We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendy staff good food, clean room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Dene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendy staff good food, clean room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have just returned from a two night stay, we had a problem with the jacuzzi but this was,
sorted out by the loverly hotel manager,the food was great, we used the travelzoo deal which included, afternoon tea on arrival and three course meal one evening and breakfast, which where both very nice, the pool area hot tub area was clean, towels were provided.The staff were friendly and could not do enough for us. We can't wait to return
the area is beautiful.

Room Tip: travelzoo offer
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Great to hear that our manager was able to rectify the problem with the jacuzzi so swiftly, that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and were able to take advantage of the fantastic Travelzoo offer. We hope you return very soon- please keep an eye on our recently rebranded website for special offers which we feature throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    569
    166
    63
    51
See reviews for
210
960
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

A group of 9 of us travelled from Scotlad to take part in a tour of the lakes with our Mk2 escort RS2000's, the staff were welcoming and helpful, we enjoyed the food at dinner time and the breakfast, they even cooked the sausages one of our party had taken down from Scotland with him.
The room was nice and clean, my boyfriend had his birthday on the sunday and the staff put candles in his cake and carried the cake through for us.
I think it's great that dogs are so welcome and my 3 would love it there.
i was the only one in our party to use the leisure facilities, and they were great and open till 9.30pm which is really good.
Wayne and his pooch are great managers!!
Thank you, we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

myself, my husband our 3 children aged 12,8,5 and my father in law stayed here for 1 night in a family room and a twin room. the rooms where great lovely clean with nice en suites. lovely breakfast very helpful friendly staff. friendly welcoming bar. will recommend and use again.thank you x

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendations. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Just back from a two night stay at the Damson Dene. After seeing a couple of episodes of The Hotel on Channel 4 I can't say that we were looking forward to it, but I can honestly say we have had the most fantastic time. Service was spot on from start to finish, lovely afternoon tea on arrival. Had a three course meal as part of our deal and it was absolutely delicious so booked for dinner a second night. After a long walk in the lakes it was lovely to come back to use the leisure facilities, all clean and tidy. All the staff were friendly and helpful and Wayne and Paul kept us very entertained on Saturday night! All in all a really relaxing and fantastic stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Paid £118 for the room for 2 people for the night, which included breakfast. Were initially given a scruffy, dirty room at the back of the hotel, with a damp and rotten bath panel, splashed bathroom walls and dusty skirting boards. Having been told it was the last room in the hotel (and attending a wedding) we commented to the Reception staff and were told there was one room availble. We then moved room and the standard was better. Still no view, small room, but clean and tidy.
To be honest, for a hotel of this price, breakfast was a disappointment. there was the typical table of cereals but no choice of fruit, no pastries etc. The cooked breakfast was...OK. Not bad but just OK. No vegetarian option and no option to have a cooked dish from a menu - just a help yourself...OK...buffet.
The setting of the hotel is truly beautiful. there is a small spa and pool which we didn't use so are unable to comment on. Some staff very friendly, others indifferent.
So all in all in my opinion a mediocre, overpriced, over glorified, bog standard hotel in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Further to our recent posting, we acknowledge that the comments made by this guest were raised at the time and a personal apology is in the process of being sent out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Excellent and very friendly hotel, ideally situated for Lakes. The room we stayed in was clean and roomy, had a double bed and 2 seperate "real" single beds (one of which was in a little alcove) ideal for my two children aged 12 and 14.

Wonderful hot Jacuzzi to soak in after walking in the Lakes and swimming pool.

Only thing I was disappointed in was it was a set menu with a few choices for evening meal. I would have preferred choice of food. Food we had was excellent but expensive although had seperate children's menu forour children. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and exploring the local area. We offer a 3 course table d'hote menu in our restaurant with a choice of 4/5 dishes per starter, main and dessert and a seperate extensive bar menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We've stayed here once before, and there's nothing bad you can say about the place. The rooms are clean and everything you need is provided. The meals are superb, especially the buffet breakfast which is amazing, so don't stay here if you're on a diet !!! There is also a superb leisure centre. But for us, what really made our stay was the staff. They are so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. We will definately return at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small, so ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlakeshotels, Public Relations Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. The staff will be very pleased to receive your fantastic comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.