We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love love love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My fiance booked our break as a 40th surprise and when we pulled up I was a little unsure what to expect especially after watching the programme which we loved. I can only say I was completely pleasantly surprised. The room was lovely, the food amazing and the staff could not do enough for you. Wayne the manager was fantastic and chatted to us like we were friends - he had time for everyone and made us feel totally at home - we even made friends with his dog Fly.We also had spa treatments which were lovely and thoroughly enjoyed using all of the leisure facilities. Can not fault this hotel I loved every minute and really want to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
What a lovely review, thanks so much! The staff are wonderful and I am happy they made you feel relaxed - which is what going away is all about! I'm happy to hear that your meals were lovely as well! Thanks again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    520
    148
    59
    51
See reviews for
194
885
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August as part of my boyfriends birthday. We stayed in room 12 which had a four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and a lovely view of the duck pond and surrounding hills. Unfortunately, the jacuzzi bath wasn't working which was quite disapointing as it was that and the four poster bed that I paid extra for, but the room was lovely. Went into the town for our evening meal and would definitely recommend The Village Bar/Grill where we ate, food was lovely and very reasonably priced! Breakfast at the hotel was lovely and the ducks coming to the window made it even nicer. Paid for a massage which was great and then spent the rest of the afternoon using the spa facilities before we drove back home. Would definitely stay again, but next time would take our springer spaniel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks for your review! The hotel is in a great location to explore from and I am happy you were able to do so! The Jacuzzi is working fine now, bubbly and hot, and I do apologise that it wasn't when you checked in. The beautician at the hotel works wonders and will be pleased to read your comments! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the first negative review we have ever posted on Trip-advisor. My husband and I spent one night (thankfully) at this hotel in September. Having travelled through Paris, Barcelona and much of England our accommodation had been excellent until arriving at Damson Dene near Windemere. How disappointed we were. Not only was this hotel more expensive than any of our previous accommodation, the bed creaked with each move, the mattress was lumpy, rooms were small and poorly decorated. On inserting the key into the lock off our room a dog started barking in the room next door. I approached the young lady at reception to be told she could move us into a smaller room, however she advised, much to my surprise, it was a dog friendly hotel. We were kept awake during the night by the person in the next room snoring (badly insulated rooms). I advised reception the next morning about the bed and was told they were not aware of the problem. While we sat in the foyer to use the wifi which was not available in our room, several guests checked out and each complained about the bed, or the room/bathroom, or the noise. With each complaint the young receptionist had to pretend she had never heard this before. A very disappointing hotel that is very tired and in need of major renovation.

Room Tip: Stay in a better hotel for less money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
How disappointed I was to read this review and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As the vast majority of our guests regularly tell us, our lovely hotel offers excellent value for money in the Lakes with exceptionally friendly staff, delicious food and a relaxed, beautiful environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed in the Newby Bridge Hotel last year and really enjoyed it, so as Damson dene was in the same hotel group, we thought we would try it out, the hotel is small but down stairs was ok. When we were given our room, we were very disappointed, the room was small, smelly and dirty.
We complained and were moved to another room which was better. The en-suite was far too small, while in reception no fewer then five guests complained about their rooms.
On the positive side the food was very good as was the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for the review! I am happy a room more to your liking could be sorted out for your stay. All of the staff will be happy to have been appreciated as well! The top marks for your dining experience will please the chefs as well! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for a weekend at the Damson Dene mainly because of the tv show. It was one of the best weekends away we have had. The staff could not do enough for you Yvonne was so friendly, Paul on the bar and the staff in the restaurant. We used the spa facilities which were very good. Our room had a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath which was heaven. Our meal in the evening and breakfast the next day were superb and then of course there is Wayne. He was very entertaining and made us laugh with his stories. We will definately be returning at some point in the further. If you are staying in the Lake District this hotel is a must. Wayne and his staff should be congratulated on making this hotel what it is - fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! All of the staff will be so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely Hotel - a liitle tired in places but nothing a lick of paint wouldn't solve,
Restaurant - well what can I say - we thought we were sampling the food off Master Chef - excellent.
Lovely staff - shame about the weather.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! The food is wonderful, as you know, and the chefs will certainly be pleased with your kind words, as will all of the staff! I hope next time you visit the sun will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here mid August for two nights. It was fine, wouldn't necessarily go back. A little jaded but good for families which there were a lot of! You have to drive everywhere as you are out in the sticks and Bowness is about fifteen minutes away.
Nice pub/restaurant not far away, the Hare and Hounds, very good food and reasonably priced.
I am aware that this hotel gets very good revues, so it must suit a lot of people.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with four poster beds and jacuzzi's, worth asking for one one them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review! The hotel does have a fair few families during school breaks, but is lovely for couples as well! It is in a lovely location for visiting the various tourist hot spots, but also far enough away for some peace and quiet as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.