We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sella Park Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sella Park Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Sella Park Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calder Bridge CA20 1DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calder Bridge
Egremont, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Went to Sella Park for dinner with friends, excellent meal in classy dining room with friendly and attentive staff.
This is the second time we have dined here recently and it is rapidly becoming our favourite eatery in West Cumbria.
Well done to the chef, we will be back again soon,

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
57
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ravenglass, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Fantastic quite location, intimate dining experience. the food was beyond expectation. fresh flavors that were well presented and well served. timings between courses was, for us, just right. all courses were cooked to order and not a 'ping' from a microwave was to be heard!!

I would go so far as to say that this had to be the best evening meal we have had in West Cumbria in a long while

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This place is fantastic, the food is excellent, the service first class,and what a lovely building with a warm and friendly atmosphere,there wont be many places in the lake district with food quality like this place,and to top it off meet the chef Jon what a knowledgeable guy on food this man is.
The hidden gem of west Cumbria been three times so far this year and will be back soon keep up the good work folks.

Room Tip: The lakeland lager is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Me, my husband & our children went back to the Sellapark for our wedding anniversary as we were married there the previous year I must say we have never been disappointed. The food is always delicious & very well presented the staff are friendly & the hotel itself is beautiful. When we were married there the wedding planner made our day perfect at the Sellapark & the staff were brilliant all day. The rooms were very spacey, clean & well decorated. We often pop in for food wether it be in the afternoon or evening as it has a homely feel & it never seems to disappoint.

Keep up the good work!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed overnight for a business trip - as it seemed were all the other guests who, like me, were there to visit the nearby nuclear re-processing plant. If you want to learn about nuclear physics, just listen to the conversations around you in the bar or dining room! The room was fine, the lamb for dinner was very good indeed, and the whole experience was only let down by breakfast. I ordered the 'milk poached smoked haddock', and as I was the only guest in the breakfast room at that time, could hear what was going on in the kitchen. I was a little concerned when, shortly after ordering, I heard the 'ping' of a microwave, and sure enough my fears were confirmed when moments later my 'milk poached' fish was delivered. Inevitably it was dry, tough and virtually crispy at its edges. The service was friendly and overall the stay was good value for money. Now, about that haddock........

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were staying at this hotel for a night whilst travelling around the Lake District. Although not in the Lake District per se, you can get there in less than 15 minutes, and probably pay less as a result too.

I thought the rooms were very nice, spacious and pretty. The bathroom was also very large and quite nice to look at, something you don't normally get with bathrooms! I did find it odd that the steps from the shower were carpeted, especially considering the fact that the rest of the bathroom was tiled.

We went for a walk around the grounds which was lovely; you can get right down to the river behind the hotel and it's very peaceful. It was always quiet during our stay, despite the fact that there were many other people staying there.

The one thing that riled us a bit was the restaurant. When we checked in that afternoon, only three hours previously, we were shown a door to the dining room. So that evening we walked in through the dining room door, waited a bit whilst servers and diners stared at us, then sat down a bit awkwardly. It took absolutely ages for anyone to come up to us, and we kept getting weird looks. We were eventually asked if we had a reservation (didn't think we'd need one), and they went to check and said they could "just about fit us in". At this point I'll just say that at no point in the evening were the tables completely occupied.

After a while it seemed to become apparent that the "done" thing was to go to the adjacent bar, place your order, and wait there for it to be ready and then be sat in the restaurant. We would have been happy to do this, had we known this was the case. It left myself and my companion feeling a bit awkward, and we did feel that the staff weren't quite as polite to us as they were to other staff.

The food however was very tasty and well presented, at excellent value. Do note that they give you a free pre-appetiser which I hadn't known about, otherwise I wouldn't have ordered a starter; it left me very full! Particularly good was the pork main which came with no less than 6 different kinds of pork product, which my companion liked an awful lot! I would also highly rate my honey mallard.

The next morning we ate breakfast in the hotel which was included in the price. We had the same waitress as the previous night, and again felt she wasn't as polite to us. This time it was to the point where she didn't offer us any toast, or indeed bring us any. Through listening to her interact with the other diners in the room during our meal, she asked every other group, and brought them toast. I'm not sure if this was an oversight, or if she thought we were trying to be cheeky the night before, but I didn't particularly appreciate it.

Overall though, this was a very good hotel at a decent price, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Sella Park Hotel this weekend. We had a lovely time, room was great, really big and the bathroom was huge and very modern. Nice fresh coffee in the room as well as the usual teas. Food was great ( scrambled eggs and salmon for breakfast was wonderful !!! ). All staff were lovely and friendly. We would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends looking for a peaceful, relaxing break. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sella Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sella Park Country House Hotel

Address: Calder Bridge CA20 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Calder Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calder Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sella Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Country House Hotel in 5 acres of grounds sweeping to the river, top-quality local produce deserved in the rosette winning Priory restaurant. All rooms fully refurbished with all modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sella Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sella Park Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.