortable lounge and had a few cheeky glasses. I must just add that my little Pooch enjoyed her stay too, thank you Wayne for looking after us.

Room Tip: The family room in the hotel where my son wife and children stayed was very cosy with 4 poster bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review! It's a shame you did not enjoy the entertainment, but good that you could slip away to the relaxing lounge! The cottages are great for families, with their ample space and separate areas. All in all, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your return! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Booked our trip through groupon, which you always take a risk with but this place is pretty cool.

It's never going to win any current awards but it is nice and cosy, relaxed atmosphere and what they do they do well.

The food at the restaurant is very good, nothing too fancy but tasted very nice. Service is again good but not special.

The hotel is all along the same lines, it's done ok but there isn't any wow factor. Good food, good beer, good breakfast, ok service, ok rooms.

Basically, if you are picky and want to be wowed, book elsewhere. If you just want somewhere to chill out at and put your head down then this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your review. We do work hard here for our guests, and we are proud of the service we provide; definitely good value, as you say! You are right, the hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We hope to see you again so we can ensure that you come away with the wow factor firmly in place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Have been to this hotel 5 times now, and on every occasion but one, it has been excellent. I have always reviewed places honestly and a few years ago we had a bad experience, and reviewed it as such. It seems that the hotel may have taken notice of the reviews around the same time as mine, as it is now back to the enjoyable hotel it was, not full of children running wild, as had been at a previous stay. We decided to try again, having not been for 3 years, and having read recent reviews things seemed much better. In the past this hotel was somewhere we would love to visit, very relaxing, food absolutely excellent, and the staff have always been friendly and helpful. Having seen the programme after our bad experience, we thought the hotel had become Butlins, and that is not the type of relaxing break we like, so used other places, but we have so many wonderful memories of Damson Dene, having become engaged there (in the jacuzzi in leisure suite lol), taken my mother and father there for a weekend, on what was to become her last holiday ever, as she was so ill, and mum was treated like a queen that weekend by the staff who so obviously realised she was ill. I have recommended this hotel many times to people, and was sad when it seemed to have changed, but am so glad we tried again, as it was as it always had been, nice people, having a relaxing time, well behaved children, staff as attentive as ever (this has never been any different though in any stays). We have been in four poster rooms before, and have also been in a standard room, and they were all to a good standard.

This time we chose a four poster jacuzzi room, for 3 nights, not on a deal, as did not even realise that we could have booked through Groupon etc and saved money, but even though we paid top whack, we feel we got value for money. This time we were allocated Bluebell room, and were really surprised to find we had our own small patio and garden, very private, and very handy if you are a smoker as no need to go outside the hotel, as can use own patio.

The food was, as always, excellent, have noticed though that the supplement for cheese at end of meal has almost doubled, so did not bother this time. It would be nice for a very small cheese and crackers to be included in the cost, especially as people had paid less than half what we had paid! I would also like to suggest that gravy is offered with the roast meals, not just the excellent sauces. My husband was so taken with the mushroom soup he had it twice, and I requested the recipe from the chef, which I was given within 10 minutes of asking. The lady on reception and the bar man actually remembered us from previous stays which showed attention to detail.

I would like to see a little more choice at lunch time in the bar menu, perhaps some jacket potatoes or some smaller snacks, but otherwise it was perfect.

The only gripe I had was the jacuzzi was really cold in the leisure suite, dont know why, never had this before? Maybe they had changed the water and it had not reached temperature, but no worries, we simply moved to our own room and had a jacuzzi there.

We will return to Damson Dene, as it is a little gem, but would like to try some of the other hotels in the chain, perhaps the Riverside at Kendal at some time, and if they are anything like this hotel, then we will be well pleased.

Thankyou to all the staff and we will be seeing you again.

Jean Taun

Room Tip: Depending on your buget, I would always go for an upgraded room and would recommend Bluebell for smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
How happy we all are that you have returned! We are even more pleased that you had a pleasant stay once again. We do take the reviews very seriously and always try to improve based, in part, on such reviews.

As we are a special place for you, it would have been a shame had you not returned, and had we not returned to the level of service you came to expect. I am pleased this is not the case! Everyone appreciates your thorough review, particularly your glowing report of the food, staff and accommodation! We definitely look forward to seeing you again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.